We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“visitor for thirty five years,who wants to return every year `til he dies !!”
Review of Hotel Am Markt

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Baden-Baden
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Am Markt
Ranked #4 of 50 Hotels in Baden-Baden
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“visitor for thirty five years,who wants to return every year `til he dies !!”
Reviewed February 9, 2014

The Bogner family have owned/ run this small family hotel in the epicentre of Baden Baden for over half my life . I am 78. All my family have visited it ;so, too have many of my friends .Everyone has loved it and,then, recommended it to their friends.! Why ?? The place feels/is friendly;utterly efficicient,yet the owners could not be a better advertisement for their Country. Each room is impecably clean . the Bathrooms if you get an en -suite room are modern .( I have not stayed in one of their rooms without` facilities` -but every part of this ancient Hotel is cleaned spotless ,daily ) The beds/linen of the best.So much so, that we often return home to Fulham , London, intending to up- date our facilities to get them as good as those at Hotel am Markt,Baden Baden . It is close to the spa (Caracella Baths , excellent restaurants /churches, bars /cake shops/ Casino/Opera/Concert Hall . etc .

Each year when we ,inevitably return (usually in late Nov/early December ) it seems as if at least one third of the other guests at breakfast have stayed there,before.!!

The Hotel does not serve lunch/or dinner-but there is a handful or places to choose from within a three hundred yard radius.

Room Tip: If you do not like (as we,most certainly do !! ! ) the sonorous church bells, ask for a room at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank servabofidem35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    277
    137
    13
    3
    0
See reviews for
57
256
30
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2014

Very surprised with no. 2 ranking on Tripadvisor. Basic hotel as expected, but room and furnishings very dated, continental breakfast adequate at best but very limited, expected significantly better...

Room Tip: No choice given
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rahul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

This hotel was lovely. The bedroom was clean and comfortable and the breakfast was exceptional. A lot of attention to detail was paid with a lovely choice of cereals, bread, cheese and meats. Tea facilities in the room would have been good, but despite this would like to go back.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisahack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Lima, MG
Level Contributor
180 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2013

The Am Markt is quite simple, but very clean and comfortable enough, with a good breakfast. It is located some three blocks from the city center; it lies atop a small hill, and the best way to go up and down by foot is to use the stairways.
It is quite convenient for those who go to the Friedrichsbad e Caracalla baths, since these are just one stairway below. The hotel offers packages which include entrance to the baths.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Basileu X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2013

The location is great but be prepared to climb some steps to get to it, it is well worth it though. The staff here are fantastic, friendly and very helpful. Lovely clean room, very comfortable beds. We were at the front of the hotel opposite the church and the bells did wake me as I am a very light sleeper but it's nothing a pair of earplugs wouldn't sort out. They didn't bother my friend at all, she didn't hear them at all. The breakfast was huge, filling and delicious - boiled eggs, meat, great selection of bread, yogurts, juice, cheese and cereal, kept us full till dinner. They are very helpful at the hotel and you can buy tickets for the spas at a discounted rate at reception. Would highly recommend and will definitely stay there next time I am in Baden Baden.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gems81H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vestal, New York
Level Contributor
333 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

This cute little hotel is at the top of a steep cobblestone narrow street. We found our room charming with a sitting area, lots of windows. It is walking distance to everything around Baden-Baden. The church bells chime up until 10PM. For us, it was not a problem. The 2 spas are a quick walk away. There is free Wi-Fi, a sitting room with a computer to use as well as a frig with beverages to purchase on the honor system. They offer towels for the spa. The breakfast was delicious with fresh meats, cheeses and soft eggs. We enjoyed everything about this hotel. The hospitality was wonderful! And we were fortunate to have a place to park for a nominal fee. They have 5 parking spaces that they don't reserve. They sell tickets to both spas. We really enjoyed our stay here in every aspect and highly recommend this as a great place to stay in Baden-Baden.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pulmqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
59 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Just checked in after one night at the Dorint for 400 euros, and it feels good to have basically the same bed for 80% less! It's not a five star hotel, but if you're looking for a clean safe place with a friendly staff in an excellent location, this is the place!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abosco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baden-Baden hotels
0.7 mi away
Leonardo Royal Hotel Baden-Baden
0.4 mi away
Brenners Park-Hotel & Spa
Brenners Park-Hotel & Spa
#1 of 50 in Baden-Baden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dorint Maison Messmer
Dorint Maison Messmer
#3 of 50 in Baden-Baden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Baden-Baden
Holiday Inn Express Baden-Baden
#10 of 50 in Baden-Baden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel am Sophienpark
Hotel am Sophienpark
#7 of 50 in Baden-Baden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Quellenhof
Hotel Quellenhof
#6 of 50 in Baden-Baden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Am Markt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Am Markt

Property: Hotel Am Markt
Address: Marktplatz 18, 76530, Baden-Baden, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Baden-Baden
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Baden-Baden
#1 Best Value Hotel in Baden-Baden
#4 Romantic Hotel in Baden-Baden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is situated in the historic heart of Baden-Baden and famous sights and the shopping area are within easy reach. The renowned casino and the luxurious thermal spas are in close proximity. The Hotel am Markt combines tradition with the comforts of today as it is privately owned and run with loving care. It has been known as a "guest house" for 250 years. Since 1951 it has been run by our family and is now in the second and third generation. The Hotel am Markt features 21 individually designed rooms. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Am Markt Hotel
Am Markt Baden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing