We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Third Trip: Still a Charm”
Review of Hotel Am Markt

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Am Markt
Ranked #5 of 50 Hotels in Baden-Baden
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 26, 2013

This past spring was my third trip to Baden and the Hotel Am Markt. Excellent as always. You could not ask for a better location, very close to the baths and shopping, about a three minute walk. The hotel is immaculate and charming, the staff has always been highly accomadating. There is a community room with internet access, TV, books, and newspapers, and a mini bar where you can buy beverages. If you have trouble walking it is located at the top of a small hill. That is the only possible drawback.This is not a glitzy hotel but it is an incredible value. I would not think of staying at another establishment. To top it off, it is a very shot walk to a fabulous, quaint restaurant, Baldreit. Ask for directions and go with a hearty appetite.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gideon2NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (454)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

124 - 130 of 454 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in September 2013 - lovely, efficient and friendly hotel. The room was clean and comfortable with a modern, spacious bathroom. The included breakfast was gorgeous and we loved the homemade preserves.
Our room was in the front of the hotel and there was a bit of street noise ( including the first day back for german children who had a sefvice in the catherdra at 8am ) plus the bells which stopped after 10pm and resumed at 6 am. We found this not a big problem and would stay again.
Finding the hotel by car was not easy but we were lucky to secure a parking space outside.
Baden Baden is a beautiful city but be prepared to walk up and doen steps if you are to get the best form your visit.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights at this very clean and well run hotel, We were extremely satisfied with the service and help offered by the ladies running the hotel.

The breakfast offered a nice assortment of food and the staff were very helpful.

We were originally worried that the church bells (right next to hotel) as reported by other visitors to this hotel in Trip Advosor, would annoy us, but found we slept well. An early start to the day actually helped us enjoy the stay in this lovely city, even more.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lenmiri F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

This hotel is on the same block as the Roman Baths and has parking, though you have to drive through old town streets that look pedestrian only to get to it. The rooms are well decorated with modern slates and lavenders. Baden-Baden is relatively expensive, so nothing is really a bargain here, but the hotel was reasonably priced for what you get.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MAGA84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

A perfect choice in Baden Baden. Tucked away from the main tourist drag but within minutes walk of all the attractions, the Hotel Am Markt totally lived up to our expectations for a few days stay in Baden Baden. It is situated in a very quiet neighbourhood which retains its traditional character and has a number of good places nearby to eat. It was very quiet whilst we were there. Moreover, access to the town's excellent bus network is just a short walk away. Our room was quite small but had everything in it that we needed, and with high ceilings and big windows was quite cool despite temperatures of more than 30 degrees. We had a gorgeous view of the town and its surroundings, while the breakfast was superb.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KitSuffolk_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

The hotel located 3 min walking from the Caracala therms and the pedestrian's shop zone.
Lovely stay at the center of Baden-Baden.
No doubt, the perfect choice when coming to the city.
A perfect Experience.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yarin1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

This was my 7th time staying with the sisters at the Am Markt - and I will not stay anywhere else when I'm in Baden-Baden. Yes - the church bells can be loud, but lend a medieval authenticity to my stay. Yes - it's a hike up the hill to their location, but well worth it for the views and the ability to be in the center of the action - without being on the main walking street. Yes - the rooms are European size, but are always spotless and the staff (while not always smiley) take care of any needs. They even kept up with my American ice needs :) I was put in a larger room at a single price at the top - it was wonderful! Opening windows to the church, lots of space for my things, and the lovely little lift that saved me from dragging my bags to the top.

Granted I'm very biased about the Am Markt, but it's based on experience. And coming back from the Carcalla Thermen is a 5 minute walk - and there's always a glass of good German Riesling available to sip on the front seating area of the Am Markt.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Calsur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baden-Baden hotels
0.7 mi away
Leonardo Royal Hotel Baden-Baden
0.3 mi away
Dorint Maison Messmer
Dorint Maison Messmer
#3 of 50 in Baden-Baden
624 reviews
0.5 mi away
Brenners Park-Hotel & Spa
Brenners Park-Hotel & Spa
#1 of 50 in Baden-Baden
650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel am Sophienpark
Hotel am Sophienpark
#4 of 50 in Baden-Baden
299 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Der Kleine Prinz
Hotel Der Kleine Prinz
#14 of 50 in Baden-Baden
234 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Quellenhof
Hotel Quellenhof
#9 of 50 in Baden-Baden
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Am Markt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Am Markt

Address: Marktplatz 18, 76530, Baden-Baden, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Baden-Baden
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Baden-Baden
#4 Romantic Hotel in Baden-Baden
#4 Best Value Hotel in Baden-Baden
Price Range: $141 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is situated in the historic heart of Baden-Baden and famous sights and the shopping area are within easy reach. The renowned casino and the luxurious thermal spas are in close proximity. The Hotel am Markt combines tradition with the comforts of today as it is privately owned and run with loving care. It has been known as a "guest house" for 250 years. Since 1951 it has been run by our family and is now in the second and third generation. The Hotel am Markt features 21 individually designed rooms. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Am Markt Hotel
Am Markt Baden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing