We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place to stay”
Review of Hotel Am Markt

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Am Markt
Ranked #4 of 50 Hotels in Baden-Baden
Certificate of Excellence
portland, maine
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful place to stay”
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Hotel am Markt is within walking distance to all sites in Baden-Baden. It is just next door to the famous spas! The hotel offers spacious, modern, squeaky clean rooms, at a very reasonable price! They offer free Wi-Fi, parking for 4 euros/day, and an elevator. There is a sitting room with a computer for use, along with tables, tv, chairs and reading materials. The ladies who were in charge while we were there were extremely helpful to us, answering all of our questions with a smile. There is a patio out front with several tables and chairs, and they have wine, beer and other beverages available for purchase. The breakfast was perfect, with juice, eggs, breads, pastries, meats, cheeses, fruit, and such great coffee. They also offer a 2 bedroom suite/apartment, which must be rented for a 5 day stay. I would highly recommend Hotel Am Markt for anyone's stay in Baden-Baden!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jill_w_marshall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    283
    137
    13
    3
    0
See reviews for
58
258
30
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

We had trouble locating this hotel but it was worth it. The room was very large and quiet. We were in the back away from the square. We had no trouble parking but you should ask when you make a reservation. We were able to walk everywhere. Our host suggested a wonderful restaurant when we arrived late in the day. The breakfast was warm and good but no different from other b&b's we have stayed in.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Winnilady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chagrin Falls, OH
Level Contributor
118 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Hotel am Markt is a small, family-run hotel located on a hill above the main tourist area, close to the spas. It is in an old building, with beautifully modernized rooms. Our "double room with bath" was large by European standards (about 18 ft by 18 ft, including the space occupied by the bathroom), and included a sofabed as well as the double bed. There were also plentiful electrical outlets in the room. There is a small elevator. No air conditioning, but it cooled off nicely at night, even in July. The breakfast, which is included in the very reasonable room price, was quite nice, and included meats, cheeses and soft-boiled eggs in addition to cereal and breads.

There are 7 non-reservable parking spaces, which will add 4 Euro per night to your bill, but which are very convenient. Be sure to arrive not too late, to increase your chances of getting a space. If you're staying to visit the town, don't even think about driving; just park your car and walk. And if you're counting on a GPS to help you navigate, be sure to drive the twisty, narrow, hilly roads very slowly, so the GPS can keep up with you. And don't believe it when it tells you to drive up a flight of steps or turn the wrong way on a one-way street! That happened several times to us!

The guest lounge includes a computer, TV, books, and an honor-system fridge with various beverages. Just sign for what you take, and it will be added to your bill.

The only down sides to the hotel are the fact that the internet works only in the lounge, and not in your room; and the hotel is right next to a church, with bells that chime from 6:15 am until 10:00 pm.

Overall, this hotel was a very nice experience, and I hated to have to leave.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelDog83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

The Hotel Am Markt is a superb bargain! Run by two sisters, it is efficient and comfortable. The rooms are very nice in terms of size - big enough to lay out two large suitcases & backpacks. The hotel is rustic, but oh so comfortable! The showers weren't fancy, but they were more than functional for us.

The owners make you feel welcome right away. The hotel offers an internet connection in the downstairs lounge and a honor bar. They are really nice people - they will do anything for you!

The drawback is the location above the main streets. It is steep -- regardless of whether you walk the steps, or walk the long way down the street to get back down to the city - it is a chore. The good news is that everything is close by once you make the descent. There are a number of great places to eat, snack, or just get coffee & dessert. The hotel is only minutes from one of the main spas.

I would stay here again in a minute! By the way, this is a Rick Steves recommended hotel. It is the first I've stayed in because of his recommendation. I agree with the recommendation. The hotel is a terrific value.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chart16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Relatively steep climb up the steps to reach the hotel but well worth the climb! We stayed in room #35 , a double room with twin beds on the top floor. The room was spotless, spacious, and looked like a magazine advertisement. The bathroom was equally impressive. Excellent European style breakfast. No A/C or screens. Internet access available in the lounge shuts off at 9:30PM. Overall, excellent hotel that I highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2012

I've stayed here twice. A quaint hotel at the top of hill, with beautiful views of the town. It is literally a five minute walk to the baths. Very close to all shopping and restaurants. There is a lounge room with a computer; a refrigerator, with a variety of drinks for sale; and an assortment of reading material. When I needed assistance getting directions to a meeting or locating a phone number of a local resident, the staff was extremely helpful. For the price, this place can't be beat. To top it off, it is very close to Baldreit Weinstube, a terrific restaurant. I can only think of one possible drawback, if someone has trouble walking up the hill to the hotel, this is not a good choice.
Other than that, it's just a delightful place to stay,

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gideon2NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2012

My wife and I have stayed here on 5 separate occasions while enjoying the spa and hiking in the area and I couldn't imagine staying anywhere else.

Rooms - Having stayed in 5 different once it's fair to say no two are the same. They are all on the large size and including a seating area of some kind. All are clean and well appointed without being overly fussy. TVs are a bit out of date in both technology and channels. Bathrooms are clean but shower stall is a bit small. Some rooms have really spectacular views of the whole town laid out before you so it's worth requesting one of these.

Breakfast - Food is fresh and plentiful with coffee or tea made to order. There's everything from nutritious to decadent and you're free to linger over your book or newspaper for as long as you want.

Location - At the heart of Baden-Baden at the top of several different winding stairways, it can be a bit of a treck when you're tired at the end of the day... but it's never more than 5 minutes from a great restaurant or the spa.

Entertainment - At least 4 restaurants I can recommend within a 5 minute walk. Nightlife is a bit sparse but we can recommend Leo's and The Bistro. Within the hotel there is free internet access and a very reasonably priced honour bar.

Service - Check-in, breakfast, regional information, spa tickets - all impeccably handled by the sisters who run this family hotel. And all done in a friendly manner while not overly intrusive.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OliverN5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baden-Baden hotels
0.7 mi away
Leonardo Royal Hotel Baden-Baden
0.1 mi away
Hotel am Sophienpark
Hotel am Sophienpark
#8 of 50 in Baden-Baden
243 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dorint Maison Messmer
Dorint Maison Messmer
#3 of 50 in Baden-Baden
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Brenners Park-Hotel & Spa
Brenners Park-Hotel & Spa
#1 of 50 in Baden-Baden
605 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Baden-Baden
Holiday Inn Express Baden-Baden
#10 of 50 in Baden-Baden
556 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Quellenhof
Hotel Quellenhof
#6 of 50 in Baden-Baden
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Am Markt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Am Markt

Property: Hotel Am Markt
Address: Marktplatz 18, 76530, Baden-Baden, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Baden-Baden
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Baden-Baden
#2 Best Value Hotel in Baden-Baden
#4 Romantic Hotel in Baden-Baden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is situated in the historic heart of Baden-Baden and famous sights and the shopping area are within easy reach. The renowned casino and the luxurious thermal spas are in close proximity. The Hotel am Markt combines tradition with the comforts of today as it is privately owned and run with loving care. It has been known as a "guest house" for 250 years. Since 1951 it has been run by our family and is now in the second and third generation. The Hotel am Markt features 21 individually designed rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Am Markt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Am Markt Hotel
Am Markt Baden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing