We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff but should not be a 4 star hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Leonardo Royal Hotel Baden-Baden
Ranked #2 of 50 Hotels in Baden-Baden
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

My family stayed in this hotel for one night in October. Upon arrival we found out that breakfast would cost €19 euros per person, meaning that it would cost us nearly €80 euros in total, therefore it is safe to say we decided to skip it! When we got to our room, it stunk of cigarette smoke, so we asked to swap rooms. We were moved to a room that, whilst better, smelt heavily of chemical cleaning products. The rooms were lovely, modern and clean. As a guest you are not entitled to high speed internet, that has to be paid as an extra, something i thought was wrong for a 4 star hotel. The internet that was free for guests was shockingly slow and even resulted in us losing our booking for the next hotel we were planning to stay in, as it crashed and someone else got the last available room. The hotel is advertised as a spa ( the main reason we chose it) the swimming pool is beautiful, the showers are incredible, and the sauna and steam room are wonderful! However, when we went downstairs the next morning for our second use of the pool facilities, we were told that there was a photo shoot going on and we should return in an hour when it would be reopened (the photoshoot was not mentioned when we checked in the previous day at reception). So, we returned an hour later to find out the pool was still closed and would be until 'further notice'. We complained to the manager and got 15% off our stay which was good but myself and my family were annoyed as we thought we would treat ourselves at the end of our holiday and stay in a 4 star hotel for a night, but were left thoroughly disappointed as this was definitely not 4 star quality.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LizzieSyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (960)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

371 - 377 of 960 reviews

Reviewed September 11, 2013

My family stayed in this hotel for one night in October. Upon arrival we found out that breakfast would cost €19 euros per person, meaning that it would cost us nearly €80 euros in total, therefore it is safe to say we decided to skip it! When we got to our room, it stunk of cigarette smoke, so we asked to swap rooms. We were moved to a room that, whilst better, smelt heavily of chemical cleaning products. The rooms were lovely, modern and clean. As a guest you are not entitled to high speed internet, that has to be paid as an extra, something i thought was wrong for a 4 star hotel. The internet that was free for guests was shockingly slow and even resulted in us losing our booking for the next hotel we were planning to stay in, as it crashed and someone else got the last available room. The hotel is advertised as a spa ( the main reason we chose it) the swimming pool is beautiful, the showers are incredible, and the sauna and steam room are wonderful! However, when we went downstairs the next morning for our second use of the pool facilities, we were told that there was a photo shoot going on and we should return in an hour when it would be reopened (the photoshoot was not mentioned when we checked in the previous day at reception). So, we returned an hour later to find out the pool was still closed and would be until 'further notice'. We complained to the manager and got 15% off our stay which was good but myself and my family were annoyed as we thought we would treat ourselves at the end of our holiday and stay in a 4 star hotel for a night, but were left thoroughly disappointed as this was definitely not 4 star quality.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LizzieSyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We were so pleasantly surprised by this hotel. Spacious rooms and terrific service. Has been a real treat for all of us. It's pool and lounge is tops! The breakfast will hold you over until dinner time.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sabio1209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We arrived on a very hot afternoon having been travelling around the Black Forest for four days. The aircon was so welcome!. It's a pleasant stroll along the west side if the Oos to the town centre, takes about 15 minutes. The room was large with a balcony and a good sized bathroom with bath. The swimming pool and spa area was very pleasant and also very quiet. Going by prices of other hotels in the area I would say that it was good value for money especially if like us your breakfast is included as it was excellent .

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lorraine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We stayed in this hotel witGood for you Leonardo Hotel ! two kids in twin room (2 double beds ). Room was good size with a balcony. Very clean. Good size flat screen TV, minibar. There's a nice pool, wirpool, sauna, well equipped gym and nice room for relaxation and meditation in hotel. Nice area for relaxation in the garden. Bar, restaurant... Private parking.
Very good breakfast. One of the best we had in Europe.
Very nice and helpful staff.
Free internet.
From very center of Baden-Baden to the hotel there's a nice walking distance about 15 minutes trough Lichtenstein Ally , which is wonderful!
Even the price of the hotel was reasonable relatively to 4 * hotel in very expensive Baden-Baden.
We enjoyed this stay a lot. Good for you Leonardo Royal Hotel Baden-Baden!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vikistravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for one night on a business trip. Booked it mainly hotel because of the free car parking offered, although when I arrived at around 4pm the car park was full, but it’s free to park on the outside road.
Check-in was quick and simple. Not all the hotel amenities were explained (nothing about breakfast) but when I asked about directions to the town centre I was given a local map and shown in detail. From other reviews I thought that I may need to drive, but in fact the town centre is only a 10-15 minute walk along quite tree lined streets – very pleasant as it was a lovely sunny hot day.
The room was quite large for a European hotel, clean and looked very new and modern. I was on the second floor with a balcony, table and 2 chairs which had pleasant views facing the setting sun and very quiet, especially during the night.
Baden Baden has lots of wonderful places to eat and drink, most with outside seating. I went to town to early so came back, worked and then eat in the hotel. Unfortunately like many good hotels, the food in the restaurant does not also live up to the same and this was no exception. The salad starter was okay, but the main of pork medallions was dried out with a strong rich sauce and odd mix of compliments!
I would certainly stay here again and recommend this hotel, especially for a long weekend break, but personally I would suggest eating in town.

Room Tip: Ask for a room to the back of the hotel in summer so as to sit out on the balcony and enjoy the sun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fauchards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Check-in was friendly, but check in clerks knew little about local tourism. Did not even mention they had a pool/jacuzzi. No mention of amenities or hours.
Room was comfortable. Room service was prompt, but no spoon with the soup and forgot to bring the salad.
WiFi is free, but only lasts 12 hours.
Advertised Sunday Brunch didn't happen.
At check-out, ran credit card before showing the bill. Charged for 3 meals we did not order and billed in wrong currency.
No attention to detail. This is not consistent with their 4-star rating.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JimD295414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baden-Baden hotels
0.6 mi away
Dorint Maison Messmer
Dorint Maison Messmer
#3 of 50 in Baden-Baden
617 reviews
0.4 mi away
Brenners Park-Hotel & Spa
Brenners Park-Hotel & Spa
#1 of 50 in Baden-Baden
636 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Baden-Baden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Badischer Hof Hotel
0.7 mi away
Hotel am Sophienpark
Hotel am Sophienpark
#6 of 50 in Baden-Baden
284 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Merkur
Hotel Merkur
#12 of 50 in Baden-Baden
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leonardo Royal Hotel Baden-Baden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leonardo Royal Hotel Baden-Baden

Address: Falkenstr. 2, 76530, Baden-Baden, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany (Formerly BEST WESTERN Queens Hotel Baden-Baden)
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Baden-Baden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Baden-Baden
#2 Spa Hotel in Baden-Baden
#6 Business Hotel in Baden-Baden
Price Range: $97 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Leonardo Royal Hotel Baden-Baden 4.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Leonardo Royal Hotel Baden-Baden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Baden-Baden
Baden-Baden Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing