We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel and Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Leonardo Royal Hotel Baden-Baden
Ranked #2 of 50 Hotels in Baden-Baden
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 18, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for one night on a business trip. Booked it mainly hotel because of the free car parking offered, although when I arrived at around 4pm the car park was full, but it’s free to park on the outside road.
Check-in was quick and simple. Not all the hotel amenities were explained (nothing about breakfast) but when I asked about directions to the town centre I was given a local map and shown in detail. From other reviews I thought that I may need to drive, but in fact the town centre is only a 10-15 minute walk along quite tree lined streets – very pleasant as it was a lovely sunny hot day.
The room was quite large for a European hotel, clean and looked very new and modern. I was on the second floor with a balcony, table and 2 chairs which had pleasant views facing the setting sun and very quiet, especially during the night.
Baden Baden has lots of wonderful places to eat and drink, most with outside seating. I went to town to early so came back, worked and then eat in the hotel. Unfortunately like many good hotels, the food in the restaurant does not also live up to the same and this was no exception. The salad starter was okay, but the main of pork medallions was dried out with a strong rich sauce and odd mix of compliments!
I would certainly stay here again and recommend this hotel, especially for a long weekend break, but personally I would suggest eating in town.

Room Tip: Ask for a room to the back of the hotel in summer so as to sit out on the balcony and enjoy the sun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fauchards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,041)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

405 - 411 of 1,041 reviews

Reviewed June 5, 2013

Check-in was friendly, but check in clerks knew little about local tourism. Did not even mention they had a pool/jacuzzi. No mention of amenities or hours.
Room was comfortable. Room service was prompt, but no spoon with the soup and forgot to bring the salad.
WiFi is free, but only lasts 12 hours.
Advertised Sunday Brunch didn't happen.
At check-out, ran credit card before showing the bill. Charged for 3 meals we did not order and billed in wrong currency.
No attention to detail. This is not consistent with their 4-star rating.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JimD295414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

This hotel is located in a beautiful surroundings but a bit hidden away, I admit that on my first day I have gotten lost walking around the area and had to ask locals for directions to get back to the hotel. The room was nothing special. On the plus side it's a very relaxing atmosphere in and around the hotel, used the pool facilities every day, breakfast was good too.
Hotel rates are quite high also my colleagues broke some plastic apple and had to pay 50 Euros for it.
If your dates are flexible, I recommend going on Best Western's own website to check their daily rate, it can vary quite a bit. I would go back to this hotel in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miletravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel several times en route from the UK to Germany or Austria. We have always found the quality of the product to be really good, the food and beverage offering excellent and the staff always ultra friendly and helpful. The location is great with easy on site parking and it is an easy 10 minute stroll into the heart of Baden Baden

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ProTravellerLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwqueens, Manager at Leonardo Royal Hotel Baden-Baden, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Dear guest,

thank you so much for your kind review. We are all happy to hear, that you enjoyed your stay here with us and would very much pleased to welcoming you again very soon!

Best regards,

Nora Waggershauser
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

The staff of the hotel makes it more then a pleasure to stay at this fine hotel. I traveled with a dog and without asking the staff would bring water on the terrace and in the bar. Without exemption all staff members are most friendly and helpful with good information. The room is excellent and leave nothing to desire. A good place to stay while seeing Baden Baden and the beautiful environment. The breakfast offers a white range of food and good coffee.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bert_janmaat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwqueens, Manager at Leonardo Royal Hotel Baden-Baden, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Dear guest,

thank you very much indeed for your kind review on this site. It was a pleasure welcoming you and your dog at our hotel! We really hope you enjoyed your stay here with us and were able to explore the beauty of our fantastic region.

Best regards,

Nora Waggershauser
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Staff couldn't have been more helpful, we were having problems with our Sat Nav that had died at the start of a 2300 mile round trip by motorbike! They allowed us to print off all our routes for the next 9 journeys, which allowed us to go on and have a fabulous time navigating the old fashioned way.

Clean and tidy, staff all spoke excellent English, lovely walk through the gardens into town, good choice of bars and places to eat in town. Room very nice overlooking the gardens.

Breakfast was expensive but worth it and set you up for the day. Huge choice from smoked salmon and rare roast beef to the normal breakfast fare, fresh fruit and pastries etc.

Secure parking.

The only negatives were the cost of wine in the restaurant, which was far too expensive and the stupid WFI system they have going. Only lasts an hour and then drops you out and you have to log on with another code, drove us mad. They are happy to give you 5 or more different codes at a time so I don't understand why they do this.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chumlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 12, 2012

Dear guest,

thank you very much for your kind review. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay here with us at the BEST WESTERN Queens Hotel. Kindly be informed that we the 1-hour-WIFI-connection system occures due to security reasons. It was a pleasure for us welcoming you and really hope that you enjoyed the rest of your motorbike tour!

BEST regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2012

I would start by saying I was scared when we pulled up. The building is very old and run down on the outside, needs a major facelift but I was open minded to the inside based up the reviews I had read.
After checking in we made it to our room, upon getting there we realized it was not the room we reserved. We were promised a balcony yet we were one of the only rooms without one. The reception apologized and changed it right away.
After getting to our next room we went to lay down on the bed that had not only pubic hair but also dirt on the pillow and sheets!!!
We immediately called to reception and the house keep came immediately to attend to this issue.
After that ..... we finally undress and headed to the shower but..... on the way a young lady with her suit case was entering our room!!!!!!!!!!!! She thought it was hers and her room key surely let her in!!!!!! The hotel had put both of us in the same room!
That was it. We immediately headed to the front desk with our suitcases!
They begged and bribed us to stay we we said no way.

So check your sheets and watch your door. I am amazed it has such a good Tripadvisor review. PS - it was our Honeymoon which I informed them of and they did not acknowledge it!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank siesonja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwqueens, Manager at Leonardo Royal Hotel Baden-Baden, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2012

Dear guests,

thank you for your statement. We are very sorry for any inconvenience during your stay with us - surely every incident has to be considered from two sides. Anyway, we really hope that you had a good honeymoon and enjoyed the rest of your stay in Germany.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baden-Baden hotels
0.4 mi away
Brenners Park-Hotel & Spa
Brenners Park-Hotel & Spa
#1 of 50 in Baden-Baden
661 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dorint Maison Messmer
Dorint Maison Messmer
#3 of 50 in Baden-Baden
633 reviews
1 mi away
Radisson Blu Badischer Hof Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel am Sophienpark
Hotel am Sophienpark
#4 of 50 in Baden-Baden
310 reviews
1.3 mi away
Roomers Baden-Baden, Autograph Collection
0.4 mi away
Hotel Der Kleine Prinz
Hotel Der Kleine Prinz
#15 of 50 in Baden-Baden
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leonardo Royal Hotel Baden-Baden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leonardo Royal Hotel Baden-Baden

Address: Falkenstr. 2, 76530, Baden-Baden, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany (Formerly BEST WESTERN Queens Hotel Baden-Baden)
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Baden-Baden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Baden-Baden
#2 Luxury Hotel in Baden-Baden
#2 Spa Hotel in Baden-Baden
#6 Business Hotel in Baden-Baden
Price Range: $86 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Leonardo Royal Hotel Baden-Baden 4.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Leonardo Royal Hotel Baden-Baden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Baden-Baden
Baden-Baden Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing