We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“10 min walk from "hot springs" and "city centre"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Leonardo Royal Hotel Baden-Baden
Ranked #2 of 50 Hotels in Baden-Baden
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 25, 2011

We spent a weekend in Baden Baden and mostly enjoyed the "hot springs". This hotel is situated in a very quiete neighbourhood and only 10 min from the "hot springs" Caracalla or Friedrichsbad. There are no restaurants around this hotel.

Parking is free and the rooms look brand new, even though the outside of the hotel gives you another impression. Breakfast is not included and I would not recommend it as it is very costy at 19,- Euros per person (be aware that Baden Baden caters to an older public and you should know, that there are not a lot of breakfast options nearby - we went to Mc Donald's which opened at 10am).

I prefer the Queens Hotel to the Holiday Inn Express because of its larger rooms, the free parking and the better location.

+ very nice and large rooms, free internet access, free parking and a pool
- the hotel looks old from outside and the breakfast is very expensive for 19,- Euros per person.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2Euro-Travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (943)
There are newer reviews for Leonardo Royal Hotel Baden-Baden
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

395 - 401 of 943 reviews

Reviewed September 27, 2010

We (me, wife & dog) stayed here one night on our drive down to Lake Como. The room interiors try to look traditional but the exterior marks it clearly as a structure from the 60s. It's slightly shabby in places but the staff are friendly and they welcome dogs, charging an additional €10 a night. For that vital early morning walk, the hotel is surrounded by grass and the park is only a stroll away.
The hotel is not in the centre but it's a delighful 20' walk alongside the river and past the grand dames of B-B's stock of hotels.
We had an excellent dinner in the restaurant - not cheap but the finest quality and service. The barman was a charming and attentive young man who will go far in his chosen trade.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank golfdriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2010

Nice property in a green part of Baden-Baden, about a 20 Euro´s taxi ride away from the main station. Spacious rooms, but the interior could do with a brush-up, since everything feels like very 1990s. My room was clean an spacious, though, with furniture and bathroom with tub in good condition.

The spa downstairs is great with a 30ft pool, a whirlpool, sauna (beware: both sexes are naked in a sauna always in Germany!) and fitness facilities. You don´t find this often at a hotel this price. Using the spa is free for guests.

Downsides: No water cooker, no deposit box or free WLAN in rooms, costly breakfast (19 Euro!), I did not try it therefore, but the buffet indeed looked very nice.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank banane16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwqueens, Manager at Leonardo Royal Hotel Baden-Baden, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2010

Dear guests,

there a some good news for you: Using WLAN in our guests rooms is free of charge at the beginning from january 2011!
Coffee and Tea Facilities ( Water cooker) are always free of charge, please contact the reception, we bring them up to your rooms!

Nora Waggershauser
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2010

On arrival at the hotel we were met by a friendly receptionist who helped us check in and gave us full details of the hotel facilities and a map of the city. It's well worth using the hotel Spa, but be prepared for naked people and you may be asked to remove your swimwear. If you have the time we would recommend that you visit the Roman Spa bath in the city centre. The hotel is a pleasant 15 minute walk alongside the river to the town centre. Baden-Baden is a beatiful spa city and is well worth a visit. We will be returning next year. We were so impressed with the hotel, we are considering joining the Best Western Loyalty scheme.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aerodancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2010

We stayed here for 6 days and had a very pleasant stay. The car park is free and very handy, the hotel is a VERY agreeable stroll away from the centre of the delightful (but expensive) town of Baden Baden, the rooms are large and airy and have lovely balconies. The bathroom was well equipped, the shower reasonable, although shower curtains round the bath (with inevitable leaks on the bathroom floor) are really not what one expects in a hotel at this level these days. The television had lots of channels but was a bit old and small but the rest of the equipment was of a good standard. The staff are efficient but not hugely friendly, although there were some notable exceptions to this and in general they seemed to warm up after you had been there a few days. The restaurant had rather odd opening rules and although the food was good, it was not exactly cutting edge (and not cheap either). The pool and spa/leisure facilities were good, but the Carcalla Therme is only a 15 minute walk away and that is just a brilliant place that is hard for them to compete with. I think it is a good hotel, but it is starting to feel a bit 1980s and it needs the Manager to have a bit of a rethink or perhaps some new people to come in and shake it up a bit. I would not hesitate to recommend it, however.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RuralRides
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2010

Stayed for 4 nights at this Hotel. It is about a 15 minute walk into the town centre along the lovely Lichtentaler Allee. Staff are friendly but professional and nearly all speak impeccable English. The rooms are large and comfortable with balconies. Breakfast, if not included, is a hefty 19 euros but it is worth it for the sheer choice and quality of both the cooked and cold dishes. You can even help yourself to a glass of cremant! The fitness centre and pool are well worth a visit. All in all a very good experience.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CDL3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2010

Very accessable room for a wheelchair guest. We were allowed access to a service lift to get to the dinning room. It was totally worth it for the good food. Wheelchair access in Europe is problemattical but good at this hotel. We would return! It a wheelchair? Contact this hotel and be satisfied.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bubber8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baden-Baden hotels
0.6 mi away
Dorint Maison Messmer
Dorint Maison Messmer
#3 of 50 in Baden-Baden
604 reviews
0.4 mi away
Brenners Park-Hotel & Spa
Brenners Park-Hotel & Spa
#1 of 50 in Baden-Baden
632 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Baden-Baden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Badischer Hof Hotel
0.7 mi away
Hotel am Sophienpark
Hotel am Sophienpark
#7 of 50 in Baden-Baden
274 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Merkur
Hotel Merkur
#12 of 50 in Baden-Baden
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leonardo Royal Hotel Baden-Baden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leonardo Royal Hotel Baden-Baden

Address: Falkenstr. 2, 76530, Baden-Baden, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany (Formerly BEST WESTERN Queens Hotel Baden-Baden)
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Baden-Baden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Baden-Baden
#2 Luxury Hotel in Baden-Baden
#6 Business Hotel in Baden-Baden
Price Range: $107 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Leonardo Royal Hotel Baden-Baden 4.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Leonardo Royal Hotel Baden-Baden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Baden-Baden
Baden-Baden Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing