We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very comfortable but one...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dorint Maison Messmer

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dorint Maison Messmer
Ranked #3 of 50 Hotels in Baden-Baden
Certificate of Excellence
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
53 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“very comfortable but one...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

We got this hotel as my husband`s company sponsored it for a week training in Mannheim. We came from Abu Dhabi where my husband works and had no idea how hotels are there. We arrived at the hotel around 1pm last Aug.26 and were received by 2 staff on the reception area, and were disappointed with the male staff who checked us in. He wasn`t accommodating, not courteous, not smiling (I know they don`t smile without a reason, but in a hotel you should, anywhere in the world working in a service-oriented business should do), a bit sarcastic, and talked to us like he doesn`t want to serve anybody and like we are so little. Overall, besides that 1 person, everybody was good, room was very clean, quiet, good location as it`s just walking distance from the shops and restaurants. They have a breakfast buffet that`s so good for the price compared to other Europian Hotels i`ve been, that if you fancy big breakfast or a brunch.

Room Tip: If you are going there on summer ask for a room with air-conditioner as not all the rooms have it an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank traveat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    338
    139
    41
    16
    9
See reviews for
78
247
24
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
102 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

One short night - its a Dorint, everything was just fine. Can recommend it to everyone. Would like to stay longer next time. Five stars German version, means five stars. Try to get 200 characters minimum full here.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andyplusfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

We decided to end our trip back from Italy by staying a couple of nights in Baden Baden.
After googling luxury dog friendly hotels the Dorint Maison Messmer seemed the best choice.
Hotel is very well appointed; the rooms very very comfortable and contemporary.
Staff very friendly and efficient. They had identified and e mailed us in advance the name and location of a vet to enable us to fulfil pet passport requirements to enable our return to the UK.
Hotel location is absolutely great for Casino, restaurant and town centre.
(Try cafe Konig for morning and / or tea and cakes!!!!)
Baden Baden is a most beautiful town and well worth a visit.
The hotel and it's location just made it even better.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

My husband had a business trip in Germany and it fell on our anniversary so he suggested I fly out with him and that we spend a few days seeing some cities in Germany. I had read the tripadvisor reviews and selected the Dorint. When we arrived in Baden-Baden, the GPS directions took us to a parking garage for the Dorint. We were a bit confused because we could not see the hotel. We parked in the garage and went up the elevator to the Dorint and checked in. We walked down the hall to our room and as I opened the door - it was love at first sight. Not only was the room spacious, but well appointed. The furniture and linens were simple and beautiful. There were truffles, figs and almonds on a table to welcome us. There were large windows and to my delight, French doors to a charming terrace with furniture under an umbrella where we later enjoyed a local wine. The hotel staff were wonderful - courteous and extremely helpful. Baden-Baden is a lovely old city with cobblestones and horse drawn carriages. The hotel is a 3-minute walk to the city-center and parks and is the perfect marriage between classic and modern design. (The closets are every woman's dream closets.) The Dorint was impeccably clean and while we did not have breakfast at the hotel, we did enjoy the guitarist that played in the lounge at night and the bartender was very personable. My husband and I spent the early morning at the Caracalla-Therme which I highly recommend. Then we were off to see the largest cuckoo clock in Triberg, Germany. Yes, the Dorint was a few dollars/Euros more, but it was worth it!

Room Tip: Room 261 was absolutely beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TampaSeagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syosset, NY
Level Contributor
149 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

Are there more famous hotels in Baden-Baden, yes of course, but they are also older. Everything works in the Dorint and it's sleek design, large room and air conditioning make a huge difference when the German r comes to you, it is just a few steps to the casino and the center of town. The staff is professional, friendly and experienced. The food and beverage manager doesn't have to check your name off a list when you come for breakfast, he knows who you are. The reception desk has a very able team leader and she works very hard to make use things are correct, problems are solved and you are happy. The bar has he best barman I've seen to date. He is clever and attentive. In short, you can pay more and get "a name" or you can get a name, service and comfort. The only thing I noticed was the hallway carpet was a bit stained.

Room Tip: The top floor suites have some of the roof gables reducing some of the open space in the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank retusafguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldenburg, Germany
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2012

The Dorint Maison Messmer in Baden-Baden has a good to very good standard regarding the room (clean) and service, and good standard regarding breakfast. For a really good breakfast you can order special coffee and egg meals, but you have ask the service personal.
The Dorint is not a specialized wellness hotel, but the small spa with two saunas and one steam bath is excellent for having relax time during a small business trip.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandgarnele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorint2010, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Dorint Maison Messmer, responded to this review, May 14, 2012
Dear "Sandgarnele",

hank you very much for taking the time and reviewing your recent stay at the Dorint Maison Messmer, Baden-Baden on Tripadvisor.
We are very happy to hear, that you enjoyed your stay in the Maison Messmer
and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

The Team of the Dorint Maison Messmer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2012

Me and my wife spent two nights at this modern hotel late September 2011, and we enjoyed it very much, breakfast was excellent , location is superb beside the Casino and only 100 meters to the middle of the lovely city of Baden-Baden a nice relaxing city for a couple of days.. Room prices were expensive compared to other hotels in the area, we paid about 300 euro per night includig breafast , other 4 & 5 star hotels were between 170 - 230 euro, but Dorint deserved the difference as it was modern and well furnished rooms .

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bo3baid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorint2010, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Dorint Maison Messmer, responded to this review, May 14, 2012
Dear "Bo3baid",

thank you so much for reviewing your recent stay at the Dorint Maison Messmer, Baden-Baden.
We are delighted to hear your positive feedback and kind words about our hotel.

We hope to welcome you back very soon!

The Team of the Dorint Maison Messmer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baden-Baden hotels
0.6 mi away
Leonardo Royal Hotel Baden-Baden
0.3 mi away
Brenners Park-Hotel & Spa
Brenners Park-Hotel & Spa
#1 of 50 in Baden-Baden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Belle Epoque
Hotel Belle Epoque
#7 of 50 in Baden-Baden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Baden-Baden
0.4 mi away
Aqua Aurelia Suitenhotel
Aqua Aurelia Suitenhotel
#12 of 50 in Baden-Baden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Der Kleine Prinz
Hotel Der Kleine Prinz
#14 of 50 in Baden-Baden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorint Maison Messmer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorint Maison Messmer

Property: Dorint Maison Messmer
Address: Werderstr. 1, 76530, Baden-Baden, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Baden-Baden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Baden-Baden
#3 Luxury Hotel in Baden-Baden
#6 Romantic Hotel in Baden-Baden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Dorint Maison Messmer 5*
Number of rooms: 151
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Dorint Maison Messmer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorint Maison Messmer Hotel Baden-Baden
Dorint Maison Messmer Baden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing