We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern conveniences in an old city”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dorint Maison Messmer
Ranked #3 of 50 Hotels in Baden-Baden
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Are there more famous hotels in Baden-Baden, yes of course, but they are also older. Everything works in the Dorint and it's sleek design, large room and air conditioning make a huge difference when the German r comes to you, it is just a few steps to the casino and the center of town. The staff is professional, friendly and experienced. The food and beverage manager doesn't have to check your name off a list when you come for breakfast, he knows who you are. The reception desk has a very able team leader and she works very hard to make use things are correct, problems are solved and you are happy. The bar has he best barman I've seen to date. He is clever and attentive. In short, you can pay more and get "a name" or you can get a name, service and comfort. The only thing I noticed was the hallway carpet was a bit stained.

Room Tip: The top floor suites have some of the roof gables reducing some of the open space in the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank retusafguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (622)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

156 - 162 of 622 reviews

Reviewed April 29, 2012

The Dorint Maison Messmer in Baden-Baden has a good to very good standard regarding the room (clean) and service, and good standard regarding breakfast. For a really good breakfast you can order special coffee and egg meals, but you have ask the service personal.
The Dorint is not a specialized wellness hotel, but the small spa with two saunas and one steam bath is excellent for having relax time during a small business trip.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sandgarnele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorint2010, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Dorint Maison Messmer, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2012

Dear "Sandgarnele",

hank you very much for taking the time and reviewing your recent stay at the Dorint Maison Messmer, Baden-Baden on Tripadvisor.
We are very happy to hear, that you enjoyed your stay in the Maison Messmer
and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

The Team of the Dorint Maison Messmer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2012

Me and my wife spent two nights at this modern hotel late September 2011, and we enjoyed it very much, breakfast was excellent , location is superb beside the Casino and only 100 meters to the middle of the lovely city of Baden-Baden a nice relaxing city for a couple of days.. Room prices were expensive compared to other hotels in the area, we paid about 300 euro per night includig breafast , other 4 & 5 star hotels were between 170 - 230 euro, but Dorint deserved the difference as it was modern and well furnished rooms .

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bo3baid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorint2010, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Dorint Maison Messmer, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2012

Dear "Bo3baid",

thank you so much for reviewing your recent stay at the Dorint Maison Messmer, Baden-Baden.
We are delighted to hear your positive feedback and kind words about our hotel.

We hope to welcome you back very soon!

The Team of the Dorint Maison Messmer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2012

I just loved my stay at the Dorint. They do have a keen eye for detail.
The bed and table linen are immaculate. The staff at the receptio very friendly.
The breakfast buffet was the best part with all the excellent homemade german bread and jelly not forgetting the delicious musli.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MiriamM972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorint2010, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Dorint Maison Messmer, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2012

Dear "MiriamM972",

thank you so much for taking the time to write your kind and informative review! We will be sure to pass on your comments to the individuals and departments that you mentioned. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again very soon!

All the best,

the team of the Dorint Maison Messmer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2012

This hotel is in a great location - next door to the casino and Kurhaus, 5mins from the Frieder Burda gallery, just across the river from the main shopping street, and under 10mins walk to Friedrichsbad and Caracala Therme.

The hotel itself is modern feeling, but still maintains the grand feel appropriate for the spa town. Our room was huge, with a comfortable bed and a balcony overlooking the courtyard. Complimentary water (a large bottle) was provided each day.

The swimming pool and saunas were gorgeous and very clean. The staff were generally pleasant and friendly (although the barman was a little inexperienced). The breakfast buffet was absolutely amazing - a huge variety of delicious food was available.

I only have two slightly bad points. There was no wifi in the hotel, which was a bit surprising for a modern luxury hotel, but didn't really inconvenience us. The room service menu was also rather lacking for vegetarians - the only options were a soup or a mozzarella salad. The salad was very nice, and fortunately I wasn't terribly hungry, but even one hot option would be good! There was also very little choice in the Theaterkeller restaurant - I would put it down to just being German, but I ate very well in other places around town.

Those are both pretty minor quibbles though, and certainly didn't spoil our stay. We would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuisseSuisse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Really beautiful, modern and comfortable hotel set in an ideal location. Hotel seems to be in a perfect shape, very clean and well kept. Rooms are very bright and specious. We were staying in czar room, which was beautifully decorated in the style of contemporary elegance. Room was relatively large with nice sitting area and two balconies, nicely furnished with almost all necessary amenities, including surprisingly large TV set. Only drawback was the lack of water cooker.
We've dined in room on several occasion, and the food was excellent. However, the menu is surprisingly limited.
We've really enjoyed the hotel, and would recommend it to anyone visiting Baden Baden. It is probably the best choice currently in the city for an upscale hotel, if you prefer modern hotels. (there are plenty of grand hotels in Baden-Baden, but I'm really not a big fan of having a crystal chandelier in my room). It is also perfectly located, basically in the center of the city, in the Kurpark, right next to Lichtentaleralle and 10 minute walking distance to Festpielhaus.
My only problem with the hotel (and that is way I'm not able to give it higher mark) is the service. It's just beyond me that cleaning lady would ring at our door at 11am, to see when she can clean our room, as she has seen that we have left the "do not disturb" sign on the door. This really spoiled the whole stay. Additionally, once we've returned in the evening to our room, we've found out that only some used glasses were changed, while have been left, together with a used knife on our coffee table. (it's not that they've overlooked them, the used glasses and knife were nicely placed next to each other).

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dBogda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2011

This was the second year we went and although it is a great hotel with lovely staff the standards had slipped. Fantastic barman, great people working there super food but at the high price we paid for Christmas here 2 staff on duty in the fine dining restaurant and an hour to 90 minutes to wait before any food arives is not acceptable. staffing was poor in the hotel generally in the evening. There was no DVD or cd player in the room, we found out on the last day you had to ask for one ??? Also terrible connections and charges for internet. Any apple devices dont work at all and only one 'free' p.c. usually busy. They say this will change in 2012.
All this said it is still a lovely place and we would recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask to face the front of the hotel and corner rooms are biggest
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DGoscar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorint2010, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Dorint Maison Messmer, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2012

Dear "IanOscar",

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your kind and informative review! I will be sure to pass on your comments to the individuals and departments that you mentioned. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again very soon! The new system for the Wifi will be installed next month.

All the best,
Marcus Cahill, Sales&Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baden-Baden hotels
0.3 mi away
Brenners Park-Hotel & Spa
Brenners Park-Hotel & Spa
#1 of 50 in Baden-Baden
644 reviews
0.6 mi away
Leonardo Royal Hotel Baden-Baden
0.3 mi away
Hotel Belle Epoque
Hotel Belle Epoque
#10 of 50 in Baden-Baden
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Roomers Baden-Baden, Autograph Collection
0.3 mi away
Hotel Der Kleine Prinz
Hotel Der Kleine Prinz
#14 of 50 in Baden-Baden
233 reviews
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Badischer Hof Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorint Maison Messmer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorint Maison Messmer

Address: Werderstr. 1, 76530, Baden-Baden, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Baden-Baden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Baden-Baden
#3 Luxury Hotel in Baden-Baden
#6 Romantic Hotel in Baden-Baden
Price Range: $209 - $393 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Dorint Maison Messmer 5*
Number of rooms: 151
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Dorint Maison Messmer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorint Maison Messmer Hotel Baden-Baden
Dorint Maison Messmer Baden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing