We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Hotel in great location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel am Sophienpark

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel am Sophienpark
Ranked #9 of 50 Hotels in Baden-Baden
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel in great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

We also got lost, but that happens in à lot of pedestrianised town centres. Very welcoming receptioniist who apologised that our room was not quite ready, but did not have to wait long. Had à large, beautifully decorated room overlooking the gardens. Bed was comfortable, bathroom spacious and the hotel is in à great location. Breakfast was ver good, lots of choice and sitting outside was lovely. Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    91
    29
    6
    6
See reviews for
37
92
22
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

I can strongly recommend NOT to stay in this hotel, because the service is really inconsiderate. When we arrived we had trouble reaching the hotel by car. When we finally made it we were told since we booked via booking.com we would not receive a mail from them giving us driving directions. later the manager later told us that usually people would call them when they got lost! how about fixing it?!
the rooms we had were facing the street - noisy!! - and the courtyard, ugly, dark, and dirty.
while i agree with the renovation and the potential, the renovation was only done on the surface and still old plugs, old heating controls show the age.
the breakfast was ok, and when you stay facing the garden you might enjoy it.
btw, they could clean the atrium, the window sills, the roof, and the stairs..

Room Tip: facing the garden otherwise you'll regret it, since facing the street is really noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank love_travelling69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
75 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

Lovely HUGE room, with wonderful view of the gardens. Nicely decorated in understated elegance, all completely renovated. Could have moved in! The reception was extremely pleasant. Breakast was wonderful, with amazing selections. Stafff was outstanding. Quiet hotel provided a luxurious relaxing stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank msb0nd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Landstuhl, Rheinland-Pfalz, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Nice hotel, great location, great price (80 Euro). Parking was NOT FUN, but I guess that is to be expected for the location. Stayed in a business single, small (22m2), but just fine for me. 500m to the spas and less than that to the Fabrege Museum. Well worth the trip.

Room Tip: If you can, request a room on the back of the property away from the Sophienstrasse for more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HazNavy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karlsruhe, Germany
Level Contributor
68 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

I didn't have especially high expectations for this hotel, mainly due to its fairly low position on the list of hotels on here. However, we were very happy with our stay. The location of this hotel, for us, is perfect - right in the centre of the town and close to everything. Even though it is right at the heart of everything it was incredibly peaceful. Perhaps if your room is facing the street it is a bit noisier. We, however, faced the park in the centre and it was very quiet. I would like to return here in the summer to make use of the balcony facing the gardens.

The room was a very good size (we were in a Business Classic), the bed was perfect and the bathroom was clean and modern. The service was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was excellent. We usually stay at the Merkur when we stay in Baden-Baden but there was no room there this time, so booking the Holland Hotel Am Sophienpark was a bit of an unknown. The breakfast here is better than the Merkur, the room was bigger and it has a better location. Next time, if the price is comparable, I would definitely choose the Holland Hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cakestin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lancashire
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

We used the hotel as a base for one night as we started our journey through the Black Forest.

The hotel was in a great location which is why the parking was an issue I suppose, the hotel has it's own car park at the rear which is not the easiest to find.

The hotel was well decorated and the rooms were spacious and had been recently updated. The beds were great and the bathrooms were spotlessly clean. The staff were helpful - nothing was a problem.

The grandness of the hotel is still present with the central staircase and so on, although in my view the current decor doesn't do the building full justice.

The breakfast was good with a plentiful selection of breads, meats cheeses, cereals etc., no problems here.

I would stay again - no issues.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BarnseyLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ceuta, Spain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

We've stayed at this hotel in Baden Baden for four fantastic nights (July-August 2012). Large charming and quiet rooms, breakfast buffet in the garden, nice personnel, parking for our car... Average price, a few expensive but worth paying for it. The city is great, by the way.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank josemanfh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baden-Baden hotels
0.6 mi away
Leonardo Royal Hotel Baden-Baden
0.2 mi away
Dorint Maison Messmer
Dorint Maison Messmer
#3 of 50 in Baden-Baden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
0.3 mi away
Brenners Park-Hotel & Spa
Brenners Park-Hotel & Spa
#1 of 50 in Baden-Baden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Heliopark Bad Hotel zum Hirsch
Heliopark Bad Hotel zum Hirsch
#13 of 50 in Baden-Baden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Belle Epoque
Hotel Belle Epoque
#7 of 50 in Baden-Baden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aqua Aurelia Suitenhotel
Aqua Aurelia Suitenhotel
#11 of 50 in Baden-Baden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel am Sophienpark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel am Sophienpark

Property: Hotel am Sophienpark
Address: Sophienstrasse 14, 76530, Baden-Baden, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Baden-Baden
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 50 Hotels in Baden-Baden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel am Sophienpark 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Hotel am Sophienpark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing