We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boutique Hotel-Average”
Review of Hotel Belle Epoque

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Belle Epoque
Ranked #10 of 50 Hotels in Baden-Baden
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Stayed one night, at the bottom of the hotel's we stayed at on our trip. Good points are size, quiet neighborhood location, nice staff, excellent breakfast, five minute walk to downtown. Bad points are the rooms, or maybe the room we stayed in, titled the Marie Antoinette room. Never seen two bathrooms in a room before, one with toilet and small sink on one side and a tub and shower on the other. Frankly, when i get up in the dark, i don't want to figure out if i'm going right or left. The room was of decent size, but awful decor with a picture of Marie Antoinette over the bed, which was comical. Didn't like to pay 25 Euros to park either when it's not a downtown location.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bhawknine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelleBad, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Belle Epoque, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2014

Thank you very much for your review and your time to write on your impressions of your stay. Your information is very important to us as they help us to improve our services.
The parking is € 19,- what is quite normal for the city center. It is a lot of work to keep everything neat and we have a night guard watching the parking area and hotel all night.
We are sorry that you didn:t like the seperate bath and toilet situation, most guests prefer that. Next time we will find a different room which comforts you.
We would be glad to welcome you again in Baden-Baden!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (231)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

96 - 102 of 231 reviews

Reviewed November 2, 2013

The people at The Hotel Belle Epoque where from top to bottom awesome!

I had a hard time giving it the top rating as I felt this was a 5 star hotel with a 4 star budget. There was nothing really wrong it just seemed to me some of the very small things (carpet a bit worn in places, room furniture a bit worn) could be addressed. The Bathroom was also very small. I understand this is typical of many very nice hotels built in old buildings but it was the case still the same.

The location is a 5-10 minute walk to the Casino or Pedestrian area but is a nice walk along the canal or through the town.

The bottom line is this is a fantastic small luxury hotel that won my top rating because everyone we interacted with understands what taking care of people is all about.

I would stay at the Belle again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoanG986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelleBad, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Belle Epoque, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2014

Thank you very much for your review and your time to write on your impressions of your stay. Your information is very important to us as they help us to improve our services.
We are pleased to hear, that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and we would be glad to welcome you again in Baden-Baden!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Baden Baden where you get the specialness of the 'waters' at the Friedrichsbad Spa (the good one) along with the beauty of the Black Forest.
The Belle Epoque is a 5 min walk from the main center but well worth the stay. A period mansion built by a Count, it is comfortable in it's surroundings.
But what really makes Belle Epoque stand out are the staff and the thoughtful extras the hotel provides it's guests.
Rarely have we come across staff so helpful in a very unobtrusive way, with advice and thoughtful attention to things we the guest hadn't thought to ask for. Then there's the 'extras' ~ tea with cake (even a glass of wine) from 14:00; a few nuts for your room before dinner ~ why not one bowl for you and another for your wife; or at the (included) breakfast where paper bags are left out for you to take snacks from the breakfast array for 'later'. (How often have we snuck out with some breakfast elements surreptitiously hidden in a napkin?) Here they anticipate your needs and make it comfortable to do it.
And that's the point. You feel you've been taken into a home rather than a hotel and that's a very good feeling.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank atrecker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelleBad, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Belle Epoque, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2014

Thank you very much for your review and your time to write on your impressions of your stay.
We are pleased to hear, that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and we would be glad to welcome you again in Baden-Baden!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We had a phenomenal time here. We were a little apprehensive about staying in a small boutique hotel - but all our apprehensions about the place and people were put to rest during our stay - we were extremely impressed and would visit baden-baden again to stay here.

Choose a garden facing room in the main building though because there are quite a few buildings that belong to the hotel.

Very nice quaint rooms, lovely decor and detailing without being obnoxious or over-the-top. Very tasteful choice of appointments. The staff was very courteous and helpful.

Vegetarian options at breakfast (especially heated options) were very limited, it was a decent spread overall though. High-tea was phenomenal with a nice choice of teas, pastries and alcoholic beverages. Just keep in mind that there isn't a restaurant at this property so meals have to be had either in the town or at the sister property. A little bit of a walk from the town center if you don't have a car - need to walk 10 - 15 mins for your meals - we didn't have an issue with this.

Room Tip: choose a garden facing room in the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thetravellers7447
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelleBad, Inhaber at Hotel Belle Epoque, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Thank you very much for your review and your time to write your impressions of you stay. Your information is very important to us as they help us to improve our services.
The restaurant of our sister hotel is just 100 meter away by foot, what means about 2 minutes. To walk to the next restaurant in the city it is not more than five minutes. And of course we will serve you warm food from our menu at our restaurant hours directly to the room.
We are pleased to hear, that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and we would be glad to welcome you again in Baden-Baden very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

This is a Small Luxury Hotel, and members of this mix of independent hotels have never let us down.  Seeing our membership card, we were given an upgrade to a junior suite.  (SLH membership is free and highly recommended).   The reception staff are all friendly, helpful and welcoming, and all kitted out in impeccable suits.  During our stay, any time we came down the stairs someone would be ready asking how they could help.  Our room was on the top floor and up two flights of stairs.  All the way up the decor was what you would expect for a hotel called "Belle Epoque".  Our room, Jugendstil Suite, is an attic room, with a deceptively high ceiling, oak beams and a jacuzzi.  The furtniture and decor are all to a high standard - all in the era style, but clearly modern and well mantained.   The bathrooom is quie small, containing jsut the shower, sink and loo - the jacuzzi is in the main bedroom area.  A dressing gown and slippers are provided, but only one bath towel each and a single hand towel.  
The hotel has free wi-fi which is easy to join and which has a good signal from out on the garden balcony, in the pubic dining room and in our room on the top floor.  The safe is a good size and has a removable shelf, which is handy.  The minibar fridge is large enough to hold your own water bottles etc. The items provided are fairly expensive, as is usual, and the hotel do charge for water - 4 Eur for 0.5l - so you may prefer to get a bottle from the super market - cross Maria-Viktoria Strasse and head uphill towards Lichtentaler strasse - the supermarket is just on the right.  Here you can get a litre for less than a euro.
The hotel is more generous with breakfast, where a little notice invites you to take extra rolls etc and make yourself a snack to take out for lunch.  Breakfast selection is "the usual' rolls, cold cuts and cheese, cereal and yoghurts plus a small amount of fruit, salad and yoghurts.  Hot eggs, poached, scrambled or whatever can be made to order.  There was also a bottle of champage (and note: champagne, not sparkling wine or prosecco) next to the fruit juice at breakfast.  
Also icluded in the room rate is afternoon tea (or coffee) with a small selection of cakes and parties.  This can betaken in the dining room, on the sofa in front of the fire or out of the shaded terrace.  As well as cakes they had a bowl of nuts, which was a huge win for me as a fan of the savoury snack!   

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Monk-san
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelleBad, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Belle Epoque, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Thank you very much for your review and your time to write on your impressions of you stay. Your information is very important to us as they help us to improve our services. We are pleased to hear, that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and we would be glad to welcome you again in Baden-Baden!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Treated like and individual and made feel welcome and special. The room was delightful, clean and homely. Location is just minutes walk from the town and the staff were very helpful as tourist guides and hosts. Breakfast was substantial and perhaps the best we had in our recent travels. Afternoon tea on the terrace was a delightful,experience. Silver service all round.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank LSL_Travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelleBad, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Belle Epoque, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Thank you very much for your review. We are pleased to hear, that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and we would be glad to welcome you again in Baden-Baden!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

If I could give this hotel 0/5 I would as it is easily the worst hotel either of us has stayed in over our numerous travels. I cannot believe it is part of Small Luxury Hotels (SLH) as it is far from luxury and not even clean (see pics). I booked this as part of our honeymoon and intended to stay 5 nights but we left after one. The hotel seems fine from the exterior and the communal areas are also ok but once you get in the rooms it is another story. They seem to feel that creating a 'belle epoque' feel means they do not have to renovate at all. I had informed the hotel over a week before arrival that it would be our honeymoon, when we arrived the manager said he had upgraded us for this reason which I thought was a bit odd as as an SLH member you are meant to get an upgrade if available anyway, no other effort was made. The room itself looked really tired, the bed was sagging in the middle, the carpet was really old and there were fraying net curtains in the window. The room was supposed to have a view of the gardens but due to the pitch of the roof you couldn't see anything (I am 6'5'' tall) not what we expected at all. We went down to reception to ask if we could change rooms and the manager said that the only other suite he had would have a wedding going on next door tomorrow night so if we wanted that one we 'better not come running back complaining of noise.' We instead opted for the standard room we had originally booked as it looked the least worn but on closer inspection found it to be quite dirty. There were stains on the bed cover which we mentioned when we were shown the room, as a result one of the maids came and ripped the cover off the bed then left again. We found hairs all over the duvets and pillows (not just one or two as you might get transferred in the wash) and there were also hairs all over the bathroom floor, which incidentally has no bath in a standard room just a shower, is this your idea of luxury?

By this point we felt there was no point mentioning this to the manager as he had already made us feel less than welcome and had it been earlier we would certainly have left that night, on looking at other reviews on tripadvisor we see the management has the opinion the guest is always wrong so decided to complain through our booking website who kindly negotiated our early departure. We were just about to bed down for the night when we started to smell cigarette smoke filling our room through one of the vents, nice.

As for the rest of the hotel it has absolutely no facilities at all and the 'extensive' gardens are more postage stamp sized, the breakfast is adequate but nothing to rave about. You are also expected to pay €18/night for parking. So in summary if you stay here you will be paying 5* luxury prices for a dirty, smelly, tired room in a hotel with no facilities to make up that price and you will be charged extra if you want to park your car, I don't know if the rude manager was an added bonus or comes as standard. What makes this all the more upsetting is this has tainted the memory of our honeymoon when we booked high grade hotels specifically to try and prevent such an event occurring. It also significantly impacted our holiday time as we spent a day travelling back to our original hotel and then had a much longer journey than anticipated for getting to the airport for departure.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank MrGiant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelleBad, Inhaber at Hotel Belle Epoque, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Thank you for your review. We deeply regret that our services were not to your satisfaction. Please accept our apologies for the inconveniences. We will do our best to improve upon the complaints you mentioned.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baden-Baden hotels
0.3 mi away
Dorint Maison Messmer
Dorint Maison Messmer
#3 of 50 in Baden-Baden
638 reviews
0.1 mi away
Brenners Park-Hotel & Spa
Brenners Park-Hotel & Spa
#1 of 50 in Baden-Baden
667 reviews
0.3 mi away
Leonardo Royal Hotel Baden-Baden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Der Kleine Prinz
Hotel Der Kleine Prinz
#15 of 50 in Baden-Baden
236 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel am Sophienpark
Hotel am Sophienpark
#4 of 50 in Baden-Baden
315 reviews
1 mi away
Roomers Baden-Baden, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Belle Epoque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Belle Epoque

Address: Maria-Viktoria-Str. 2C, 76530, Baden-Baden, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Baden-Baden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Baden-Baden
#9 Romantic Hotel in Baden-Baden
Price Range: $239 - $428 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Belle Epoque 4.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Belle Epoque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belle Epoque Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing