We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel with excellent service”
Review of Hotel Belle Epoque

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Belle Epoque
Ranked #10 of 50 Hotels in Baden-Baden
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 11, 2013

This is a Small Luxury Hotel, and members of this mix of independent hotels have never let us down.  Seeing our membership card, we were given an upgrade to a junior suite.  (SLH membership is free and highly recommended).   The reception staff are all friendly, helpful and welcoming, and all kitted out in impeccable suits.  During our stay, any time we came down the stairs someone would be ready asking how they could help.  Our room was on the top floor and up two flights of stairs.  All the way up the decor was what you would expect for a hotel called "Belle Epoque".  Our room, Jugendstil Suite, is an attic room, with a deceptively high ceiling, oak beams and a jacuzzi.  The furtniture and decor are all to a high standard - all in the era style, but clearly modern and well mantained.   The bathrooom is quie small, containing jsut the shower, sink and loo - the jacuzzi is in the main bedroom area.  A dressing gown and slippers are provided, but only one bath towel each and a single hand towel.  
The hotel has free wi-fi which is easy to join and which has a good signal from out on the garden balcony, in the pubic dining room and in our room on the top floor.  The safe is a good size and has a removable shelf, which is handy.  The minibar fridge is large enough to hold your own water bottles etc. The items provided are fairly expensive, as is usual, and the hotel do charge for water - 4 Eur for 0.5l - so you may prefer to get a bottle from the super market - cross Maria-Viktoria Strasse and head uphill towards Lichtentaler strasse - the supermarket is just on the right.  Here you can get a litre for less than a euro.
The hotel is more generous with breakfast, where a little notice invites you to take extra rolls etc and make yourself a snack to take out for lunch.  Breakfast selection is "the usual' rolls, cold cuts and cheese, cereal and yoghurts plus a small amount of fruit, salad and yoghurts.  Hot eggs, poached, scrambled or whatever can be made to order.  There was also a bottle of champage (and note: champagne, not sparkling wine or prosecco) next to the fruit juice at breakfast.  
Also icluded in the room rate is afternoon tea (or coffee) with a small selection of cakes and parties.  This can betaken in the dining room, on the sofa in front of the fire or out of the shaded terrace.  As well as cakes they had a bowl of nuts, which was a huge win for me as a fan of the savoury snack!   

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Monk-san
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelleBad, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Belle Epoque, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Thank you very much for your review and your time to write on your impressions of you stay. Your information is very important to us as they help us to improve our services. We are pleased to hear, that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and we would be glad to welcome you again in Baden-Baden!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (223)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

96 - 102 of 223 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2013

Treated like and individual and made feel welcome and special. The room was delightful, clean and homely. Location is just minutes walk from the town and the staff were very helpful as tourist guides and hosts. Breakfast was substantial and perhaps the best we had in our recent travels. Afternoon tea on the terrace was a delightful,experience. Silver service all round.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank LSL_Travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelleBad, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Belle Epoque, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Thank you very much for your review. We are pleased to hear, that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and we would be glad to welcome you again in Baden-Baden!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

If I could give this hotel 0/5 I would as it is easily the worst hotel either of us has stayed in over our numerous travels. I cannot believe it is part of Small Luxury Hotels (SLH) as it is far from luxury and not even clean (see pics). I booked this as part of our honeymoon and intended to stay 5 nights but we left after one. The hotel seems fine from the exterior and the communal areas are also ok but once you get in the rooms it is another story. They seem to feel that creating a 'belle epoque' feel means they do not have to renovate at all. I had informed the hotel over a week before arrival that it would be our honeymoon, when we arrived the manager said he had upgraded us for this reason which I thought was a bit odd as as an SLH member you are meant to get an upgrade if available anyway, no other effort was made. The room itself looked really tired, the bed was sagging in the middle, the carpet was really old and there were fraying net curtains in the window. The room was supposed to have a view of the gardens but due to the pitch of the roof you couldn't see anything (I am 6'5'' tall) not what we expected at all. We went down to reception to ask if we could change rooms and the manager said that the only other suite he had would have a wedding going on next door tomorrow night so if we wanted that one we 'better not come running back complaining of noise.' We instead opted for the standard room we had originally booked as it looked the least worn but on closer inspection found it to be quite dirty. There were stains on the bed cover which we mentioned when we were shown the room, as a result one of the maids came and ripped the cover off the bed then left again. We found hairs all over the duvets and pillows (not just one or two as you might get transferred in the wash) and there were also hairs all over the bathroom floor, which incidentally has no bath in a standard room just a shower, is this your idea of luxury?

By this point we felt there was no point mentioning this to the manager as he had already made us feel less than welcome and had it been earlier we would certainly have left that night, on looking at other reviews on tripadvisor we see the management has the opinion the guest is always wrong so decided to complain through our booking website who kindly negotiated our early departure. We were just about to bed down for the night when we started to smell cigarette smoke filling our room through one of the vents, nice.

As for the rest of the hotel it has absolutely no facilities at all and the 'extensive' gardens are more postage stamp sized, the breakfast is adequate but nothing to rave about. You are also expected to pay €18/night for parking. So in summary if you stay here you will be paying 5* luxury prices for a dirty, smelly, tired room in a hotel with no facilities to make up that price and you will be charged extra if you want to park your car, I don't know if the rude manager was an added bonus or comes as standard. What makes this all the more upsetting is this has tainted the memory of our honeymoon when we booked high grade hotels specifically to try and prevent such an event occurring. It also significantly impacted our holiday time as we spent a day travelling back to our original hotel and then had a much longer journey than anticipated for getting to the airport for departure.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank MrGiant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelleBad, Inhaber at Hotel Belle Epoque, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Thank you for your review. We deeply regret that our services were not to your satisfaction. Please accept our apologies for the inconveniences. We will do our best to improve upon the complaints you mentioned.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Gorgeous hotel and we thoroughly enjoyed our 2 night stay in such comfortable and luxurious surroundings being looked after by the excellent staff. The on site parking made life a lot easier after a long drive and the town centre was easily reached on foot. Our room had a lovely view of the garden and terrace at the rear. Breakfast was excellent - down to the paper bags and notice telling guests to make a sandwich for their journey if they wished. Afternoon tea was also included and the cakes were delicious! Baden Baden itself was lovely and well worth another visit.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank terriers2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelleBad, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Belle Epoque, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Thank you very much for your positive review and your recommendation. We are pleased to hear, that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and we would be glad to welcome you again in Baden-Baden very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Me and my wife stayed at this private residence converted into a hotel, in April '13. We were here for just one night and we had driven into Baden Baden from Cologne. We couldnt make the most of the hotel, but whatever little time we spent at this hotel was wonderful. This hotel surely creates an ambience that must have been at the turn of the last century. We had a room right on the top floor, complete with sloping roofs and exposed rafters. We had a jacuzzi in the room(a tribute to Baden Baden's legacy by the designers, no doubt). The hotel has onsite parking which is quite convenient. The hotel is quite close to the main city centre and the Casino. The breakfast at the hotel was quite sumptuous and our stay, though short, was luxurious and comfortable.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MTushar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelleBad, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Belle Epoque, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Thank you very much for your approval as well as your positive review. We are pleased to hear, that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and we would be glad to welcome you again in Baden-Baden!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Beautiful hotel, with amazing service. We've been travelling for a month with generally good experiences but the service here was noticeably the best - real differentiator with hotels. The room (attic) we stayed in was lovely and breakfast delivered spot on time! Great location too - recommend a stay if in Baden-Baden

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelleBad, Inhaber at Hotel Belle Epoque, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2013

Thank you very much for your positive review and your recommendation. We are pleased to hear, that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and we would be glad to welcome you again in Baden-Baden very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

When we arrived, we had learned that our reservation had been upgraded to an apartment named "Ludwig XVI" Well decorated, with original paintings on the wall and antique furniture. We truly believe it was the best room in the hotel - large, with a wonderful view of a garden and with a jacuzzi. Excellent staff provided us with information about the city and where to go.(We especially recommend the museum of some Faberge's work). The hotel itself is located within the city center and you can walk almost everywhere. The breakfasts are fabulously delicious. Definitely number one in Baden - Baden.

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aniaandrzej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelleBad, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Belle Epoque, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Thank you very much for your review. We are pleased to hear, that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and we would be glad to welcome you again in Baden-Baden!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baden-Baden hotels
0.3 mi away
Dorint Maison Messmer
Dorint Maison Messmer
#3 of 50 in Baden-Baden
624 reviews
0.1 mi away
Brenners Park-Hotel & Spa
Brenners Park-Hotel & Spa
#1 of 50 in Baden-Baden
650 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Der Kleine Prinz
Hotel Der Kleine Prinz
#14 of 50 in Baden-Baden
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Leonardo Royal Hotel Baden-Baden
0.3 mi away
Atlantic Parkhotel
Atlantic Parkhotel
#17 of 50 in Baden-Baden
175 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel am Sophienpark
Hotel am Sophienpark
#5 of 50 in Baden-Baden
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Belle Epoque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Belle Epoque

Address: Maria-Viktoria-Str. 2C, 76530, Baden-Baden, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Baden-Baden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Baden-Baden
#9 Romantic Hotel in Baden-Baden
Price Range: $236 - $430 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Belle Epoque 4.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Belle Epoque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belle Epoque Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing