We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not at all a luxury hotel”
Review of Hotel Belle Epoque

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Belle Epoque
Ranked #8 of 50 Hotels in Baden-Baden
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“not at all a luxury hotel”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

If I could give this hotel 0/5 I would as it is easily the worst hotel either of us has stayed in over our numerous travels. I cannot believe it is part of Small Luxury Hotels (SLH) as it is far from luxury and not even clean (see pics). I booked this as part of our honeymoon and intended to stay 5 nights but we left after one. The hotel seems fine from the exterior and the communal areas are also ok but once you get in the rooms it is another story. They seem to feel that creating a 'belle epoque' feel means they do not have to renovate at all. I had informed the hotel over a week before arrival that it would be our honeymoon, when we arrived the manager said he had upgraded us for this reason which I thought was a bit odd as as an SLH member you are meant to get an upgrade if available anyway, no other effort was made. The room itself looked really tired, the bed was sagging in the middle, the carpet was really old and there were fraying net curtains in the window. The room was supposed to have a view of the gardens but due to the pitch of the roof you couldn't see anything (I am 6'5'' tall) not what we expected at all. We went down to reception to ask if we could change rooms and the manager said that the only other suite he had would have a wedding going on next door tomorrow night so if we wanted that one we 'better not come running back complaining of noise.' We instead opted for the standard room we had originally booked as it looked the least worn but on closer inspection found it to be quite dirty. There were stains on the bed cover which we mentioned when we were shown the room, as a result one of the maids came and ripped the cover off the bed then left again. We found hairs all over the duvets and pillows (not just one or two as you might get transferred in the wash) and there were also hairs all over the bathroom floor, which incidentally has no bath in a standard room just a shower, is this your idea of luxury?

By this point we felt there was no point mentioning this to the manager as he had already made us feel less than welcome and had it been earlier we would certainly have left that night, on looking at other reviews on tripadvisor we see the management has the opinion the guest is always wrong so decided to complain through our booking website who kindly negotiated our early departure. We were just about to bed down for the night when we started to smell cigarette smoke filling our room through one of the vents, nice.

As for the rest of the hotel it has absolutely no facilities at all and the 'extensive' gardens are more postage stamp sized, the breakfast is adequate but nothing to rave about. You are also expected to pay €18/night for parking. So in summary if you stay here you will be paying 5* luxury prices for a dirty, smelly, tired room in a hotel with no facilities to make up that price and you will be charged extra if you want to park your car, I don't know if the rude manager was an added bonus or comes as standard. What makes this all the more upsetting is this has tainted the memory of our honeymoon when we booked high grade hotels specifically to try and prevent such an event occurring. It also significantly impacted our holiday time as we spent a day travelling back to our original hotel and then had a much longer journey than anticipated for getting to the airport for departure.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MrGiant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelleBad, Inhaber at Hotel Belle Epoque, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you for your review. We deeply regret that our services were not to your satisfaction. Please accept our apologies for the inconveniences. We will do our best to improve upon the complaints you mentioned.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    51
    7
    3
    5
See reviews for
28
111
10
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Gorgeous hotel and we thoroughly enjoyed our 2 night stay in such comfortable and luxurious surroundings being looked after by the excellent staff. The on site parking made life a lot easier after a long drive and the town centre was easily reached on foot. Our room had a lovely view of the garden and terrace at the rear. Breakfast was excellent - down to the paper bags and notice telling guests to make a sandwich for their journey if they wished. Afternoon tea was also included and the cakes were delicious! Baden Baden itself was lovely and well worth another visit.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank terriers2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelleBad, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Belle Epoque, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you very much for your positive review and your recommendation. We are pleased to hear, that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and we would be glad to welcome you again in Baden-Baden very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Me and my wife stayed at this private residence converted into a hotel, in April '13. We were here for just one night and we had driven into Baden Baden from Cologne. We couldnt make the most of the hotel, but whatever little time we spent at this hotel was wonderful. This hotel surely creates an ambience that must have been at the turn of the last century. We had a room right on the top floor, complete with sloping roofs and exposed rafters. We had a jacuzzi in the room(a tribute to Baden Baden's legacy by the designers, no doubt). The hotel has onsite parking which is quite convenient. The hotel is quite close to the main city centre and the Casino. The breakfast at the hotel was quite sumptuous and our stay, though short, was luxurious and comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MTushar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelleBad, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Belle Epoque, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you very much for your approval as well as your positive review. We are pleased to hear, that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and we would be glad to welcome you again in Baden-Baden!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
119 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Beautiful hotel, with amazing service. We've been travelling for a month with generally good experiences but the service here was noticeably the best - real differentiator with hotels. The room (attic) we stayed in was lovely and breakfast delivered spot on time! Great location too - recommend a stay if in Baden-Baden

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelleBad, Inhaber at Hotel Belle Epoque, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Thank you very much for your positive review and your recommendation. We are pleased to hear, that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and we would be glad to welcome you again in Baden-Baden very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

When we arrived, we had learned that our reservation had been upgraded to an apartment named "Ludwig XVI" Well decorated, with original paintings on the wall and antique furniture. We truly believe it was the best room in the hotel - large, with a wonderful view of a garden and with a jacuzzi. Excellent staff provided us with information about the city and where to go.(We especially recommend the museum of some Faberge's work). The hotel itself is located within the city center and you can walk almost everywhere. The breakfasts are fabulously delicious. Definitely number one in Baden - Baden.

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aniaandrzej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelleBad, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Belle Epoque, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We are pleased to hear, that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and we would be glad to welcome you again in Baden-Baden!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

A great hotel, possibly a mansion converted to a boutique hotel. Our stay here was wonderful, very helpful staff, in fact very very helpful staff. One drawback for us (that too since we were travelling with lot of bags!!) ther is no elevator, the bags have to be hauled up the staircase to the rooms.
The breakast was a good layout. Would definitely repeat!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rasik P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelleBad, Manager at Hotel Belle Epoque, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We are pleased to hear, that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and we would be glad to welcome you again in Baden-Baden!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

We travelled here from Freiburg (down the Romantic Road) in December 2012, for 2 nights (following the suggestions of the Lonely Planet and stopping off in Triberg for Black Forest Gateaux and driving through Freudenstadt). With a satnav the hotel was easy to find – a lovely house and grounds with beautiful decor (especially at Christmas time with a huge tree in the lounge, next to a cosy fire). They gave us a choice of 2 suites (something we have never been offered before so were most appreciative); we picked the Mozart Suite (the other had a darker wood decor but a large bath in the middle of the room if you’re feeling romantic). The Mozart Suite was spacious and comfy with a Jacuzzi bath. We had wanted to stay at Brenner’s and also looked at the Dorint but were more than happy with our choice (it’s actually situated parallel to Brenner’s which looked absolutely huge – so less intimate and probably without the personal service, and Dorint was in a good location but didn’t look as unique).
The Belle Epoque offered fantastic service. We made the most of the free afternoon tea (served until 5) which offered a selection of teas and snacks – a nice addition. They offered us a good price for theatre tickets on our last night but unfortunately we already had restaurant reservations which we wanted to keep. Breakfast was equally good with your usual selection (they did hot foods by request).
A few little things: the internet was very good (and free). Parking outside was at an additional cost. Smell seemed to travel through the vents and, unfortunately, you could smell cigarettes (a problem we found in a few other German hotels). The distance to the town centre is a 10-15 minute walk and further again to the baths.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cmkline1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelleBad, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Belle Epoque, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you very much for your approval as well as your positive review. We are of course very sorry about the smell of smoke and we will take better care of that! But we are pleased to hear, that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and we would be glad to welcome you again very soon in Baden-Baden!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baden-Baden hotels
0.1 mi away
Brenners Park-Hotel & Spa
Brenners Park-Hotel & Spa
#1 of 50 in Baden-Baden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
0.3 mi away
Leonardo Royal Hotel Baden-Baden
0.3 mi away
Dorint Maison Messmer
Dorint Maison Messmer
#3 of 50 in Baden-Baden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Der Kleine Prinz
Hotel Der Kleine Prinz
#14 of 50 in Baden-Baden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
0.3 mi away
Atlantic Parkhotel
Atlantic Parkhotel
#16 of 50 in Baden-Baden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel am Sophienpark
Hotel am Sophienpark
#7 of 50 in Baden-Baden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Belle Epoque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Belle Epoque

Property: Hotel Belle Epoque
Address: Maria-Viktoria-Str. 2C, 76530, Baden-Baden, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Baden-Baden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Baden-Baden
#9 Romantic Hotel in Baden-Baden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Belle Epoque 4.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Hotel Belle Epoque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belle Epoque Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing