We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just like mamma used to make!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Osteria Stromboli

Osteria Stromboli
Ranked #3 of 227 Restaurants in Baden-Baden
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Dining on a budget, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Opening Time: Monday closed, Tuesday Evening open , Wednesday till Sunday Lunch and Dinner Time open.We are Italian, English and German speaking
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Just like mamma used to make!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014

We can see why this is popular. Friendly staff, great ambience and lovely homemade food prepared by the owners wife. All excellent.The wine list is short and the waiter advised us well without choosing the most expensive option. Good value for money but not cheap, but good never is.Situated in a side street away from the madding crowds this is well worth finding.Highly recommended.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Acker53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

664 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    406
    162
    60
    22
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Tasty Italian food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014

Went here on Saturday night. Was extremely busy due to a large tour group having booked there too.

The staff were clearly overworked and quite stressed but nevertheless the waitress and waiters were still very friendly and did their best to make sure we were looked after - a testament to the quality of customer service.

We had a pizza with spinach and Gorgonzola and an arrabbiata pasta. The pizza was delicious with a thin crispy base and high quality toppings - it's hard to describe how a pizza can be much better than other pizzas but this one was fantastic. The pasta also did not disappoint, cooked perfectly with a rich spicy sauce.

2 mains, a salad, and two drinks only came to 33 euros too - a true bargain for the quality of food

Would recommend as a top restaurant to visit for your stay in Baden Baden!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki, Greece
1 review
“Great authentic Italian food and drinks...great authentic people and owners!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

If you visit Baden-Baden and you look for a cosy beautiful and friendly place to eat...delicious Italian food to taste...various Italian drinks and aperitifs to choose from...great, friendly, helpful and special staff.. and experienced and authentic owners to chat with...THIS is the right place to eat!! I visited the place with my husband for a quick meal...and we turned out to spend the whole night there eating, drinking, chatting and having fun with such special people...the owners Giuseppe and Theodosia, Stefanos (who served us and has become a good friend of us), the Italian waiter from Sardegna (a really experienced waiter and nice person -I don't remember his name-) and Maria! A special place and people to remember!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Renataki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Level Contributor
183 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Not up to expectations set by TA reviews”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014

When we were researching out trip to Baden-Baden, this was the number two rated restaurant in Baden-Baden, which has no shortage of restaurants. The first night we tried to go it was full, so we made a reservation for a following day and our expectations went up yet another notch.

But when we finally sat down to eat, we were let down. The octopus starter we shared was rubbery and not so tasty. The pizza's looked like they had mass produced bases and the sauce didn't have much flavour. I really look for that hand-made touch and nice bubbly but thin crust, with a bit of zing in the sauce, but these were quite dense. The salami on mine seemed like quite a cheap brand. My wife's house special pasta was okay, but again not really hitting our buttons.

Service was great, no complaints there. Price was very reasonable for Baden-Baden. And really the food wasn't bad.. just not as gorgeous as we had been led to believe. A good "value" option.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Douglas A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Excellent food and great gluten free pasta dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2014

We had a marvellous dinner. The owners and waiters could not have been nicer. Two of our party were gluten free and the owner who does the cooking came and offered many delicious options. The food that everyone ordered was delicious. We would all highly recommend this place.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osteria Stromboli also viewed

Baden-Baden, Baden-Wurttemberg
Baden-Baden, Baden-Wurttemberg
 
Baden-Baden, Baden-Wurttemberg
Baden-Baden, Baden-Wurttemberg
 
Baden-Baden, Baden-Wurttemberg
Baden-Baden, Baden-Wurttemberg
 

Been to Osteria Stromboli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing