We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A waste of time and money”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Faberge Museum

Faberge Museum
Ranked #14 of 49 things to do in Baden-Baden
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Sofia, Grad Sofiya, Bulgaria
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A waste of time and money”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

We went to the Faberge museum with an expectation to see the brilliant work of this famous company, knowing that the fabulous eggs are shown in other museums. After buying the tickets 12 EUR for adult we saw 3 room on the second floor showing one egg, that can be seen also on the museum poster and some cigar boxes and medals. On the third floor there are only 3 dim rooms with some small animal statues. The entire tour took us no more than 10 minutes and when we leave the security guy told us that we can go to the garden, which can be seen from outside the museum house as well.
If you want to see the history of Faberge better search Internet and don't waste your money there.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tzokev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    61
    60
    38
    23
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not worth the money”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

12 euro for 10 minutes worth of viewing. Don't waste your time or money unless you have visited every other attraction in town

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Brettski B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF Bay Area
Level Contributor
186 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Not what we expected”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

If you are going here to see Faberge eggs, forget it. The one shown on the museum sign was the only one. It mostly tells the story of Faberge and shows other examples of his work and that of others in the company. Yes, some of it was gorgeous but overall, it was not what we expected. The museum is run by Russians and that part was interesting. They tell you that your ticket is printed on real Russian money stock, the man guarding the stairway upstairs was a little scary and don't get the woman in the museum started talking or you will hear the entire history of Russia and Faberge. Don't think there were any chairs to sit on if you got tired of standing. No photos permitted. Overall, it was something to do with part of a day but not that great.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank janiewall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Unless you are an enthusiast skip this museum”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

In world-class museums I have admired Faberge eggs and thought until now that I was sort a dormant fan of Faberge's work. I guess I'm not. As others have reported, there are only two Faberge eggs and the rest of the work is of middling interest, at best. The worst part of it though is the price. We were told that the cost will be 12 Euros but what they do not mention is that you will only have access to one floor. From others reporting here on this site I now realize that I wasn't missing much. We were probably there for 25 minutes and we walked slow. No pictures, by the way (not that you would want any), they will keep your camera locked away on the first floor. Also don't expect to see Faberge fineries in a magisterial setting because this private collection is housed in an environment that is mundane. This is what I get for not reading the reviews first. Don't get burned like we did.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank pcouture29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
114 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“That's it?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

There may have been torrential rain outside but it was a shiny, sparkly, Imperial day inside the Faberge Museum

Not all the pieces are Faberge however - you'll also see Cartier & Lalique (among others)

I thought the price of admission was steep at €17 per person / €13 for Seniors, especially given the small exhibit but it was worth the price to get out of the rain & see some intricate & whimsical Faberge

The main gallery showcases 1 Imperial Egg and a variety of cigarette / cigar boxes, silver animals, ornate boxes that have been enameled or crusted in diamonds, a couple of exquisite tiaras & some carved & bejeweled cups.

You will also see many medals of honor that were bestowed on various military and letters / pictures from the Imperial period

There were also a few carved animals in jade, agate & other stones - some had diamonds eyes.....but there was another whole separate exhibit entitled the "Zoo" that required separate admission - of course, of which we paid entry

The Faberge "Zoo" room was 1 room w/ a few cases of animals that have been created by the house of Faberge over the years & they ranged from miniature to huge. Lots of elephants & bunnies but we also saw rarities like a Duck-Billed Platypus. If you were looking for your favorite animal, chances are Faberge created it at some point

The gift shop contained extremely pricey souvenirs of Faberge replicas - but I did not look closely enough to see if they were modern Faberge pieces or made elsewhere to honor the memory of Faberge

Had the price been cheaper, I'd have been thrilled by this small exhibit but for what we paid compared to what we got to see, have to say this was just an OK experience & had it not been raining, we might have passed all together

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank wanderlust s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Faberge Museum also viewed

Baden-Baden, Baden-Wurttemberg
Baden-Baden, Baden-Wurttemberg
 
Baden-Baden, Baden-Wurttemberg
Baden-Baden, Baden-Wurttemberg
 

Been to Faberge Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing