We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great fod with great veiws” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Altes Schloss Hohenbaden - CLOSED

Altes Schloss Hohenbaden
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: German, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Main meal dishes cost €10- to €20- Bed & Breakfast Accommodation available single room from €32- double room from €64- 2 Apartments available, sleeps 4 from €44-
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great fod with great veiws”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

After an uphill stroll! to the Altes Schloss what a bonus as well as the amazing views to find a lovely restaurant, very good food and service, highly recommended

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LondonTraceyjeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    27
    3
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shaftesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely find after an uphill stroll.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

The castle is a real find. The views are amazing and the food is excellent. We only had tea and cake but the meals being served around us looked looked lovely.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank haribostu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful views and very good lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

A beautiful selection of cakes and meals are available at this restaurant at the old castle, which is a must-see in this area. If you have time, make sure to do the circle route from the castle - the scenery is simply amazing! The venison stew was delicious - I had the "small portion" - which turned out to be quite enough for lunch. The "sachertorte" was also very good. We did not travel with our kids, we spotted the kiddies menu with a very nice selection of meals for little ones. The staff was very friendly and helpful, although we waited a while for our bill.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tjaart C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsville, Virginia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“What a view!! Climb through this castle with no restrictions!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

Well one thing about Europe is they use Darwin’s way of thinking.. You climb it and fall well that's your fault.. I love that!! We went all over this castle with little to no restriction. Is that rock stair safe? I don't know let's find out... High, High above Baden-Baden, this diamond of a castle is a must see. I love everything about it. My family had tons of memories here. Make sure you wear good hiking shoes. You can even dine up high on a overlooking balcony!! Awesome experience!!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dougiec24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Lovely for lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

We visited this cafe after a long walk to the castle in very cold weather. We both needed something warming for lunch, so I chose a potato and vegetable soup and my husband chose the lamb soup (which came in a little casserole and was a huge portion for one which he of course appreciated!) Both soups were home-made and hearty which we appreciated.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cardvarnish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Altes Schloss Hohenbaden also viewed

Baden-Baden, Baden-Wurttemberg
Baden-Baden, Baden-Wurttemberg
 
Baden-Baden, Baden-Wurttemberg
Baden-Baden, Baden-Wurttemberg
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing