We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Altes Schloss Hohenbaden - CLOSED

Altes Schloss Hohenbaden
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: German, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Main meal dishes cost €10- to €20- Bed & Breakfast Accommodation available single room from €32- double room from €64- 2 Apartments available, sleeps 4 from €44-
orpington kent
Level Contributor
64 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“What a find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

We said here as well as ate here and there's nothing like being in a spooky ruin after all the other visitors have gone, for feeling rather special. Food was absolutely delicious, great creamy tagiatelle, lovely wine, and lots of choice, all eaten in the castle courtyard. This place is entirely without pretension and definitely worth a visit.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank scase92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    27
    3
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
261 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
“A must-see”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

While you can drive up here from the Baden-Baden valley-I suggest hiking from the 201 Merkurwald stop. It's a couple kilometers...but breathtaking and the uphill climb is evenly space and reasonable. Slowly you get a better and better view of valley floor, and then you reach the beautiful ruins of the Alte Schloss. There's a wind harp that can be heard if the winds are strong enough and the visitors quiet enough. There's also a fantastic little cafe at the Schloss. Many items are made with seasonal, local ingredients...including wild pig and deer and local mushrooms (Pfifferlinge) etc. There's plenty of nearby trails and should you desire a map they sell them at the visitor center (next to the casino or Kurhaus) or at the local bookstores-just ask.

Not to be missed on your trip to Baden Baden. Also, it's free!!!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
Helpful?
1 Thank Williwillinui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iowa city, Iowa, USA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem is magical place for family to dine and stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2012

Not only was this some of THE best food and service we had in our 3 weeks of traveling Europe, the overnight stay was truly a memorable experience for our family. When people ask our 13 and 16 yr old kids what was their favorite experience in Europe....they tell people about this very unique and wonderful castle that we stayed in overnight! We hiked around the ruins then ate the evening meal in the courtyard of the castle the waiter made us feel like royalty. The meal was lovely. The hearty breakfast was included in price of the room which was very reasonable. Breakfast was served by candlelight while overlooking the Valley and because the restaurant was closed in the morning, there was only our family and one other person there for breakfast. The fruit, meat, bread and yogurt were all fresh and served with such a beautiful presentation. Tanya, the daughter of the owner, is a wonderful host and makes sure you have everything you need. We stayed in the family suite. We had a queen size canopy bed, the kids had their room with separate twin beds and there was a TV in a separate sitting room. The bathroom had a lovely soaking tub and you could see the beautiful valley from the windows. For a truly unique and wonderful family adventure, book a night or two at this magical place. You'll be so glad you did. It took some effort securing a reservation, we had to use google translate to email them because they don't speak English. Here's the email to contact Tanya,she speaks a little English
info@schloss-hohenbaden.de

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank icgardener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tubingen, Germany
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great place for families and hiking”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2012

This is a fantastic location -- the inn is situated right on the grounds of the castle ruins. Dinner and breakfast are excellent and the rooms are very reasonably priced -- 76 Euro for the first night and 64 Euro for subsequent nights (including breakfast for two). There is great hiking right around the castle, including large rock formations that were crawling with rock-climbers when we were there. The castle ruins are also fun to explore. We wish that we had our kids with us, they would have loved it. This is an undiscovered gem that should not be missed!

One of the other reviews mentioned that the rooms are not fancy, which is certainly true. However they are clean and very spacious. Our room had an amazing view over the valley to the north.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Korea
Level Contributor
75 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“As always, amazing dinner--looking forward to another great breakfast!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2011

This is our third stay here and we have loved each time. Our usual pattern is to enjoy the town, hit the baths and then relax into dinner here at the castle. After a little wine, we crawl off to comfortable beds, sleep sweet dreams and wake in a castle. Breakfast is a great spread, complete with fruit, eggs, and freshly baked bread to go with the usual meat and cheese.

This fall the views were amazing and we had the castle to ourselves. Amazing!

Visit for dinner and stay the night for a unique visit in an amazing location, with proprietors who are friendly and speak English.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kdk1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Altes Schloss Hohenbaden also viewed

Baden-Baden, Baden-Wurttemberg
Baden-Baden, Baden-Wurttemberg
 
Baden-Baden, Baden-Wurttemberg
Baden-Baden, Baden-Wurttemberg
 
Baden-Baden, Baden-Wurttemberg
Baden-Baden, Baden-Wurttemberg
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing