We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best cakes in town!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cafe Koenig

Cafe Koenig
Ranked #1 of 5 Dessert in Baden-Baden
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: German, Cafe, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best cakes in town!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

This café has its charm, a mix of ancient values and traditional coffee places. They have great salads if you want a light lunch followed by their typical cakes! Schwarzwälderkirsch is the best I've ever had. The serviceis friendly but they have lots to do all the time. They heard us speaking french and spoke in french to us afterwards! Great!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Littlemonkeyking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    258
    138
    46
    15
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Balcombe
Level Contributor
178 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Make sure you have plenty if time!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

We waited ages to order, ages for our order to arrive and an unacceptable time for the bill. If it wasn't for that this place would've definitely scored higher. The pastries were out of this world and reasonably priced but you could always take them away.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Tea time elegance”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

I had lunch here with my husband which was very good, difficult communication though as the English menu did not list everything on the main menu, the cakes all looked wonderful could not choose so i went back with an expert my daughter and we had a very lovely afternoon tea

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LondonTraceyjeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
59 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“DELICIOUS”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

We visited this coffee house everyday during our stay in Baden-Baden. We experienced breakfast and tea with cake another day we could not stay away! Really worth a visit to the tea house and try there variety of cakes. As the weather was nice we could stay in the court yard and enjoy the tranquil atmosphere of Baden-Baden. A must visit whilst we are there! I even bought some chocolate truffles to take home. Staff are helpful but if we want to have tea and cake order your cake at the cake counter they will give you a ticket in which the waitress will take from you whilst she is taking your drinks order!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CATRINANNEHUGHES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
111 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“A feast for the senses”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

Cafe Koenig epitomizes all that is wonderful about European dessert cafes. You approach the cafe to a window filled with beautifully colored and decorated desserts. As you enter, you are guided towards the back of the cafe and pass even more beautiful cakes, chocolates and confectionaries. It's a classic cafe and not to be missed. I had the Sahne Kuchen (cream cake) which was amazing. Take the time to find out where this is and visit.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LinaMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Koenig also viewed

Baden-Baden, Baden-Wurttemberg
Baden-Baden, Baden-Wurttemberg
 
Baden-Baden, Baden-Wurttemberg
Baden-Baden, Baden-Wurttemberg
 
Baden-Baden, Baden-Wurttemberg
Baden-Baden, Baden-Wurttemberg
 

Been to Cafe Koenig? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing