We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple nice cozy hotel”
Review of Gasthaus Linde

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Gasthaus Linde
Ranked #10 of 22 Baden-Baden B&B and Inns
Arnhem, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Simple nice cozy hotel”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We select this hotel for a visit to Baden-Baden, mainly based on an acceptable price. We stay in the new part of this small hotel. Nice location, typical German restaurant. Small rooms, flat screen TV, Internet. Simpel shower, but clean and all working well. Parking next to the hotel, small supermarket nearby. Breakfast very nice. We can really recommend this hotel for a visit to Baden-Baden.

Room Tip: Ask for the new building
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PeterWg12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    28
    16
    5
    8
See reviews for
29
29
5
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Very friendly and helpful owners. Look up where it is and what it offers; this is exactly what you will get. This is not a Hotel, but a Gasthaus and priced accordingly. It's outside Baden Baden but the bus is right in front of the Gasthaus and very easy to use. The rooms might not be to everyone's taste but contain everything you might need. WIFI worked in our room but not in our buisiness partner's but the owner had no problem for us to work in the restaurant. Food was good and breakfast was plenty. I would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dalupa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

We cannot fault the friendliness and helpfulness of the owners and the continental style breakfast was well presented and fresh. The only hot dish was scrambled eggs.

However, other than that were disappointed with the menu at the evening meal. We consider ourselves to be well-travelled but had never come across a German menu like it. We ordered what would be classed as Vienna snitzel - it was pork covered in egg, flour and breadcrumbs, fried. Where it didn't fail on quantity, the quality and taste was poor. The French fries were ok.
Perhaps my appetite had been diminished beforehand after witnessing the enormous amount of blue bottles flying over and crawling through the 'buffet salad bar'. The price of the drinks was reasonable. I had the local red wine which was very 'thin'. I spilt a bit on my dress but I had no problem getting the stain out of it just by rubbing in some cold water.

The mother, who waits, on appears to be a very pleasant lady but we were unable to communicate with her. However, her son and grandson spoke extremely well. It appeared that the son was in charge of all the cooking and clearing up...... they definitely worked hard.

I felt I had been somewhat misled by the main photo of the guesthouse and some of the professional photos of the establishment. I imagined that the guesthouse was set back amongst trees, instead it was on a main street which was lined up with houses and guesthouses. Parking was just possible being in the height of the season.

Our bedroom was in the main, old part of the building. Although the room was as clean as it could be it gave off a grubby appearance because of its age. As there was no air conditioning the nylon sheets on the mattress made you feel even hotter. I suppose the rooms in the modern annexe are better. If we ever returned, we would not stay in the main building.

Although the web site said that the reception is open from 12 noon to 10.30pm we discovered that it closed between 3 and 5 pm. Fortunately, we arrived at 5 10 pm.

We only discovered after we arrived that the restaurant was closed on Tuesdays. We arrived on Wednesday but in hindsight we should have ventured into the village for the evening meal.

We only stayed the one night, being en route from Italy and heading for Zeebrugge.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BEEGEE77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honiton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Fab Guesthouse, really friendly owners. Amazing dinners, ideal for the bikers as the owner tends to advertise to the biker market. Great location, rooms clean and tidy.

Room Tip: Get a room in the new block
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Drucey2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed June 29, 2012

We arrived on a Tuesday evening, and the restaurant is closed on Tuesdays. Our keys were on the back porch and we didn't see anyone until early the next morning. The rooms were very clean. The beds were not super comfortable but not so that we couldn't get sleep. The breakfast was very basic and the owner was very nice. Overall, it was a pleasant stay with nothing more than basics.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms in the back so you aren't near the traffic of the busy main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pmamelliott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
291 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2012

The hotel is located in Steinbach, about a 15 minute drive to Baden-Baden. We stayed in room #9 (In the new building in back). It was clean. The beds were uncomfortable and the room/beds were hot. It would have been ok overall but the owners were unfriendly. Parking was free, the wifi worked ok and the breakfast was good. We also ate here one night, the food was pretty good. Overall, I would not stay here again because of the unfriendliness of the owners.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissMandaMay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2012

The room was spacious and clean. However, terrible wifi signal. Almost impossible to create an account, then receive an e-mail to activate, and finally connect to internet. The multiple and complicate procedure was very annoying and basically no way to finish for the poor signal. From Mac laptop, IPAD, IPhone to an Anroid smart phone, no one was able to use internet.

So far it was unpleasant but bearable. Afterwards, we "drove 9 KM" to Barden-Barden. I didn't see any public transportation nearby so be aware of it. Barden-Barden was excellent and the Therme was fantastic. We were very relaxed after the bath.

However, a guy broke into our room at around 5 AM! Only with his underwear!

He was apparently drunk or took drug. He stood in the outer room around 1 min. and not conscious. Then he went even inside the inner room and we started to call out. Anyway, he went to toilet and then tried to lay on our bed. One of us call him loudly to tell him go out. Finally he did go out.

It was very scaring. We were a group of four girls and really felt helpless. The reception was close and we couldn't find anyone.

When we went to have breakfast at around 9, the owner of the guesthouse said "We are a small guesthouse so the door wouldn't lock automatically." He was simply trying not to take any responsibility. However, we were not asking him to indemnify and just suggested him to remind other guests in the future that be aware of the lock. Negative.

Room Tip: Poor wifi. Difficult to reach the city. Irresponsible staffs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank desistfantast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Baden-Baden hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baden-Baden hotels
4.0 mi away
Leonardo Royal Hotel Baden-Baden
0.4 mi away
Hotel Gasthaus Hirsch
Hotel Gasthaus Hirsch
#41 of 50 in Baden-Baden
23 reviews
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Baden-Baden
Holiday Inn Express Baden-Baden
#10 of 50 in Baden-Baden
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Deutscher Kaiser Lichtental
Deutscher Kaiser Lichtental
#32 of 50 in Baden-Baden
44 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Heiligenstein
Hotel Heiligenstein
#8 of 50 in Baden-Baden
216 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hotel Quellenhof
Hotel Quellenhof
#5 of 50 in Baden-Baden
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gasthaus Linde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gasthaus Linde

Property: Gasthaus Linde
Address: Yburgstrasse 79, 76534, Baden-Baden, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Baden-Baden
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Baden-Baden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Gasthaus Linde 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Gasthaus Linde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing