We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A brilliant Flammkuche”
Review of La Casserole

La Casserole
Ranked #8 of 226 Restaurants in Baden-Baden
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
West Malling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
198 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“A brilliant Flammkuche”
Reviewed August 11, 2014

A simple Elsass dish can be just wonderful - all it needs is a great base, and super ingredients on the top and there you have a delicacy. This Restaurant really knows to do it all coming with a good wine and a service with a smile!!!

Highly recommended!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Harald G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    79
    11
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
183 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“delicious cuisine of Alsace”
Reviewed August 7, 2014

Recommended delicious cuisine from Alsace here in Baden Baden! Even if the restaurant is small and outside is in one of the main road of the city the place is ok! The lady is efficient and the menu arouses curiosity about the delights of Alsace! The dessert with the grand manier is to be recommended!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nosik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne
Level Contributor
404 reviews
224 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
“delicious gourmet cuisine – regional and from just across the river”
Reviewed May 31, 2014

We were lucky to reserve the last available table for later on a Saturday night and arrived at 8 to find a packed cozy restaurant.

For the appetizer we went fully “native” and ordered frog legs and snails, which were done to perfection with a rich flavor that could win over even those who would hesitate to order such items. Our main courses were just as delicious: incredibly tender duck with rosemary seasoning and crispy vegetarian Flammkuchen, “pie baked in the flames,” a very thin crusted pizza-like dish from just across the border in French Alsace and thus very appropriately served here in Baden-Baden too.

If only we had saved enough room for dessert… for after our long very leisurely dinner, but while savoring our meal all we could do was to observe the many wannabe guests coming from the Festspielhaus, Germany’s largest concert and opera house, with roses in hand.

Before taking our leave at 11 p.m. the charming owner explained that the frogs weren’t simply caught in the wild but were actually grown on frog farms. And she said she was sorry to have to turn away guests who hadn’t reserved but that both the owners and their chef deserved a rest after a long day of serving.

We left fully satisfied in all ways and would make reservations again for more culinary delights upon a return trip to Baden-Baden. La Caserole is indeed a culinary highlight.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GermanJody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great food, lovely restaurant”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

We didn't book and were lucky to get a table (it was Saturday evening). Really good food (loved the Flammkuchen), Schupfnudeln and dessert. Great selection of wine. Definitely recommended.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank SomerscalesLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schwyz, Switzerland
Level Contributor
69 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant”
Reviewed April 24, 2014

Have been to this restaurant many times and it is always great. Good staff, food and atmosphere.
Always a good idea to book as it can be busy.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Casserole also viewed

Baden-Baden, Baden-Wurttemberg
Baden-Baden, Baden-Wurttemberg
 
Baden-Baden, Baden-Wurttemberg
Baden-Baden, Baden-Wurttemberg
 

Been to La Casserole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing