We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great accommodation little dificult to find”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Altenberg Hotel-Restaurant
Ranked #27 of 50 Hotels in Baden-Baden
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 8, 2012

My family of four stayed one night in this hotel after spending the day in nearby Baden- Baden. We had wanted to stay in Baden-Baden itself, but had trouble finding affordable family accommodation in town. While this hotel was a little out of the way, we had no complaints at all about this Hotel.
The hotel is on a little side road amongst the vineyards. Continue as directed, even if you think you are going the wrong way - your GPS will not fail you.
The Hotel has a lovely warm waooded decor in the lobby and lovely reception person to greet you upon arrival, who will give you great tips and coupons on what to see in the area.
Our room was huge, a great surprise, with a separate beroom for we parents, and a bright and sparkling clean bathroom.
We ate in the restaurant that evening, and even though the restaurant was very quiet - just us and one other couple, the waitress could not have been more friendly or obliging; helping us interpret the german menu and being most attentive and curtious.
Breakfast was served in the morning with traditional German fare. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Adelaidian5052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (84)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 84 reviews

Reviewed November 10, 2012

The hotel itself is clean, comfortable etc. However, if you happen to be there on the staff's day off, it can be disappointing because their restaurant is closed and there isn't much else to do in the little town of Neuweir which we consider to be quite a distance away from Baden. If this isn't an issue for you, then this hotel offers good value for money.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lpansieri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

Stayed for one night in April 2012. Nice hotel with clean rooms. We arrived late and had a note with the room key, Manager came a few minutes later to receive us. People were nice and friendly.
Location is excellent for travelling around the Baden-Baden area. Unfortunately, the restaurant was closed during our stay.Overall good value for money.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaSantos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2012

My partner and I stayed here on day 3 of our European motorbike tour, we found the hotel to be of excellent quality and the proprietors to be excellent hosts. We had encountered a flat tyre prior to getting to the hotel and they made every effort to find a garage to change the tyre for us. We ate here in the evening, the food and service were very good. Very friendly hotel.

Room Tip: Great location for exploring the black forest
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sharon s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2012

We booked this hotel at the last minute on the way to Austria by car for a skiing trip. We found this place after considering Baden-Baden as an interesting place to stop at and booked it for one night on the way to and one night on the way back from Austria, and we were very pleasantly surprised. The family room we were given (room 4) had not only a large bedroom, but a sitting area in a seperate room, very comfortable and with flatscreen TV, free internet access, carpeted floors, small fridge and complimentary sparkling water - a nice touch. Everything had been absolutely cleaned to perfection, and no disturbances at night whatsoever. I call it a room, maybe it would be more appropriate if I called it a suite! There is also a swish, super-clean bathroom with shower, sink and WC and complimentary shampoo and bar of soap. For what you get here, the value is exceptionally good at under 100 euros per night for everyone. The owner Gabriella is so friendly and helpful and we thank her for all she did for us during our two stays there. She dealt with all our requirements including breakfast, bus times into the centre of Baden-Baden and a taxi there too (we took the taxi on the first occasion as we didn't know about the bus service). The price for a family bus ticket into town is 8 euros and the service (number 216) runs every half an hour until 7:30pm, after which you can use the same ticket at a small extra cost for a taxi to take you back to the hotel. If you are staying at this hotel, it's good to have a car as it's not in the centre of town (although the mentioned bus service is excellent) and it's difficult to explore the area without a car.

On the evening of our return journey stay we ate in the hotel restaurant (we also ate there on the first stay but (despite still being good) the experience that night wasn't as good as the second) and I ordered a Schnitzel with chips and salad. Prior to this I had already eaten around 6 or 7 Wienerschnitzels while in Austria and this was better than all of them and is the best I have ever tasted. Then, for pudding, came the real treat - an Apple Strudel with Ice cream which is so utterly delicious that it took my breath away and, like the schnitzel, was better than any strudel I had eaten in our 9 days in Austria. For anyone staying here, I can heartily recommend eating in the restaurant for the ultimate German food experience - it's a peaceful restaurant with no music distractions and a German country restaurant feel. The sleep quality in the hotel is excellent with no noise problems, and a wake up service is also available on request. There is even a shoe shining machine for guests to use! The breakfast here is DIVINE, and I cannot say enough words about it. There is such a big selection of cereals, home-made jams and honey, hot and cold meat, yoghurts, fruit, croissants and cooked options too. It filled me up for a whole day of driving back to the Alps on the way there, and to the north of England on the way back in the day ahead of each stay, and is so tasty and so personal (Gabriella comes and brings you delicious and warming hot chocolate at your table) that it is enough to make you fall in love with this place and make you return again and again, whether for a short stop or longer break. This will certainly be our regular stopover from now on for driving to Austria, or indeed anywhere in Europe that this place is on a direct driving route to!

Baden-Baden is a lovely town with pretty shops selling nice souvenirs (there was one particular shop which I can’t remember the name of that sells unusually-crafted and very tasty chocolate treats), typically German architecture and picturesque parks and is a wonderful and relaxing place to explore. There are lots of attractions in the town that we didn't visit such as the Roman Baths (we only had time to wander around the town) so can't comment on those I'm afraid. The hotel is situated in a pleasant, typically German village (Neuweier) on the outskirts of the town and is pleasant to walk around and explore. There is a winery next door where you can buy (and taste) fine locally-produced wines (Baden-Baden is situated in a wine-growing region) and the lady who showed us everything there was very pleasant.

Gabriella, thank you so much for two wonderful stays at your excellent hotel and we shall be coming back soon! And to anyone thinking of staying in Baden-Baden or the surrounding area (it’s within easy driving distance of Strasbourg and Karlsruhe) this place is the perfect place to stay in the Baden-Baden area whether for a flying visit or longer stay, and can thoroughly and heartily recommend it.

Room Tip: If you're coming as a family, ask for room 4 for reasons mentioned above
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ThamesDanube
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2012

This big house is located 10km away from Central Baden-Baden.
Staff very friendly making all the efforts for you to feel like at home.
Parking for Free.
A bottle of Water available and also for free.
Breakfast rich of varieties specially Fruits, maybe the best feature of this Hotel.
Double Rooms big enough for a couple, very clean and looking well maintained. The only drawback was the pillows very thin and the towels not good.
Bathroom in the room nr. 3 is attached to the family room nr. 4 which means that when you are in the Bathroom in the room 3 they will listen you taking a shower from the room 4. There is as strange "division" of glass in the top of the wall in the bathroom.
For the price in comparisson to other hotels in this expensive city, I would extremelly recommend this Hotel where you can feel they really care about customers despite some small improvement needed.

Room Tip: Room 3 is attached to the family room nr. 4 where you can listen everything, try to avoid room nr. 3...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fveit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2011

It is situated not in Baden itself, but very close to (Neuweier). Regular bus settles the matter of getting there and back entirely. Innkeepers are hospitable and helpful. Rooms are clean and furnished thought-out. Tasty breakfasts with plenty of fruit.
Miss this place and its inexpressible atmosphere!

Room Tip: All rooms are ok.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ninkhen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baden-Baden hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Gasthaus Hirsch
Hotel Gasthaus Hirsch
#43 of 50 in Baden-Baden
26 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hote Loehr
Hote Loehr
#39 of 50 in Baden-Baden
114 reviews
3.9 mi away
Deutscher Kaiser Lichtental
Deutscher Kaiser Lichtental
#28 of 50 in Baden-Baden
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Baden-Baden
Holiday Inn Express Baden-Baden
#11 of 50 in Baden-Baden
575 reviews
3.2 mi away
Sonne
Sonne
#16 of 50 in Baden-Baden
44 reviews
3.9 mi away
Allee Hotel Leidinger
Allee Hotel Leidinger
#32 of 50 in Baden-Baden
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Altenberg Hotel-Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Altenberg Hotel-Restaurant

Address: Schartenbergstrasse 6, 76534, Baden-Baden, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Baden-Baden
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 50 Hotels in Baden-Baden
Price Range: $100 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Altenberg Hotel-Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Altenberg Hotel-Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing