We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay had by the O'Neills”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Hotel Plaisance
Certificate of Excellence
Derry, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great Stay had by the O'Neills”
Reviewed July 20, 2014

We found this hotel by accident on our way to Boutenac in the South of France and what a find. We found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. Free car parking was a bonus. The rooms are very beautiful and newly renovated. We left something behind in the hotel and the staff contacted us and offered to post.The breakfast had something to suit all tastes, all in all a great hotel and highly recommend for the price.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW-Plaisance, Directeur général at Best Western Hotel Plaisance, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Google Translation
C'est avec grand plaisir que nous lisons vos commentaires et sommes ravis que votre étape se soit transformée en une expérience satisfaisante !
Nous nous efforçons de rendre chaque séjour agréable et nous sommes flattés d'y être parvenus avec vous. Merci de votre confiance, au plaisir de vous accueillir une prochaine fois !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    196
    33
    5
    6
See reviews for
88
168
16
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lafayette, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2014

I really hit the jackpot with my room at the Hotel Plaisance. On my tour, there were only two single person rooms (rest were doubles), one of which was mine. But I ended up getting a better room than the doubles! It was extremely spacious for France -- about the size of hotel room one would expect in the States. I had a large queen-size bed. I also got a huge walk-out balcony that ran the entire length of the room and looked over the grassy area fronting the hotel.

Some other things I loved about the Plaisance:
+ An industrial-strength air conditioner in each room -- it was the only time on my trip when I was in my ideal room temperature
+ Great location near a lot of restaurants, bars, and shopping
+ Very, very clean rooms with all modern furniture and fixtures
+ Firm bed with multiple pillow firmness options
+ Spacious desk with lots of power outlets easily-accessible
+ In-room mini fridge
+ Reliable wifi
+ Quiet rooms
+ Nice breakfast spread with meats and charcuterie, cheese, croissant, several crusty breads, yogurt, dried fruit, fresh fruit

Note: I stayed one night, cost was folded into my tour package, and I did not have a car. Our group was basically just in transit, and we were not exploring Villefranche or Lyon at all. These factors likely biased my rating.

Room Tip: Ask for a walk-out balcony room -- looks like there are only two or three of these such rooms per fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stargirlssc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW-Plaisance, Responsable réception at Best Western Hotel Plaisance, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
We would like to thank you for those very nice comment on our hotel.
We hope to see you soon for a new stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limburg, Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2014

Ideal Hotel at about halfway our route to Southern France, just minutes from the "Route Du Soleil ", about 15 km north of Lyon. Nicely situated in center of Villefranche at the town square. Private (also covered) parking.
The hotel has been completely renovated and the interior decorator did a very nice job in contemporary style. Nice Reception and Lounge area. Airy room with good&firm queen size bed . Tasteful bathroom, everything brand new and very clean. Best buffet breakfast we've had in a long time in a very nice breakfast room. Food was delicious and very well taken care off. Very friendly staff. I cannot think of anything negative. Hotel does not offer dinner but there several restaurants just steps away. Hopefully they will keep up this high standard for this price.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank venra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW-Plaisance, Responsable réception at Best Western Hotel Plaisance, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
We thank you for those very nice comments on our hotel. We are very happy that your stay in our hotel was a pleasant experience. We hope to see you again soon in our establishment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2014

Not knowing Lyon very well, I wasn't quite sure where to book when I was looking for a hotel room. I ended up choosing the Best Western Hotel Plaisance in Villefranche-sur-Saone based on reviews and price. We ended up enjoying a nice two night stay there.

Our room had twin beds that were very close together. I actually liked this arrangement, because while the beds were close enough that they felt almost connected, I had my own generous space. I got a really good night's sleep. The room had free wi-fi, a flatscreen TV, a water closet, and a bathroom with a good shower. I especially loved the shampoo/body wash the hotel offered. I'd love to be able to buy some of that myself! It smells really good and is very gentle.

The Best Western Plaisance is in a quiet neighborhood and there are several restaurants nearby, including a cool Irish pub. That was the only establishment on our trip that my husband and I visited more than once. Also nearby is a great Moroccan restaurant. You can't miss it; it's on the way to the train station, which is very close by.

The breakfast was pretty standard but generous and appealing.

Villefranche-sur-Saone is only two train stops from Lyon, but it's a world of difference in terms of peacefulness and quiet. I would definitely stay in the town and the hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank knotheadusc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruges, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Very comfortable room on top floor (5th). Very good breakfast (incl. in room rate). Very friendly receptionist. Short walk to shopping street with nice boutiques and larger stores. Nice old church in the main street. Plenty of secure parking (gate) at back of hotel. All-in-all very pleasant stay!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BelgianScorpio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW-Plaisance, Responsable réception at Best Western Hotel Plaisance, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Google Translation
Nous vous remercions pour cet agréable commentaire et nous sommes ravis que notre hôtel et les services qu'il propose vous aient comblés. Nous serions contents de vous revoir très prochainement dans notre établissement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roedekro, Denmark
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2014 via mobile

Nice and clean rooms. The service at the front desk is also very good. It is only possible to get breakfast in the restaurant, which i consider as a Shame, the facilities taken into condiderstion. I can really recommend this hotel to other guests.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Holger_JR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW-Plaisance, Directeur général at Best Western Hotel Plaisance, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Google Translation
Nous sommes ravis que votre chambre et l'accueil que nous vous avons réservé vous aient plu. Nous sommes désolés que notre petit déjeuner n'ait pas comblé vos attentes. Nous prenons bien en compte vos remarques et essayons de toujours améliorer nos services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aslackby
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

3/4 star central location, car park to rear of hotel.
Does not do evening meal but within 70 mtrs there is a very good Jazz Restaurant, but you need to book, it does get very busy
Hotel is clean, rooms basic but adequate, and spotless.
Breakfast is 15Euros pp or 7 Euros at the café next door.
The high st. is within 50 mtrs with plenty of shops to browse.
Hotel staff very helpful and attentive.
.

Room Tip: Very central easy to find
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Villefranche-sur-Saone
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mercure Villefranche en Beaujolais Ici & La
Hotel Mercure Villefranche en Be...
#2 of 12 in Villefranche-sur-Saone
351 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ibis Lyon Villefranche Sur Saone
Ibis Lyon Villefranche Sur Saone
#3 of 12 in Villefranche-sur-Saone
162 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Budget Lyon Villefranche sur Saone
Ibis Budget Lyon Villefranche su...
#6 of 12 in Villefranche-sur-Saone
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
La Ferme du Poulet
La Ferme du Poulet
#4 of 12 in Villefranche-sur-Saone
97 reviews
4.1 mi away
Les Pierres Dorees
Les Pierres Dorees
#1 of 1 in Amberieux
194 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Newport
Hotel Newport
#7 of 12 in Villefranche-sur-Saone
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel Plaisance? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Plaisance

Property: Best Western Hotel Plaisance
Address: Plaisance 1 144 avenue de la Liberation BP 40100 | Bp 47, 69652, Villefranche-sur-Saone, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Villefranche-sur-Saone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Villefranche-sur-Saone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Hotel Plaisance 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Best Western Hotel Plaisance reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Villefranche-Sur-Saone
Villefranche-Sur-Saône Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing