We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Le Grand Hotel de la Poste
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Vienne
Oberursel, Hessen, Germany
Level Contributor
72 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Good location, friendly staff”
Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

We chose the least expensive room, which was good value for the price. It was small, but clean and quiet. The hotel's location is central, within walking distance of excellent restaurants, historic sites and the fantastic Roman-Gallic Museum just across the river. The staff were very helpful (English speaking) and the breakfast was good quality And plentiful. The potential drawbacks are the steps (there are a few up to Reception, and again up to the elevator) and the lack of a hotel parking lot (you must either park on the street - metered - or in the Garage du Gâre - a ten minute walk from the hotel. We used the latter, and were a bit worried because much of our luggage remained in the vehicle all night. However, the garage is video-surveyed and we had no problems. I would return to the Hotel de la Poste any time... and Vienne is lovely. it is a small city, with terrific boutiques, Patisseries offering goodies and home made ice cream on every corner, and a bustling cultural scene. We ate a fantastic meal at L 'Etable du Boucher, enjoyed a walk up to the old Roman Theatre, and generally enjoyed everything about our stay in Vienne.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank carolamurrayseegert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel P, Gérant at Le Grand Hotel de la Poste, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much, for sharing your comments, with us on Tripadvisor, Following your recent stay in Vienne.
We offer our sincere apologies, for the lack of a private carpark. However as you mentioned, there is a multi story carpark within a 5 minute walk from the hotel.
Yes there are many stairs. Next year we will be installing a second lift in addition to the original one. This will hopefully be a relief for those that find climbing stairs a challenge.
We are delighted all the same, that you enjoyed our hotel, the location, it's services and the town of Vienne. We hope that we will be able to welcome you back , very soon.

Kindest regards, Mark Skellett, Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    82
    50
    27
    19
See reviews for
29
71
22
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dusseldorf, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 22, 2013

I paid 50 Euros which is very cheap! The people at the reception, including the owner were very kind and helpful! Will visit this Hotel next time! This will be next year Easter. The room was clean and the bed confortable!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carlos1carulla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel P, Gérant at Le Grand Hotel de la Poste, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review. We try our very best to see, that our guests have a confortable, and enjoyable stay with us. We are constantly improving our facilities, with more rénovations due in the new year. We look forward to seeing you, the next time your in Vienne. Kind regards, Mark Skellett.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

I stayed one night at this hotel early June 2013. I shared a bedroom with two separate beds with a good friend of mine. To be perfectly fair, everything was reasonable given the low price/night. Now, I had the good idea to be late the next day when checking out. Specifically, I was still in the room at 12:25 while check out was at 12:00pm. A staff member stopped by and very politely asked me in French -with a nice English accent- to leave as soon as possible. It took me another 10 min to eventually check out downstairs.

This is when I met the owner. He had shut down the reception desk and was mad angry. How was I supposed to know he was leaving? I don't know. He asked me if my credit card on file was the correct one to be charged if needed. In a nutshell, he wanted to charge me for an additional night. I had no problem compensating him for the extra time though not for a full additional night. To which he replied he was "the one in charge here" so it was up to him to decide and proceeded with leaving the premises while completely ignoring me.

Again, one is not supposed to check out late as I did and in my hurry, I also forgot to leave a tip in the room. I perfectly understand the owner is entitled to ask for compensation due to a late check out. What is unacceptable -and reflects a total lack of business skills- is the way he treats a customer in such a situation. In the end, I was not charged but I will certainly never go back to this hotel nor will I recommend it. There are too many nice owners who treat people better to waste time with this one.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NumaNumaNuma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel P, Gérant at Le Grand Hotel de la Poste, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Sir,
I apologise for not replying sooner. First of all i'm the English Manager. These things happen when one has a rather late night out and over sleeps the following day.
In general like you stated check out is at a certain time. Some hôtels check out is 11.00 ours is 12.00 midday. It can be quite annoying, to have had only a couple of hours sleep, to be woken up by somebody, that gives you very little time to get ready. You were very honest in saying that
you took sometime in this, and we appreaciate this. Although there are other guests that don't simply understand that hôtels need to clean their rooms fairly quickly for the following guests.
Some hôtels have a late checkout Policy, which are quite often chain hôtels. They often charge
for this. We have no policies regarding this, but sometimes to encourage guests to speed up their late departure, several calls are necessary. Please accept our apologies if my collegue was a little angry.
Thank you once again for your review.
Mark Skellett, Grand Hotel de la Poste , Vienne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Vienne hotels

home
Level Contributor
167 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Pros
Next to the railway station
No traffic during night (double glazing windows)
English mother tongue personnel
Good breakfast (fresh bread, fruit juices by Jean Louis Bissardon, lots of fruit jams)
Fast free wifi internet

Cons
Bath tube for elves (1m x 1m)
Rust on radiator
basic furnitures

My advise: pay only after you visited your room in order to have still a way to escape if you can't afford the gloomy decrepit ambience

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Francesco M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel P, Gérant at Le Grand Hotel de la Poste, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
We welcome, all comments regarding the confort of our guests, in order to improve our services. From the arrival of our guests, to their departure, we make all possible efforts to ensure
a professional service.
We are however a 2 star hotel, and with your extensive travels in luxury resorts, in 3 and 4 star hotels,this must of come as a disappointment to you.
Our rooms have modern, functional and new furnature. Our beds are all double and are very
confortable. Our rooms are very clean.
Comparing our hotel to your previous hotels is difficult. We cannot provide luxury products at
such low prices. Our baths are a standard 2 metres long, and not as you unaccuratly described
as a one square metre, bath tub for Elves !
As for paying, i suggest, visiting a room first. If then your not impressed, your not obliged to take it.
Kind regards, Mark Skellett, Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2012

This was my second stay at Le Grand Poste. It was so much better than 4 years before. The staff were excellent and very accommodating. Rooms were basic but your not paying top money. Breakfast was excellent and far better than many French hotels I have stayed in.

The hotel is centrally located and parking is available in the street outside. The owner / manager recommended a local restaurant to us."Restique" also centrally located. I must say this was probably The Best French meal I have ever eaten.

Value for money. You wont beat this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andytsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
70 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2012

One -night stay at this cheap 2 Star hotel, we actually expected the worst but were a bit surprised to find a spacious, labyrinth hotel located in the center of the town; one part of which must have been renovated recently while the other part was in waiting. The room itself was small, clean and had sufficient room for our luggage. Breakfast was ok but not worth 8 euros. Service was good and the staff spoke perfect English.

Room Tip: An underground parking garage is located at the train station approx. 300m away from the hotel. Rest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaxter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2012

We stayed in Vienne on our way to the South. Our family room was clean and quiet with the window shut, so we slept very well. Slightly tired decor. Staff were friendly and helpful, and there is a good choice of restaurants nearby. It was nice to be able to walk around town and see some Roman buildings even though we arrived rather late in the day; however, traffic on the narrow roads was a bit challenging. Parking is another issue - the hotel does not have its own, so before 7 at night and after 9am you have to pay and are restricted to 2 hours in the centre.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lottemotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vienne
0.4 mi away
Ibis Lyon Sud Vienne Saint Louis
0.5 mi away
La Pyramide
La Pyramide
#1 of 6 in Vienne
5.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
2.5 mi away
Domaine des 7 Fontaines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Hotel La Gabetiere
Hotel La Gabetiere
#1 of 2 in Pont-Eveque
4.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
4.9 mi away
Ibis Styles Lyon Sud Vienne
Ibis Styles Lyon Sud Vienne
#1 of 6 in Chasse-sur-Rhone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
7.1 mi away
Le Beau Rivage
Le Beau Rivage
#1 of 2 in Condrieu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Grand Hotel de la Poste? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Grand Hotel de la Poste

Property: Le Grand Hotel de la Poste
Address: 47 cours Romestang, 38200 Vienne, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Isere > Vienne
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Vienne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Le Grand Hotel de la Poste 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An old coaching inn dating back to 1750. In the very center of town. Near all historical monuments. Not far from the train station. We have family rooms too. All modern amenities. Buffet breakfast. Vienne is a Roman town and famous for its two week jazz festival in July, attracting lots of famous artists! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Le Grand Hotel de la Poste reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing