We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it - one of my favourite French hotels”
Review of Maison Pic

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Maison Pic
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Valence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 25, 2008

We've eaten here twice and stayed here once and I'm surprised by the lacklustre tone of some of the earlier reviews.

The first time we were staying in a grotty hotel up the road (DON'T stay at the Hotel California however tired you are as you come off the motorway) and stumbled in out of the rain looking for somewhere more sympathetic to have dinner. The food was terrific and the following year we booked a night at the hotel on our way through. The staff were delightful and upgraded us to a suite as it was out of season. When we left the receptionist even chased me into the street to say she'd charged us the full amount for the suite and to make sure she refunded the difference - not all hotels would make the effort if an inattentive guest overpaid.

Our room was comfortable, clean and pleasantly furnished and had its own tiny balcony where we ate a stupendous breakfast . The tray was so big the waiter had to come through the door sideways and there was enough food - from memory, pastries, cold cuts, fruit and yoghurt - to feed a small army.

We have eaten in both the main restaurant and the bistro and the meals on both occasions were excellent. I believe that since we last went Anne-Sophie Pic has achieved her third Michelin star and it is well-deserved. I fully intend to book it again this year and hope it's as good as ever.

  • Stayed: June 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank LMDSuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (297)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 297 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2007

We stayed here on our way the the Riviera by car. In retrospect I should have stayed in Lyon.

The hotel is very modern with a lovley courtyard. The room ultra modern..that was not a problem though the bath in the middle of the bedroom was a little bit "emporers new clothes".

The staff are helpful.

The problem is it is situated in a horrid street in a very unimpressive town. Valance has no charm what so ever and you could be in any semi industrial town anywhere in Europe. Remembering what this hoyel costs.

Ther acclaimed restuarnt is fine... thats why most people come but its is NOT SO SPECIAL as to make a detour. You can get just as good food in Lyon or the south without haveing to go to Valence. You will be bored waiting for you evening meal... because there is really nothing else to do.

Breakfast sub standard... full of sweet pastries..no savouries and they want 3 euros extra for scrambled eggs....outragous when you are paying what you have to to stay there.

All in all not a bad place but I really would not bother again..the food was ok ..far from outstanding. And thats was a dissappointment because thats what people make the trip to this run down dreary town for.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank SimonLancaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2007

The hotel is very modern with interesting public rooms, original décor and sophisticated ambience. Our room was surprisingly flowery and feminine and didn't really seem to fit in with the rest of the hotel. However it was very large and comfortable. Complimentary mini bar was a nice touch. The terrace was not very clean. there were some problems with the lighting but overall nice enough. The restaurant on the other hand was excellent both in the food and ambience. The staff were very good and it was nice for Mme Pic to come round and introduce herself to everyone. The 3 michelin stars are deserved.
The location of the hotel is not that nice on the outskirts of town on a main street.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank carrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2006

As an event manager i stay in a huge amount of nice hotels and this is one of the best ever! Superb, friendly, helpful staff. Magnificent decoration, delicious food, huge bedrooms and amazingly relaxing!

  • Stayed: June 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank MepKan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: junior suite extra avec des enfants
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aio51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank clairetteperpignan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Marieanne973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Valence hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#2 of 20 in Valence
377 reviews
0.4 mi away
Novotel Valence Sud
Novotel Valence Sud
#6 of 20 in Valence
883 reviews
1.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Clos Syrah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Mercure Valence Sud
Mercure Valence Sud
#9 of 20 in Valence
122 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ace Hotel
Ace Hotel
#1 of 20 in Valence
471 reviews
1.2 mi away
Atrium Hotel
Atrium Hotel
#4 of 20 in Valence
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison Pic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison Pic

Address: 285 avenue Victor Hugo, 26000 Valence, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Drome > Valence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Valence
#1 Family Hotel in Valence
#2 Luxury Hotel in Valence
#4 Business Hotel in Valence
Price Range: $325 - $553 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Maison Pic 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Maison Pic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pic Hotel
Maison Pic Valence
Maison Pic Hotel Valence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing