We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Doesn't 'add up' to a good deal!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Novotel Valence Sud

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Novotel Valence Sud
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Valence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Doesn't 'add up' to a good deal!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Overall, a handy stopover but nothing special. Check the itemised bill - so many errors! We stayed here on the inward and outward legs of our journey, which meant we could more easily reclaim the cost of 5 breakfasts charged to the two of us the first time! Along with some smaller errors it left us feeling very wary.
The 'Superior' rooms were very plain and simple, although quite large.
Breakfast was limited, compared to other hotels we used. Dinner was pleasant enough but service on two busy nights was 'hit and miss' (and the French grill chef who served a well-done steak when asked for medium rare must be unique!)
If you want to see the daily specials, insist on seeing the French menu - otherwise you have an amusing translated English version, but without the insert.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bootsontheground
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

765 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    396
    148
    48
    22
See reviews for
305
246
31
143
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lymington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

Situated out of town and on its own, so either have to use hotel restaurant, which we did and was fine - wine a bit expensive! - or use own car or taxi to go into town. City breakfast adequate for the price. Bath towels are definitely not 3 or 4 star quality!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pceskew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lusaka, Zambia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

This is the Hotel where I first lay my head to sleep on my first Visit to France. The hotel was clean, comfortable and the staff could at least speak some Englsh. It is a good modern Europen Hotel which maximizes on space, the reception area is small just adjacent to the Bar. In an event hat you head to Valence and wish to stay away from the noise of the city this is a perfect choice.

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kafula M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

My wife and me stayed there for a couple of Days during visiting some Friends near there and this Novotel Hotel was a good Choice. normal Standard (as ususally in those Hotels from that Company) - so do not expect something special, but you can expect that all is good and clean. Very friendly Staff at the Reception. They did also speak good english.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FantasyBlueStar20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Valence hotels
1.3 mi away
Atrium Hotel
Atrium Hotel
#3 of 20 in Valence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#2 of 20 in Valence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ace Hotel
Ace Hotel
#1 of 20 in Valence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Mercure Valence Sud
Mercure Valence Sud
#9 of 20 in Valence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ibis Valence Sud
Ibis Valence Sud
#7 of 20 in Valence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
1.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Clos Syrah
BEST WESTERN Clos Syrah
#8 of 20 in Valence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Valence Sud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Valence Sud

Property: Novotel Valence Sud
Address: 217 Avenue de Provence, 26000 Valence, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Drome > Valence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Valence
#3 Luxury Hotel in Valence
#5 Romantic Hotel in Valence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Valence Sud 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel, ideally located near the road-exit Valence sud and 5 minutes to the city centre, receives you for a family week-end or a business trip. You will enjoy modern design of the hotel, its restaurant N Café as well as numerous services proposed: meeting rooms, fitness room, sauna, bar, swimming pool,... Novotel Valence is a 4-star hotel close to the highway exit "Valence Sud", in 5 min of the city center and in 20 min of the TGV station. Stopping place was completed on the road of your holidays, the hotel will seduce you by its green setting, its waterfall and its natural river. Its open restaurant 7J / 7 proposes you a varied and well-balanced cooking. Having at your disposal, 275 m2 of the flexible lounges, Novotel Valence is the solution for the organization of your seminars and your family meetings. The Novotel Valence hotel proposes a new space fitness and sauna, an outside swimming pool and of a private parking under video surveillance and free for its customers. Also, our establishment recently equipped itself with 8 TESLA terminals to reload your vehicles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity and ACCOR so you can book your Novotel Valence Sud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Valence
Valence Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing