We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“N ice hotel but the service needs to improve” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel les Cretes Blanches

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel les Cretes Blanches
Ranked #25 of 39 Hotels in Val d'Isere
Certificate of Excellence
Cheltenham
Level Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“N ice hotel but the service needs to improve”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

My wife and I only stayed here one evening and the stay in itself was fine.

My disappointment stems from the fact that when we arrived at the hotel we could not check in as the reception desk was closed until 17:00 (we arrived at 14:30). We managed to find a small café where we had a bite to eat and ended back at the hotel at 16:00.

We were let into the hotel by a staff remember but then were then left to wait as the owner was on a phone call and would be a minute or two. In reality near half an hour passed before he attended to out needs. Any decent place would have interrupted the cal and sorted our room.

The room itself was fine as was the bathroom. All very clean and warm.

BY the way - Val d'Isere is pretty well closed in mid September - my mistake.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bsomerton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    33
    23
    6
    2
See reviews for
20
30
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manama, Bahrain
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

Less than five minutes walk to the slopes, in the middle of Val D'Isere. Plenty of restaurants on the doorstep and Spar just across the road. What could be wrong with this location? Well, the nightclub next door is a bit of an issue. I can usually sleep through anything but we were woken every night by very loud revellers leaving Dick's Tea Bar. Our room was on the mountain - i.e. nightclub - side. We kept our windows closed but the noise still penetrated even after we resorted to earplugs. Our friends on the town side of the hotel were also disturbed by the noise.

Otherwise, this is an ideal hotel for a skiing break. The continental breakfast was excellent and restocked regularly. The cosy nook with the fire-place was a lovely spot to relax before and after dinner. The staff were all friendly and helpful and the rooms clean and comfortable. There was an issue with a bad drain smell in one of the rooms which was not really resolved but the teenagers in there didn't mind. We wouldn't have been happy had it been our room. We thought that the cons outweighed the pros and we won't stay here when we next visit Val D'Isere.

Room Tip: Avoid mountain view rooms if you're hoping for a good night's sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bowendips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
52 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

We stayed here for four nights over the busy Easter weekend and overall had a good experience. The hotel is in a great location with the town centre and the ski lifts on the doorstep, and despite Dick's Tea Bar being next door we did not hear it, although our room was towards the back of the hotel away from the road. The service was good and they were very accommodating in letting us keep one of the rooms till 2pm on the day of check out so we could ski half the day and still have somewhere to keep our bags and shower etc. The breakfast buffet was good value and had enough selection to keep it interesting for a few days. The only negative was that the wi-fi signal did not make it as far as our room and even in the public areas the service was patchy, but this is a minor point considering we spent all day on the mountain.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 1 which was on the back of the hotel meaning we escaped the potential noise from t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hungry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mtunzini, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

Perfect central lOcation and didn't hear Dicks Tea Bar at all, downstairs is a choice of 2 restaurants and the local supermarket and laundry just across the road, 5minute walk to the main lifts. A neat clean establishment with the perfect English speaking hosts who have been in the area for 30 years and know all the travel tips needed to ensure a special trip.

Room Tip: Ask for the mountain view rooms and further down the corridor means no noise from the nearby nightcl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

A lovely cosy and friendly hotel. Right in the middle of Val d'Isere so really convenient for everything. Very comfortable, large rooms . I'd stay there again. Ski room just inside the hotel so very convenient. Good boot driers.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hamsterski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WINCHESTER
Level Contributor
70 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2012

Great location if you hadn't guessed!

Comfortable hotel at a good end of season price - I can't quite see how the justify the cost mid season though, but this is Val D'isere we're talking about!

Service is second to none, v friendly staff.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank winchesterbred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2012

This hotel does the job, all round. It is warm, clean, comfortable and in a good location. The price is good and that's it really.

If you want a good location for the slopes that is reasonably priced then this is a good choice.

Breakfast was disappointing, not well stock...eg orange juice always running out, little choice and only hot food a boiled egg. We all agreed that we would pay a little extra if the hotel offered scrambled egg and a sausage. We were all hungry within a couple of hours and had to interrupt our Skiing to eat at mid morning....this let the place down.

Rooms v clean, fresh towels every day (which you don't expect when you're skiing) and though small were more comfortable than usual.

Would probably stay here again.

Room Tip: One side of the hotel faces the slopes.....and a night club that kicks out at 3am. The other side fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank linzif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Val d'Isere hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bellier
Hotel Bellier
#17 of 39 in Val d'Isere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ormelune
Hotel Ormelune
#10 of 39 in Val d'Isere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel le Kern
Hotel le Kern
#11 of 39 in Val d'Isere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel L'Aigle des Neiges
Hotel L'Aigle des Neiges
#2 of 39 in Val d'Isere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel la Galise
Hotel la Galise
#12 of 39 in Val d'Isere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Restaurant La Toviere
Hotel Restaurant La Toviere
#8 of 39 in Val d'Isere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel les Cretes Blanches? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel les Cretes Blanches

Property: Hotel les Cretes Blanches
Address: Chef Lieu Les Cretes Blanches | BP 10, 73151 Val d'Isere, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Val d'Isere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 39 Hotels in Val d'Isere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel les Cretes Blanches 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within a stone's throw of the pistes, the Hotel Les Cretes Blanches, was founded in 1965 by the Vaquier family and is a 3 star property situated in the heart of Val d'Isere. This world famous ski resort boasts a vast number of lifts and a huge ski terrain. The Espace Killy is on your doorstep, connecting Val d'Isere and Tignes with 300km of exceptional pistes. The Hotel is situated only 250m from the main lifts and 150m from the bus station. One of the many advantages of its location is the easy pedestrian access to the village which is typical of life in Val d'Isere. The Hotel welcomes you to one of its 30 well-appointed, comfortable rooms facing either towards the legendary piste "Face" of Bellevarde, or towards the village. All rooms have satellite television, an ensuite bath or shower room and a hair dryer. The traditional Savoyarde decor invites you to relax and enjoy your holiday with parents, children or friends. It's a place everyone will want to return to. The living room, set on the first floor, is flooded with natural light during the day, and warmed by a log fire at night. Gather in cozy corners, sinking into the soft sofas after a good day skiing. Hotel services include a varied and plentiful buffet breakfast served in the dining room with large windows from which to enjoy the scenery. Ski passes are available for purchase from reception and wifi is free and unlimited. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel les Cretes Blanches reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Cretes Blanches Hotel
Hotel Les Cretes Blanches France/Savoie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing