We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aspen Lodge

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Val d'Isere
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Aspen Lodge
Ranked #31 of 39 Hotels in Val d'Isere
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

Our group of 4 stayed in the Hawthorne Suite at Aspen Lodge. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and are looking forward to a return trip with a larger group next year.
The apartment is modern, well decorated and extremely comfortable. The location is ideal - in the centre of town and 5 minutes from all main ski lifts.
The food was excellent, with unlimited wine (of good quality) and free beer in the bar downstairs until 20:00.
Best of all were the VIP staff. They are highly professional and all went the extra mile to make our stay in Val d'Isere that bit more special. Any minor issues were sorted out immediately and with great attention to detail. Special thanks must go to Russ (in Hawthorne Suite), Helen (chalet manager) and Pip (Operations Director).
We would thoroughly recommend this company and the Aspen Lodge chalet.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gemma A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    3
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
9
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

Being first time skiers we were looking for a centrally located propetry in Val D'Isere.

The VIP Ski web site looks professional and we had preferred the look of the Bellevarde Chalet but unfortunately it was full and we were recommended to try Aspen lodge, which had a free ski pass offer on that week. Sold!

We cant comment on VIPs transfer arragments from the airport as we arranged our own private transfer from Geneva, which took around 2.5 hours. www.cheminsdivers.com (very good nice mercedes vehicle)

Having not experienced chalet accommodation before we really had no preconceived expectations but assumed VIP meant just that. However, on arrival to Aspen lodge (Hawthorn Suite) we were disappointed. The chalet is dated and tired, also the room was incredibly small for the two of us and had two single beds pushed together, no in room TV. The room itself was clean and the bathroom was spotless with Molton Brown products (nice) and clean towels.

Chalet hosts Jen & Gonz were fantastic and a credit to VIP ski. They were drafted in from other chalets as the regular host had had an accident. Jen & Gonz very welcoming and could not do enough for us. This certainly made up for the initial disappointment with the accommodation.

The VIP Ski package included breakfast, afternoon tea and an evening meal. Breakfast was always great and afternoon tea was simple with bread, fruit and a cake of the day, Jen could bake a good cake! However, evening meals were a bit hit miss and we would have preferred a little more choice. VIP ski should look at providing chalets with proper chefs to ensure a good standard of dining for the evening meal. The chalet hosts did try very hard and we did appreciate it but We would expect a little more considering how much we paid for the package.

The main communial area of Aspen Lodge on the ground floor offered guests use of some desk top PC's, a wide screen TV, pool table & a small library of books. Also, each evening for a few hours VIP offer complimentary draught lager which was very nice but the communal area was very busy on the night we ventured down and we only stayed for one drink.

The chalet it's self did offer free wine (should have been better quality) on an evening and operated an honesty bar for soft drinks , some snacks and beers at €1 per item.

Niggles:-

1) The heating in our room could not be turned down. It was quite unbearable.

2) Noise from the front street which was from people leaving bars & clubs.

3) Noise from the suite above which was very annoying and after one bad night we had to contact the chalet manager Helen to complain. Full credit to Helen as she dealt with the problem head on and came the following morning to apologise. By the way it was not kids above but a party of adults!

4) WiFi - or lack of it... This was my biggest grip as I need it for work and I was assured that the chalet had full WiFi but infant I could only pick up a weak signal in the living room which was really no good for anything and I struggled to download emails. This needs attended to.

On the whole the location of Aspen Lodge is OK and its very easy to get to the slopes, literally a few minutes to walk. We enjoyed Val D'Isere so much that we are going back again in 5 weeks but im afraid we won't be going back to Aspen Lodge.

With competition obviously so high in Val D'Isere we really think VIP should up its game and look closly at the Aspen Lodge offering as it could be so much better without having to do a whole lot more.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank T0llie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

Firstly I really enjoyed my time in Val but I have been to better ski loations....

VIP ski were ace from the pickup service to catering for our every need. I was not impressed with the Aspen Lodge, from the pics it looks fantastic but it really could be doing with a good clean and probably a make over again! The place felt a bit dirty, I dont think the floors were even cleaned the week we were there, terrible smell in the kitchen area and the place filled with smoke whilst the host was cooking each evening - bit of proper ventulation would not go a miss. Not being able to control the temp as well was a bad thing, the place was always far to warm and when a window was opened it was then to cold after a few mins. Only 1 change of towels on a Thursday (pretty poor), we were going home on the Saturday evening, you would think with it being VIP it would at least be every 2nd day. Food was ok but a bit heavy some nights, chalet host was great but could have been more up on the area and general activities going on outwith skiing.

Helen the chalet host was excellent and really could not do enough to keep everything going. Always keen to help with any situation and often suggesting things without being asked - Helen really is 5*!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Murdodon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

Mixed feelings about our week with VIP in Val d'Isere. These comments don't separate the Lodge from VIP as they run the place.

The good things include,

Chocs, Fruit and Bottled Water on the coach to and from the resort.

Cleanliness of the entire building.

The well equipped apartments (chalets)

The common area on the ground floor of the lodge and happy hour free beer.

The heated Boot Lockers.

Central Location.

Chalet Host

Cheeseboard after dinner

The Bad includes,

Lack of information from the Reps on the coach. Not the end of the world as I've been to Val d'Isere a dozen plus times.

Walk to the lifts, but the bus stops pretty much outside so easily negated.

Standard of cooking in our chalet (Larch).

Would I stay again?

Probably not as for the same money or less you can stay in one of YSE's Chalets. No cheeseboard but excellent cooking.

Room Tip: Hotel is very very hot so expect to need to open windows at night, avoid a room facing the main stre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dessire_luvals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
horndean, hampshire uk
Level Contributor
251 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2012

Aspen Lodge is centrally located within Val d'isere, close to ski lifts (free ski bus stops 50m from the accommodation) and the many bars & restaurants. The chalet is extremely well sound-proofed from the other chalet apartments in the building BUT if you sleep with the window open, you will often hear people leaving bars in the early hours in a noisy fashion! This should not put you off because the accommodation is very well kept & clean. Our chalet host Charlotte (aka Charlie) worked very hard to make our stay an enjoyable experience. Every day a fresh cake was baked for afternoon tea, a well cooked dinner presented every night and vast quantities of cheese consumed every evening. We were a group of six males that sometimes were a bit worse for wear after a long day on the slopes and rather too much apres ski, enough said!! Charlie took it all in her stride!!
Downstairs in the lobby area there is complimentary draught lager on tap, well most of the time, on our first evening it had run dry but soon remedied! Sky TV and a selection of DVDs.
The ski area above Val d'isere is varied with plenty of runs. Make sure you visit the 'Folly' bar on the mountain, the best apres bar i have visited in 25 years of skiing!!

Room Tip: If you enjoy apres ski, for 25 years i have believed it was a myth - not anymore, visit the 'Fol...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elaineandgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
72 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2012

We travelled as a couple and shared one of the apartments. Overall we thought the place good but not very good. We liked the idea of the communal bar and lounge with free beer (until 8 pm and if the pump worked properly) which allows you socialise with guests from apartment/chalets other than your own. We stayed in redwood and found the big problem was it being uncomfortably hot particularly in the middle of the night when even with the radiators off and the balcony door open it was like a sauna. If you open the doors you do need earplugs as you are right on the main street which understandably has some shouting and boisterousness until about 4am, with the doors shut the sound proofing works,but you have to balance that out against not having some cool air.The staff acknowledge there is a problem but I think not sure why it happens.
The staff were all very pleasant, and were typical ski chalet seasonairs, the breakfast and afternoon teas are very good but evening meals showed that we were not being cooked for by trained chefs.I must say with the small size of kitchen and the food they were having to use they did a reasonable job
Location is good with the bus stops very close or I would say 10 mins stroll carrying skis to the lifts. The travel and transfer arrangements to the resort we thought were excellent.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelmaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woburn Sands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2011

Great location right in the middle of the high street and the sound proofing actually works! We were unable to hear any noise from the street which was something that my light sleeping other half was worrying about. The advice given by both our agent Skiline.co.uk and the operator VIP ski was spot on. They really looked after us well and the only downside was that its high street location meant a bit of a trek to the lifts. I liked the concept which made a change from the normal chalet set up, it makes sense and felt a lot more private than a hotel would have. Another review is right in terms of the kitchens being quite on top of the dining area and lounge but I guess this is probably something which had to be done when they were built. It didn't really bother us but I can see how some people might find this aspect annoying. Great overall experience we will certainly travel with them again.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank emlou46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Val d'Isere hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Altitude
Hotel Altitude
#3 of 39 in Val d'Isere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel la Savoyarde
Hotel la Savoyarde
#13 of 39 in Val d'Isere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel le Kern
Hotel le Kern
#11 of 39 in Val d'Isere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel L'Aigle des Neiges
Hotel L'Aigle des Neiges
#2 of 39 in Val d'Isere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Samovar Hotel & Chalets
Le Samovar Hotel & Chalets
#22 of 39 in Val d'Isere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Restaurant La Toviere
Hotel Restaurant La Toviere
#8 of 39 in Val d'Isere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aspen Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aspen Lodge

Property: Aspen Lodge
Address: Plagne Villages | La Plagne, 73210 Val d'Isere, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Val d'Isere
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 39 Hotels in Val d'Isere
Number of rooms: 109
Also Known As:
Aspen Hotel
Aspen Lodge France/Savoie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing