We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy, modern, friendly, comfortable”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Val d'Isere
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chalet Hotel du Montet
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cosy, modern, friendly, comfortable”
Reviewed January 31, 2014

Great staff very good food. Fire and seating area very nice. Spa a must after a long days skiing. It's a 10 min bus ride from central Val but 5 min walk to a ski lift. Very quiet rooms for good nights sleep. Book your own restaurant for the Wednesday (chalet staff day off) as bookings can get confused and missed.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danl1100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    5
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
14
15
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014 via mobile

This is more a chalet than hotel. Position is a 10 min walk to the Telecabin at Le Fornet. It's not ski-able. Le Fornet is a good spot & there's a regular free bus into Val D'isere.

Bedroom was nice size. Bit more storage space would have been nice & a few more coat hangers. Big shower room (no bath).

Good boot room with boot warmer, ski/board rack & small individual cupboard (not lockable).

Communal jacuzzi, steam & sauna. Bring a robe if you're shy getting from your room to the basement spa area.

Food (chalet board) was very nice indeed (thank you Daniel & Jamie). Choice of dishes & they will accommodate likes & dislikes. Wine very drinkable! Please note you will share your table with different guests each night. We were lucky with our fellow guests - you might not be!

Staff are lovely. Super-polite & hard working. Very well done, lads.

Big downside is lack of a communal sitting room. The seating is a small area to one side of the dining area. There's no 'bar' as such. The seats are mainly furry footstools. Not much good if you want to kick back & read a good book!

As a result I'd say its an excellent place if you want a base for hitting the slopes all day but not if you want to spend time relaxing indoors.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Chief_Brief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

Excellent chalet, good food and service. Excellent modern rooms with nice views but we did stay on the top floor. My only gripe would be that there are no comfy sofas in the communal areas. The spa area is well equipped with sauna , steam room and hot tub. Positioned in the le fornet area of val disere. Very picturesque and quiet but still easily accessible to the centre of val either by the gondola and adjoining lifts or by the excellent free bus service which only takes a few minutes and wasn't busy when we were there. Tignes is probably the better ski area but is well connected to val so make sure you buy the full Killy pass. If you're a boarder don't bother with the blue runs back to the first gondola in le fornet because they are all a bit flat, take the red to le laisinant off the bottom of dachta lift in the solaise area, it's much better plus you get to use the liessieres express which is an experience in itself. The bottom of santons back to val is also flat and a bit of a maul. Overall though, the pistes are great, well connected and groomed and great for mixed ability groups meaning your group can mostly stick together. Val disere is one of the best and we will definitely be coming back as soon as we can but make sure if you haven't booked a catered chalet then you will need plenty of cash because it's not cheap

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Theevilsponge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, UK
Level Contributor
102 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013

We stayed at this chalet for Christmas week with friends, so our party consisted of 4 adults and 4 teenagers, in 4 rooms.

The chalet is great and has been decorated and restored to an exceptionally high standard with no expense spared. The rooms are a good size with nice bathrooms, ours (No 5) had a larger walk in shower than ours kids room however we also had the balcony supplement, although the balcony is not directly accessed from the room, but the hall, so could be used by anyone. Comfy beds, alarm clocks, flat screen TV (limited UK channels), reasonable amount of storage. So warm we often had to sleep with the window open.

The hotel has a lift which serves all floors, however it's the only way to access the basement where the boot room and spa are. The boot room is a good size for the property and has ski racks, boot warmers and a small cupboard per room. Access in and out of the property in ski gear is via a separate entrance.

The spa is lovely and again build to exacting standards, the steam room being especially good. Only thing we felt wasn't great was the hot tub as it wasn't particularly deep and the temperature could have been a few degrees higher. There are spa towels available for use in the spa.

Before arrival we were a little unsure of the difference between a Chalet and a Chalet hotel. In all honesty not much really, if nothing it's slightly more formal, but you're still free to turn up for dinner in your slippers if you so wish. There is a comprehensive bar, and drinks can be charged to your room. Loads of complementary wine with dinner and pre dinner aperitifs. The lounge area could benefit from more comfortable seats to lounge around in as the ones there have very narrow seats. Nice woods burner and a lovely Christmas tree for our week.

Each morning you are given the choice of starter, main and dessert for that evening. The food was generally good during the week but not exceptional. And those with big appetites may find the portions on the small side. Good choice of wines and it flowed freely.

Access to the buses is easy with a short 3 min walk to the nearest bus stop (The bus service is excellent and we never had to wait more than about 3 mins at any stage during the week). The walk to the Le Fornet gondola is about 4 mins and it's possible to ski back to within 100m of the hotel via a relatively easy blue run (Mangard). But suggest to ski direct to the door you'd need to be an extreme off piste, forest skier!

All the staff were very friendly (Manager Stephen, and the boys) and were ready to assist whenever needed, I believe they were new to this chalet so will be getting up to speed and improving as the season goes on.

Overall an excellent chalet in a superb resort.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Beergander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, Cumbria,
Level Contributor
288 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

We have just returned from Val D'Isere, we travelled as a family of 5, and with another family, so 4 adults and 6 teenagers.
The Hotel Du Montet is a lovely property, stylish and authentic, it has a great 'wellness centre' to ease aching muscles after a day's skiing, it is located in Le Fornet which is an exclusive, quiet hamlet only 15 mins away by the 'Train Rouge bus' from the hustle and bustle of Val.
The hotel was operated by Inghams.
To be brutally honest our expectations weren't high, we had travelled with their sister company - Esprit before! However to say that they were exceeded would be a massive understatement! The property and location are great, however it was the 'team' that looked after us in 2013 who were excellent, Francesca the manager ran a 'tight ship', ably assisted by Max and the rest of the lads (both front and back of house) - we had a great time. well done!
If you are travelling here in 2014, the 'raw materials' are all in place - just hope that you get staff like we had to look after you!

Room Tip: We had the top floor, this was great, we would be inclined to avoid floor 1, these rooms are adjacen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank notshort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

My boyfriend and I spent a week here recently and had an amazing time.The staff were so friendly and helpful and were always prepared to go above and beyond what we expected. The food was delicious (particularly yummy duck and lamb) and the house wines were nice. Good atmosphere at the chalet and the location is perfect. Bedroom was cosy and very alpine with a beautiful view of the mountains. Would recommend this highly and think of returning next year. The spa area looked gorgeous too.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mol89lol89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

My sister and I stayed at the Chalet Hotel du Montet and we had a fantastic time. Francesca and her team worked incredibly hard to make us feel welcome and ensure that we thoroughly enjoyed our holiday. We are extremely fussy about where we stay and this place far exceeded our expectations. The service, atmosphere, food, rooms, location, spa were all excellent. The free local bus service to the ski lifts was also quick and reliable. Thank you very much - we wish we could have stayed longer!

Room Tip: We stayed in front room 5 (second floor) which had a beautiful view towards Val d'Isere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gilesie_31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Val d'Isere hotels
1.5 mi away
Hotel L'Aigle des Neiges
Hotel L'Aigle des Neiges
#1 of 39 in Val d'Isere
424 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel L'Avancher
Hotel L'Avancher
#9 of 39 in Val d'Isere
176 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Fornet
Hotel du Fornet
#11 of 61 in Val d'Isere
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hotel Restaurant La Toviere
Hotel Restaurant La Toviere
#7 of 39 in Val d'Isere
143 reviews
1.7 mi away
Club Med Val d'Isere
Club Med Val d'Isere
#3 of 39 in Val d'Isere
881 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel les Cretes Blanches
Hotel les Cretes Blanches
#24 of 39 in Val d'Isere
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Hotel du Montet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Hotel du Montet

Property: Chalet Hotel du Montet
Address: Le Fornet, Val d'Isere, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Val d'Isere
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 61 Specialty Lodging in Val d'Isere
Also Known As:
Chalet Hotel Du Montet France/Savoie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing