We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location close to the slopes”
Review of Hotel le Kern

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel le Kern
Ranked #19 of 39 Hotels in Val d'Isere
Reviewed June 16, 2010

We were hesitant about staying here having seen some of the previous reviews. Pascale and Isabel are great hosts and nothing is too much trouble. The breakfast is simple but plentiful and of very good quality. No evening meals may be a disadvantage to some but we took it as an opportunity to eat out in the day or sample the restaurants in the evening depending on the weather. We did not find the hotel noisy at all. I can only presume that there must have been some inconsiderate guests staying before. The rooms are simple and compact but very clean. There is a comfortable lounge area with Wifi. The best thing though is the location. The bus stop is 25metres away or the path leads up to the ice skating rink and the slopes. We have stayed ina variety of accommodation in Val d'Isere in the past but will be going back to the Kern again to see Pascale and Isabel without a doubt next year.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PEPBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (117)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 117 reviews

Reviewed May 11, 2010

Went on the web looking for somewhere for the last week of the season. What a find!! As per other reviews, don't tell too many people about le Kern.(so why am I writing this review??). Why bother with 3/4/5 star hotels when you have this super litte 2 star. I can only repeat other comments - great location, good breakfast, comfy rooms, friendly & helpful staff and for 50 euros pp per night b&b, what a steal. It costs more over here for the run of the mill travel lodges. Thinke we might stay next season.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fidlers3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2010

Have just stayed at Le Kern with my wife and Childern (boys aged 12 and 10) its the fifth time I have visited Val (stayed at various 3/4 star Hotels and Mark Warner when the boys were younger) and the first time at Le Kern. The location is unbeatable with ski hire, restaurants cafes and bars all within a one minute walk and the slopes no more than a couple of minutes away. The Hotel is immaculately clean and the boys enjoyed the free wifi connection and evenings in the very pretty 'Alpine' lounge playing scrabble. The Staff are courteous and charming and greeted all our various requests with a smile and a very cheery approach. The room, top floor family suite was, was ideal for a family and very quiet. Overall we have enjoyed a delightful family break and can recommend this lovely little Hotel to anyone visiting Val D'Isere.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RafflesOverPeover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2010

I wish people would stop saying how good Hotel le Kern is. There are only 20 rooms and if word gets out about this gem of a hotel they will never be available. It's clean, comfortable and welcoming. The location is excellent and the value is really good particularly in comparison to the larger neighbouring hotels. The staff are really friendly and helpful and the hotel feels like a real family run business. Don't expect 5 star luxury but you can expect to be recognised, greeted by your name and made to feel at home.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SkifanaticIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2010

4 friends and me spent a week in Le Kern and was very satisfied!
The stay turned out to exceed our expectations. Friendly staff (English speaking), excellent location, good breakfast and clean and nice rooms.
Last but not least, an affordable choice compared to the other posh hotels nearby.

(ps! For sure not noisy as another review said...)

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jsp1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2010

Hotel Kern was excellent value. The Barsbys and the Lewis' decided on a last minute trip to Val d'Isere. We were not disappointed with Hotel Kern. Good size bedrooms, spotlessly clean, good breakfast and great central location. So central that you could (if the Gendarme( is looking the other way!!) actually ski back to the Hotel. The staff spoke excellent English and were very friendly. I guarantee that you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeterLewisSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2009

Reading the reviews before our trip, I was anticipating small rooms that weren't necessary that quiet. We had the smallest and the noisiest room in the whole hotel, room 6, which was situated on the first floor and right by the stairs and the cleaning cupboard so we'd hear every guest walk past our room. As the hotel has wooden floors, the noise may be somewhat louder than what it would be otherwise. It is also very easy to hear the neighbours through the walls which can be unpleasant when listening to strangers use the toilet in the middle of the night. Eventually I was resqued by some earplugs - these are a must unless you're a heavy sleeper and not easily disturbed.

The room was a bit on the small side but perfectly fine otherwise. It was cleaned every day to a high standard. The hotel staff are very friendly and helpful and would help with whatever it was we needed. The common areas of the hotel were very cosy and alpine. Breakfast was fine and plentiful and the owners didn't seem to mind us taking some fruit and a bit of baguette with us on our way out.

The location is great, just a very short walk from the slopes.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank OpticFox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Val d'Isere hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel les Cretes Blanches
Hotel les Cretes Blanches
#26 of 39 in Val d'Isere
113 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel L'Aigle des Neiges
Hotel L'Aigle des Neiges
#2 of 39 in Val d'Isere
463 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Restaurant La Toviere
Hotel Restaurant La Toviere
#7 of 39 in Val d'Isere
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel la Savoyarde
Hotel la Savoyarde
#15 of 39 in Val d'Isere
137 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Avancher
Hotel Avancher
#3 of 39 in Val d'Isere
204 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Altitude
Hotel Altitude
#5 of 39 in Val d'Isere
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel le Kern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel le Kern

Address: Place Frederic Petri, 73150 Val d'Isere, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Val d'Isere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Val d'Isere
Price Range: $199 - $373 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel le Kern 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small and charming hotel 2 stars: best location in the center of Val d'Isere , 2 minutes from the slopes, breakfast buffet include in the price of the room, cozy sitting room and bar after ski. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel le Kern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le Kern France/Savoie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing