We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible problem with sewage”
Review of Hotel La Gelinotte

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Val d'Isere
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel La Gelinotte
Ranked #15 of 39 Hotels in Val d'Isere
Reviewed March 9, 2013

I have just spent the week with a large group in this challett and would summarise with the following points:
- fab staff
- good food
- ok location
- terrible smell in room 16,17 and 18. The Challet has an ongoing problem with the mainline sewage which has a major effect on some rooms. We had to sleep with balcony door open and door into the corridor. It was so bad one night they moved us to a local B&B. The smell is so bad 2 of us felt sick for 2 days and were unable to go up the slopes.

The challet staff tried everything to help us but were limited in what they could do. The area manger was unbelievably rude and was obviously incompetent and clueless on how to manage such issues.

Based on the above I could not reccomed this challet and warn all those going this season to make sure you avoid these rooms!!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victhom913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlpineElementsTeam, Manager at Hotel La Gelinotte, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2013

We are sorry to hear that you have had a disappointing experience with Alpine Elements. I would appreciate the opportunity of discussing the problems that you had during your stay.
Please contact me at your earliest convenience so that we can listen to your comments and possibly find a way to restore your confidence in Alpine Elements.

My contact details are:
Clare Smith
Head of UK Operations
csmith@alpineelements.co.uk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (197)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

139 - 145 of 197 reviews

Reviewed March 3, 2013

Booked last minute most impressed by Alpine Elements, good overall organisation from flights, transfers, hotel, resort rep and return. Very helpful staff in Hotel and good breakfast and evening meal except Wednesday when they had their only day off. The hotel also has a sauna, the bar is not expensive (beer 4 Euros pint, wine (Rhone) from 10 Euros) and lastly the resort has an excellent free bus service with a stop about 5 mins away in case you miss the free mini bus service that the Hotel runs.

Room Tip: I stayed in Rm 9. Very adequate especially for skiing accommodation. Rooms with balcony (overlooking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank uttingj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlpineElementsTeam, Manager at Hotel La Gelinotte, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2013

Thank you for your kind review and comments. I am pleased to know that you have enjoyed your recent experience with us. Your feedback is highly appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Just returned from a great week at the La Gelinotte celebrating my mom's 50th with 26 other friends, The rooms were OK a bit on the small side but it was cleaned everyday and plenty of hot water and good views of the surrounding area, The food was 50/50 sometimes good sometimes bad, The staff at Hotel La Gelinotte are first class Alpine Element should be proud of the staff that work there, They all worked hard as a team to make sure that everybody had the best time possible, All the staff maintained a smile and always ready with good knowledge of the slopes and the surrounding areas when ever a question was asked! The barman George was a star the best barman on the resort always smiling ready to serve a drink and answer any question you asked, I would almost certainly go back to the Hotel La Gelinotte

Room Tip: Room 2 was spacious compared to the other rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KirkWilding14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Bit of a strange one this hotel. It's very fragmented with a number of small areas with no real large comfy area as you would normally expect. Our room was poor, is was extremely small with no view, unpacking was impossible as there was no storage area in the room. The food was good but not excellent and some nights left you disappointed. A huge positive were the staff, the chalet girls were always helpful and friendly and the minibus service to the slopes each morning was superb.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S6kev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Having just returned from la Gelinotte and previously reading reviews before departure I thought i'd share my experience of staying here with Alpine Elements.

Firstly this place has been very underrated, both on here and by Alpine Elements in their description of the hotel and the service you can expect. Jess (manager) and her team done a fantastic job all week looking after our party of 14, nothing was too much trouble and there was always a smile from the staff no matter what time of the day or night it was. Staff were there to great us on arrival and refused to let us carry bags up the hill and instead bringing them up in the van for us.

The food was excellent, well prepared, presented and very tasty. There was a cooked buffet breakfast each morning and at that time the menu for the evening meal is left out for you to choose from. You don't normally find this and means that there wasn't a day when I wasn't looking forward to eating my chosen meal in the evening. There was usually three options for starter and main with two for desert (One option in each course was always vegetarian).

Previous posts have mentioned the "large/steep" hill up to the hotel, if others hadn't noticed it is a ski/board resort in the alps, there are much bigger climes around. Nevertheless it wasn't an issue (and not that steep) as Alex the driver was on hand at the required times to either pick us up and drop us off at the lifts or to pick us up and take us back to the hotel after a great day on the slopes. By the second day he knew who's gear was who's and most of our names, great attention to detail.

The hotel and rooms were spotlessly clean and pretty much what you would expect of an alpine hotel. George (barman) was great and very dedicated to the job, not only does he pour a good drink his knowledge of the Espace killy (and the night-life) is also noteworthy.

All in all a great trip, hotel and team. I would happily return without any hesitation or concerns.

Room Tip: I can only speak for room 17, top floor so expect an extra flight of stairs, plenty of storage so no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Superbillage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Stayed here this year (Jan 13) Staff could not have been more helpful and friendly. The food was fantastic with a good choice each evening. Breakfast (Full English) each morning was just the perfect start each day to combat the powder.
Alpine Elements found a really good team here and i wish i could have stayed longer, Jess was a really good Manager, all the staff had a smile, the bar was run very well by Gorgeous himself (inside joke i think) the shuttle service was top dollar each morning and evening.

The Hotel itself was fine, some of the rooms were a bit cosy but lets face it, you only sleep there. They were kept clean and sorted each day which is more than enough.

Would greatly recomend this Hotel more for the staff, food and the atmos.

I would go back straight away.

Thank you to all the staff here for making this years trip a memorable one. Much Love.

Room Tip: The triples would more suit a couple with a small child, Rm 15 and i think 17 would make an awesome...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trustme77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Fantastic holiday,hotel and staff.The reverse being the case last year with a different company. When booking on line there is always the fear that the Chalet/Hotel you are booking has been over sold with very selective photography and a blinding write up. This year ,for our group of skiers and snow boarders,we were met with a very pleasant suprise. When we booked the hotel Fjord in Val D'isere all went well untill we were told it was over booked and our group of 14 would not fit in and we were offered the Hotel Gelinotte. This made us a bit wary but carried on with the booking. Our worry was unfounded ,we were met at Geneva airport by smiling faces and efficiently dispatched on the coach to Val D'Isere,met in resort by a mini bus who took us and luggage up a slight hill to the hotel and carried our luggage in to the Gelinotte for us. The welcome at reception was warm and friendly and the hotel itself better than described. I shared a triple room which,though comfortable, was a little on the small side.Every day of the holiday the room was cleaned and beds made. No worries about keeping warm either,the room was always warm and the shower always hot. No problems with noise at any time through the night,that may be because of me enjoying the 'Val' Apres and night life :-) which is second to none. The Gelinotte Chefs excelled them selves. there is always a choice of meal from the days menu in the hotel which is chosen whilst having a buffet fried or continental breakfast. An all you can eat fry up before a days boarding does the trick . The evening meals were extremely good and plenty of it.Coffee tea and cake in the afternoons for those not having a quiet apres in the blue note or a lively one the Petite danoise or Cafe Face. 'Gorgious George' as we named him in the bar hotel was always happy to serve beer on tap,bottles or spirits from the well stocked bar . Ask for a 'Sasky' if you go( similiar to a White russian) Itll help you sleep through the wierd dreams the altitude brings on. Although there is a free shuttle bus through the resort Alex was there to drop off and collect from the main lifts if you dont fancy the walk.The impression all of our group had was that the staff in the hotel could not do enough,nothing was too much trouble.because of the amount of guys and girls looking after the hotel and the shifts they do there is never a miserable face in the place. For me the staff will make or break a hotel and I can say that these guys know what they are doing and do it smiling which makes all the difference.Val D'Isere will always be Val D'Isere but if you want enjoy your short time there you wont go to far wrong by staying at this hotel and at a very resonable price. Im sure we will be using alpine elements again and if going to Val would check here first. P.s there is a small hill to get up to the Gellinote but hey its an activity holiday and its not bad at all . Me ?Im chuffed we stayed at the Gelinotte.Thanks Alpine Elements.

Room Tip: Triple rooms are a tad small with all your gear in it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mattchus67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Val d'Isere hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel L'Aigle des Neiges
Hotel L'Aigle des Neiges
#1 of 39 in Val d'Isere
425 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel les Cretes Blanches
Hotel les Cretes Blanches
#24 of 39 in Val d'Isere
106 reviews
0.3 mi away
Auberge Saint-Hubert
Auberge Saint-Hubert
#23 of 39 in Val d'Isere
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Restaurant La Toviere
Hotel Restaurant La Toviere
#5 of 39 in Val d'Isere
153 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bellier
Hotel Bellier
#13 of 39 in Val d'Isere
100 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Altitude
Hotel Altitude
#4 of 39 in Val d'Isere
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Gelinotte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Gelinotte

Address: Route de la Balme, 73150 Val d'Isere, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Val d'Isere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Val d'Isere
#5 Romantic Hotel in Val d'Isere
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Gelinotte is superbly appointed in central Val d'Isère. and just 7 to 10 mins walk from the slopes, and centre but we offer a private minibus shuttle for guests. All bedrooms are en suite and the property is run as a small ski hotel with fabulous cooked and continental breakfasts and an a la carte evening menu with many other great touches to make your holiday extra special.The hotel has a fully licensed bar and restaurant. Guests will find a sauna for relaxing in after a long days skiing. There is also a quiet lounge for reading, a comfy lounge and TV lounge and a licensed bar with draft beers, spirits and wines. The hotel has Wi-fi access and the public areas are well thought out to offer guests privacy and different options for socialising. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel La Gelinotte France/Savoie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing