We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Langley Hotel La Foret
Ranked #29 of 39 Hotels in Val d'Isere
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“excellent value for money”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

stayed at le foret in febuary 2012 was a bit dubious of what to expect after reading some reviews.After first being greeted by staff on reception we were given the keys to our room, a lift awaited which was nice as on third floor . the room was snugg but as travelling with my son and nephew it was nice that there was a mezzanine floor so i could retreat to and leave them to be teenagers. the room was very clean and a very nice bathroom.The meals were amazing and the manager micheal and his staff could not do enough to help.The room walls are thin and although having a group of middle aged british sex seekers and not skiers next door who obviously had no education or morrels kept us awake for two nights, after a quite word to the manager they were quiet from then on, this is a brilliant place to stay and if you come to val you come to ski and not find fault with hotels but i could not fault this hotel in any way and have already booked again for 2013. five minutes walk to ski lifts and on doorstep for town. perhaps the only fault is they could have built it nearer the lifts but cant have it all.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chris g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    49
    18
    8
    12
See reviews for
26
34
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2012

We travelled on the Ski Train overnight from London arriving at the hotel at about 8.30 am. Even at this time in the morning we were checked in and in our room within 40 minutes. The rooms are adequate, if small and have limited storage, the ski locker room again compact, But for the price, very good value.
The hotel was run by a Scandinavian company, Langley, I believe. The staff were excellent and the catering was 1st class (Egon Ronay would only have positive things to say, I believe thanks go out to Jessica).

For our group this was a low cost trip, the hotel exceed our expectations by some margin.
I would consider booking directly with Langley in the future.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Colin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2012

We have stayed in many ski resorts, foret hotel we found were very helpful, the hotel rooms basic but clean, a good base, and although we are use to skiing to the door,it was only 5 mins walk away. The food was absolutely gorgeous, and although looked small to average portions were very filling for all of our party.The continental breakfast was also very good.We hired ski and boots which were of good standard.The resturant staff were very polite ensuring we were happy. There was a funny smell around reception but made no difference to the enjoyment of holiday. A nice touch as we left at 4.55 am in the morning that there was someone on reception, they handed out water and sandwich for your transfer.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sally554
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karmsund
Level Contributor
94 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2012

We arrived at the Foret Hotel after a 3 hour transfer from the airport in Grenoble. The transfer itself was quite an experience since the bus driver pushed the bus to (and over) the limits of how fast it is possible to drive on French mountain roads. A little bit scary actually.

We arrived on a Saturday afternoon and we were met by two Danish persons in the reception. I think that maybe the male one was the hotel manager. However, they were both friendly and very service minded and check-in was fast and easy. We were also provided with some basic information which was useful.

I travelled with Langley and had purchased a so-called all inclusive package which means accommodation, breakfast, a 3 course dinner, transfer from/to airport and 6 days skipass for the Espace Killy ski resort (Val D’isere and Tignes).

The hotel facilities:

If you expect a luxury resort you will be deeply disappointed because this is basically a, well, a basic hotel so to speak. No fancy reception, no upgraded rooms with nice furniture or even furniture at all or anything else nice to have stuff. I got a room on the 2nd floor with a small balcony.

The room was actually not that small but the bathroom is probably the smallest one I have ever had. It contained a small shower cabinet, a sink and a toilet. Between those three subject there is hardly space to stand.

There were two separate beds (I paid extra for having this as a single room for myself) in the room, some shelves for putting clothes into, a small desktop and a kind of a stool. Yes, and a 14” old fashioned TV from the 90s or something that I did not even try.

I have seen it mentioned here on Trip Advisor before many times and yes I will have to agree; there is a strange smell in the reception area and in the stairs between the different floors. And yes it reminds you about a certain thing called sewage.

I probably sound very negative here now but things will get better. Simply because these lack of facilities did not overshadow the fact that a lot of other things was very good in this hotel. And when going on these skiing holidays I do not spend much time in my room anyway except for when I sleep.

Wireless wifi is available only in the reception area and in the bar in the first floor. It worked fine for me.
Breakfast & dinner:

Starting with the breakfast it was a basic breakfast with good bread, a variety of ham and jam, serials, juices and milk, some fruit and yoghurts, coffee and boiled eggs. The only problem with the breakfast was that if you arrived a little late you’ll have to wait some, 5, 10 or 15 minutes. Not necessarily because there were no free table but because they had too few cutleries actually. That was a little bit annoying.

Proceeding to the dinner; it was very good each of the evening we were there. Some days it was well beyond our expectations. I shall not go trough the whole menu but I can mentioned some of mine favorites which was; duck breast, roasted tenderloin and steamed cod. Also the starters and the desserts were really good. And it was all served by service minded young Scandinavians.
There is as mentioned also a bar in the hotel. We used to have a couple of after-ski beers there some of the days, and there is a nice atmosphere in the bar and also here the crew behind the desk consists of Scandinavians. And also here the service is of a good quality.

The location of the hotel is also good; just a short 5 minutes’ walk down to the main road in Val D’isere and about 10 miutes walk to the area where gondolas and chair lifts takes you up to places such as Rocher de Bellevarde and Solaise, from where you easily can explore the whole area called Espace Killy.

Val D’isere is a really nice area for skiing and offers pistes for beginners as well as for experts. There is many nice red and black pistes in the area, and for those who prefer off-piste the opportunities are many when there has been a snowfall or two.

My conclusion is that if you preference is good service, a nice atmosphere and good food for a ok charge, well then I would easily recommend this hotel.

But if you are one of those who expect luxury in every detail, large rooms with big flat screens and nice chairs, big bathrooms etc., please book another hotel because this one is basic when it comes to comfort.

One thing I nearly forgot. If you have problems sleeping when it is a little bit noisy please note that the noise isolation between the rooms and between the rooms and the hallway is poor.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vibran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRESTON ENGLAND
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2012

From the warm welcome from Michael the manager we knew we had chosen a good hotel !!!

The Staff could not do enough for you.

The food was excellent they always wrote on a board the evening menu at breakfast and if there was something that you did not like you had to just let reception know and there was a alternative meal at night made for you.

We Had to hire a set of skis and boots the quality was good with the shop being part of the hotel no trailing for miles to the ski hire shops and the lads in there were really nice.

The rooms a a little Basic but you are there to Ski !!!! they are want you want warm clean.

The ski area is 5 mins walk and after a couple of days feels easy.

overall i would highly recommed this hotel

if there could be any improvment

a lounge as we had non skier and the bar is closed from breakfast until 3.00pm so nowere to sit and relax except your room

but this is a miner so many pluses !!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BUGSI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2012

We've just come back from a week at the foret hotel and were really pleased with our stay. The staff, food and location are excellent and can't be faulted, especially for the value of the hotel. As some have mentioned in previous reviews there is a strange (and slightly unpleasant) smell in the stairwell and the wellness suite but it does not affect the rooms or the bar/ restaurant. There is free wifi in the reception and bar which isn't mentioned in the brochures and there is an excellent ski hire fire attached to the hotel which is good. The rooms are simple but very clean and comfortable and the bathrooms are spacious and clean - ours had a bath with shower over (although I would suggest the spend a few pounds in each room and add a stand up shower attachment so you don't have to hold it!). Simple to do and makes a big difference. Also for the ladies - you need to pack your own hair dryer!! I would definitely go back to the Foret, Val is a very expensive resort and the place offers excellent value for money!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CharlotteLogie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2012

If not for the amazing food at night, this is a VERY basic hotel. The food was great, and the staff very friendly, but the rooms are very small with no fridge, hairdryer, safe or kettle. It is more like a hostel. The noise is also a problem with the bar downstairs open until the early hours of the morning, as well as noise from the slamming doors within the hotel itself. Never an uninterrupted nights sleep. The only heat/cooling control is to open and close the door, so again, some hot unpleasant nights sleep. Our tv was broken the entire time despite the staff saying they would get someone to fix it. For the money though, it is very central, the food is good, and it is clean, but be warned there are no frills. We will not be going back.

Room Tip: Ask for one not down the end of the bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ktravel_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Val d'Isere hotels
0.1 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Residence Les Chalets de Solaise
0.3 mi away
Hotel L'Aigle des Neiges
Hotel L'Aigle des Neiges
#1 of 39 in Val d'Isere
424 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Restaurant La Toviere
Hotel Restaurant La Toviere
#7 of 39 in Val d'Isere
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Altitude
Hotel Altitude
#4 of 39 in Val d'Isere
204 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Yule
Le Yule
#11 of 39 in Val d'Isere
118 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Kandahar
Hotel Kandahar
#19 of 39 in Val d'Isere
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langley Hotel La Foret? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langley Hotel La Foret

Property: Langley Hotel La Foret
Address: la Balme, 73151 Val d'Isere, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Val d'Isere
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 39 Hotels in Val d'Isere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Langley Hotel La Forêt is located in the heart of Val d'Isère with walking distance to the ski lifts and approximately a five minute walk to the city center.A simple and cosy hotel with a restaurant a bar to relax after your ski days. It also has a sauna and jacuzzi available for an extra charge and its own in house ski rental. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Langley Hotel La Foret reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Foret Hotel Val d Isère
Langley Hotel La Foret France/Savoie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing