We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff great trip”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Val d'Isere
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Ducs de Savoie
Ranked #25 of 39 Hotels in Val d'Isere
Reviewed February 10, 2013

The hotel staff were fantastic and ready to help and go out of there way to be fun but professional. It was the kids first ski and they loved this. We were able to ski in the morning and then meet with the kids after lunch. We would fully recommend this hotel and company and hope to go back one day.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clan-Spencers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (106)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 106 reviews

Reviewed February 4, 2013

This was our third family holiday with esprit, as the childcare and holiday set up is the best we have found. Our son is 5 and so this year was in sprites ski lessons in the morning and snow club in the afternoon. We watched the ski lesson on a few mornings and the children all seemed to be doing well and enjoying themselves, the ski instructors are fantastic with them all. Around an hour into the lesson they stop to have a snack in a small cafe at the bottom of the nursery slope, you supply the snacks yourselves but the children have an option to buy a drink or lolly pop in the cafe so give them a few euros each day.
childrens lunch and dinner options all seemed to be good, and the staff make sure that if the children don't like their dinner they have a ham or cheese sandwich instead. Our son also enjoyed snow club, especially the 'Ninja Squirrel' game out in the snow! For the first time this year he also went into mini coco club in the evening and loved it! He only stopped going on the last couple of nights of the week when he was just too tired, and stayed in the room watching a dvd with regular checks on him by the staff on the listening service.
Having a television with british channels and a dvd player in the room is a really good touch in this hotel - our son loved that he could watch his favourite dvds.
The food in the hotel is quite good, always a choice of 2 meat or fish dishes and a vegetarian option. Our only complaint was on a couple of nights the lamb dish was a bit chewy! But the free wine was really good all week, with a good choice or red,white or rose. Breakfast was always good with sausage, bacon, egg etc always available as a hot option. Afternoon tea with soup and cakes was always excellent.
The hotel's location is a bit odd, down an alleyway just off the main street, but is excellent for getting around the town, and really not far to walk to the slopes, although you can get on the ski bus just over the road and get dropped off right by the lifts. The rooms are very warm and a pretty decent size, although the bunk style bed wasn't really suitable for our son (generally ok for age 6 and over) but the manager quickly sorted another bed for him. the shower was really good with plenty of hot water all of the time, there isn't a hair dryer in the room but there are a couple available at reception.
Overall, despite coming down with flu at the end of the week, we had a great time. This hotel suits famillies perfectly who aren't too fussed about ski in ski out. You don't get fantastic views, but you do get to be very close to everything in resort, and all of the staff are fantastic, helpful and professional. Thanks also to Emma (normally at Alpe d'Huez?) for continuing to entertain our son, Jack in Chambery airport too!

Room Tip: Check the brochure with regards to the childrens bed, the bunk style above the wardrobe is only real...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shelley73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

The staff in the hotel were very enthusiastic and only too happy to help. On arrival they were at the bus stop to help us with our bags etc (even though the hotel was just across the road).
Over the course of our stay the staff member we had most interaction with were Harry, James & Billie, they were all very friendly & helpful. In fact on one of our days my girlfriend wasn't too well. So when Billie came to clean she found her in bed and offered to fetch her some soup and check up on her throughout the day, Now that is just something that doesn't happen in any other hotel.
We only stayed here because we were with friends that have a child but we would happily stay here again if we returned to Val D'isere.
We had Breakfast from 7-9am, cake, coffee & soup from 4-5pm then a 3 course meal followed by a cheese board every night from 8pm. The food was ok, some nights better than others and some of the combinations were a little bit odd. But you did have 2 options to choose from each morning at breakfast. The house wine was also free during dinner.

Our friends seemed happy with the child care each day along with the listen service during dinner.
The rooms are a decent size with either a double or 2 singles plus a single bunk above the wardrobe. Bath/shower & TV with a few english channels, there is also a DVD player in each room.

In all we had a great holiday and enjoy our stay at the Hotel Ducs de Savoie.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Orangeclogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

I have rated the hotel as very good but only because the actual hotel is very basic,if I was rating it on the staff and the food it would have been excellent.
We were a family of 4 with 2 and 5 year old and so we used the nursery and the ski school/snow clubs. The nursery was of a very high standard, my son had a fantastic time, the staff were attentive and friendly and never once showed any sign of tiredness or boredom which considering the long hours they worked was remarkable! The staff looking after the older children again were equally good and put all there energy into making it an enjoyable and memorable time.
When it came to adult dinner and the bar, the food was good and the beer reasonably priced, but again the staff made it, they were helpful and efficient and really made you feel that they were interested in hearing about your day.
I would highly recommend this hotel and would happily go back!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wilts_wife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Just returned from our Esprit hoilday from the Ducs and we had a fabulous time. The staff were lovely, all very young, but very polite, welcoming and interested in their guests. We used the Nursery for our 2 year old, he had a wonderful week and the nannies were brilliant.

The food was great, lovely choices at breakfast, afternoon tea and dinner. The rooms were basic, but kept clean and had very comfy beds (not always a guarantee at any hotel!)

We would certainly use Esprit again if all their holidays are this good.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank verity960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2012

Just with my son for our 3rd Espirt Ski holiday, having been spoilt rotten previously at Belle Plagne.

We've just returned from their first week of the season, so we contended with inevitable teething problems that will, I;m sure, be orined out as the season progresses. Some, such as the meal time service, improved noticeably as the week went on.

If you want to go to Val D'Isere with a young family, ski hard all day, eat out at lunchtime and not have to remortgage Granny, then this is the only way to do it. You accept that the Ducs has a simple adequacy about it, because the childcare and skiing are so great. You are in a town that can easily, of course, meet your dreams of evening wild excess if you so desire.

Room Tip: Apparently the first floor rooms could have been a little quieter - it was silent on the 4th
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Limbic_Candy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2012

A great holiday in March, well up to the standards that we've come to expect from Esprit.
The hotel is in a good location & well placed for the lifts, & ski busses.
The hotel staff were friendly & helpful & as ever great with the children, lessons, lunch & kids club were all well run & organised.
Food & wine were good, & we love the way that the listening service makes it easy to relax & enjoy an adult evening meal.
No doubt we'll be back with Esprit next year as they make it so easy to ski as a family.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OMGtwins2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Val d'Isere hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel les Cretes Blanches
Hotel les Cretes Blanches
#26 of 39 in Val d'Isere
113 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel L'Aigle des Neiges
Hotel L'Aigle des Neiges
#2 of 39 in Val d'Isere
463 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Restaurant La Toviere
Hotel Restaurant La Toviere
#7 of 39 in Val d'Isere
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Auberge Saint-Hubert
Auberge Saint-Hubert
#23 of 39 in Val d'Isere
148 reviews
1 mi away
Le Samovar Hotel & Chalets
Le Samovar Hotel & Chalets
#22 of 39 in Val d'Isere
130 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Le Brussels
Hotel Le Brussels
#30 of 39 in Val d'Isere
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ducs de Savoie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ducs de Savoie

Address: avenue Olympique, 73150 Val d'Isere, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Val d'Isere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Val d'Isere
#8 Spa Hotel in Val d'Isere
Price Range: $89 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 31
Also Known As:
Hotel Ducs De Savoie France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing