We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would definately stay again”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Val d'Isere
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Champs Avalins Hotel
Ranked #27 of 39 Hotels in Val d'Isere
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Would definately stay again”
Reviewed November 21, 2011

Rooms basic and could do with updating, but clean and cracking view from the balcony. The two sittings where not a problem, as we benefited from Apres Ski one night and night out in Val D'isere another night. When on a late sitting, there are Canapés served in the bar downstairs, to put you on. Meals started off a bit of a disappointment, but as the week progressed, so did the meals. We ate some fantastic 5 course meals, served with wine until the end of your meal. Resulting in all of our party pissed every night. There is a free bus service into Val D'isere centre which is every 10 mins, but the walk only talks 15 mins and is quite nice. Do not miss getting up on the gondola near the hotel to le folie douce restaurant where every day there is a party starting about 3pm. Check it out on You Tube. Great place,

Room Tip: One looking out to the piste and funicular, not the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wannawombat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    72
    24
    12
    16
See reviews for
47
20
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
97 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2011

Went to Champs Avalins Hotel with my family for a christmas holiday on the slopes. We were very impressed with this hotel - the building isn't the most attractive, but the location is fab, the staff were excellent, the food was delicious and the rooms were great. Plenty of food to eat - we have big appetites but were never left hungry!! They don't provide lunch but do provide cakes and soup at around 4pm which is very filling so you don't even need to buy lunch on the slopes, making it cheaper.

I would 100% recommend this hotel to all my family and friends. The staff were really friendly and our ski rental shop was just next door. Only one down side is the ski storage room in the hotel is on the small side. Val D'isere is a great resort with lots of great runs and we also went across to Tignes a few times. Make sure you go to the Folie Douche for a dance and a drink in your ski boots on the slopes - amazing!!!!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loretta11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2011

I stayed here with 12 others as a group of friends recently. We got a last minute deal through chaletline and flew in to Geneva.

The location is great, the funicular and the Val d'Isere shuttle are a 3 min walk away. There's a commercial centre and gift shop just outside the hotel.

The hotel itself and the rooms are standard ski accommodation. Not overly fancy but they are very clean and comfortable. The shower was very powerful which is a must after a day on the slopes.

Food was fresh and plentiful with choices for the daily dinner menus. As part of a group we were on alternate dinners, so we ate together every night at either 6pm or 8pm.

You can ski down to the hotel or take the bubble lift from La Folie Douce (a must for apres-ski 3-5pm :)).

The staff were fantastic, they were very helpful even if it was the end of the season.

The bar is a bit small but served it's purpose and the cocktails are great, even if they may look a bit home-made!

I would definitely go back as part of a group, with family or as a couple.

The only downside was that the room was very hot so we slept with the window open which meant the noise from outside (generator?) kept me awake a lot. This was only a tiny downside to a brilliant holiday.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heyjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2011

Stayed here for 1 week on a skiing break. Was surpirsed how much the hotel cost us having paid for previous ski trips, we were in a triple room which was clean but small. it transpired the price was just a characteristic of val d'isere itself where EVERYTHING is overpriced 5.50 euros for coke in some places. The food was average but served well, which brings me to my main point, the staff in this hotel who work for total ski were exceptionally friendly and literally went out of their way to help us which made the holiday good. I think this could be made better by making the price more reasonable for what it is. Close to lifts and regualr buses.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ashbilly2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2011

We stayed with Total Ski in the chalet part of Champs Avalins. The building is much larger than most photos suggest as only one part of it is used as the Chalet,the remainder being apartments. It's huge and ugly but in a great location. Right on the slopes at La Daille ( a good 15 minute fast walk from the centre of Val D'Isere), a 5 minute walk at most to the gondola station and less than 10 to the fenicular. The free ski bus service also stops outside.
There is a bar in the basement which is small but ok and plenty of boot rooms, at least one with outside access.
Dinner is split into two sittings as the dining room can not accomodate all the guests in one sitting. So you have a choice of 6.00 or 8.00pm but have to get your name on the list and choose your food each morning. Our experince was that if you hadn't done this by 7.30am you found yourself on the 6pm sitting. Apparently they have a rule that no under 13's are allowed on the later sitting - either that rule is not enforced or teenagers are looked much younger these days.
The food is ok and the wine plentiful.
The rooms could desperately do with refurbing. They are a throwback to the late 1970's. while clean they are getting tatty round the edges. The beds are all singles with basic mattereses - i didn't get a good nights sleep all the time we were there.
As with other Total Ski chalets this one is run by youngsters. The service is basic but ok - it helps if you're ski ing as you're out all day and tired at night.
The transfer from Geneva is dire. 3 plus hours on a coach which stops at a grim motorway service station en route.either fly into Chambray or drive there your self - anything to avoid that coach trip.
Spruce up the rooms ( see Cascades in Courchevel) and i'd recommend this place to a friend. Until then i'd probably choose another property in Val to stay in.

Oh, and to the people on our coach returning to Geneva: no the driver was not speeding, yes the road was twisty ( mountain roads usually are) and yes your kids will throw up if you've let them fill their faces with cereal before getting on the coach at 5.30am.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dazzled1062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Val d'Isere hotels

Thaxted, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2011

We stayed at the Champs Avalins as a part of a Ski Holiday package. Admittedly this was booked late by our friends and had to coincide with half-term (one of them is a teacher), so we paid a high price. The tour operator - Ski Total- had things organised well, and we were really pleased with the skiing in Val d'Isere. However, the hotel was small, the rooms - whilst clean, were very small, OK - did have a small bath - which in our opinion is necessary to soak in after skiing. Our room faced the road/council depot/bus garage - which was not the most conducive to peace at night, and the balcony was meaningless. I imagine the rooms facing the slopes compensated for the size and were probably quieter. The hotel is close to the La Daille chair lift and cabin - which is great for starting the day - and you can ski back down to within 50 yards of the hotel - so not bad.
The bar is small and cramped - you might say cozy. The dining room is similar. Boot/ski room ridiculously small. What makes some difference is that the staff are all really friendly, helpful and attentive. Always cheerful and happy to help. The food also, is pretty good. Nice breakfast choice, apres ski at 4 pm has a good selection of cakes, hot and cold drinks, soup and fruit. Dinner is in 2 sittings (dining room not big enough for all at once), which means you have to book early in the morning if you want the late sitting - 8pm. Only on the last night did we not get this booking, probably because the rugby was on. 2 choices for each of the 3 courses at dinner ( choice made at breakfast), generally the meals were fine - sometimes really good, and then after dinner cheese and biscuits, tea or coffee. Evening entertainment was minimal, e.g - quiz night. Overall, if you just want skiing and can get this hotel for a reasonable price - then you will have a good time.
Free WiFi was available in the dining room, bar and lobby area.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dave_c_piper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west sussex
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2011

the hotel is basic but its limitations are made up for by the very friendly/helpful staff, convenient location and good food. Free ski hosting on the first couple of days is a great way of getting to know other guests and the slopes.
I managed to get 8pm dinner slot every night without any problem., but i don't go skiing to have a lie in.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martinWestSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Val d'Isere hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Restaurant La Toviere
Hotel Restaurant La Toviere
#7 of 39 in Val d'Isere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel le Kern
Hotel le Kern
#17 of 39 in Val d'Isere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Samovar Hotel & Chalets
Le Samovar Hotel & Chalets
#22 of 39 in Val d'Isere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel L'Aigle des Neiges
Hotel L'Aigle des Neiges
#2 of 39 in Val d'Isere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
1.1 mi away
Alpina Lodge - Val d'Isere
Alpina Lodge - Val d'Isere
#31 of 39 in Val d'Isere
3.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
1.2 mi away
Tsanteleina Hotel
Tsanteleina Hotel
#1 of 39 in Val d'Isere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Champs Avalins Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Champs Avalins Hotel

Property: Champs Avalins Hotel
Address: la Daille, 73150 Val d'Isere, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Val d'Isere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 39 Hotels in Val d'Isere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In common with the rest of Val d’Isère’s La Daille area, the hotel might not win any awards for the cutest or prettiest exterior in the Alps, but as with all properties, it is the location that really counts! And that’s where the Champs Avalins really scores. You can ski back to within just 50m of the hotel, and each morning you have a choice of lifts right on hand to whisk you up the mountain. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Champs Avalins
Champs Avalins Hotel France/Savoie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing