We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ignore the 'bad' reviews .”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Val d'Isere
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Restaurant Le Chamois d'Or
Ranked #30 of 39 Hotels in Val d'Isere
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Ignore the 'bad' reviews .”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2012

We spent a week at Chamois d'Or in early march and must admit we were not looking forward to our visit having booked THEN read the reviews.Just what do some of these people expect ?? They have been told that the hotel is 'tired' yet STILL complain.We can only say that on the week that we spent there the rooms were clean,the dining room was clean,the staff were VERY accommodating,breakfast was replenished as was needed,plus a warm option,'afternoon tea' fresh cakes and tea or coffee a plenty,dinner 3 very ample courses with as much red OR white wine as required.Hotel temperature warm and cosy despite not being able to light the living fire[B****Y H&S].All in all a great experience and great team led by Ben.And so near the lifts. J.M.A.C.and baby B

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    22
    11
    6
    8
See reviews for
15
10
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2012

My husband and I booked a last minute ski holiday with Ski Val in February. The reviews warned us that the chalet needs refurbishment and they were right. It is in desperate need of updating but the chalet team and the location more than made up for this. The bed was very comfortable and warm with a separate bathroom and toilet. There was also WiFi which we were able to get in the room so watched TV on our laptop. The food was fantastic - break fast and dinner is included. Breakfast comprised of the best croissants we have ever eaten, great coffee, fruit, yogurts, cereals, fruit juices and a cooked breakfast (not full English but some really nice varied options) each morning and there is more than enough to go around - so not sure why the earlier review complained about that. Dinner involved a starter, main and dessert plus fresh bread and butter on the table as well as carafs of wine. Delicious! The chef is top notch. You can also order a packed lunch for the following day after dinner. This comprised of a baguette with a choice of filling, chocolate bar and bottle of water for €5 . The bar is great however a bit expensive but then Val d'Isere is very expensive! The staff are really friendly and helpful and even clean the rooms daily except for their day off. As a couple we found it very sociable as at full occupancy there are about 50 people staying at any one time and we enjoyed meeting and making friends with people from all over the UK. The location is amazing right at the foot of a red/black run which was used at the Olympics some years back. You can just walk out to the back of the chalet and pop on your skis and ski down to the main lifts only 100m away. The ski rental place is just a short walk away so also very handy. As a resort Val d'Isere has everything you need but as I said before we found it very expensive. The skiing is great but they tell you when you get there that it is a colour blind resort so many greens are actually blues and blues are actually reds - you get my meaning... I went to ski school AGAIN! Recommended ski school who come to the chalet on the first night to sign people on - they were very good however there was about 8 people on average in my class. I am a nervous skiier and would not go back there because of the difficult slopes but my husband enjoyed himself thoroughly and must have gone on every lift and run available - the stories I endured feeling every so slightly jealous. There is also a fabulous gym/sauna/spa/pool centre about 5 minutes from the chalet where we paid for a pass for 6 days to chill out at the end of each day - my husband also used the gym which was well appointed. The one negative thing was the transfer. Lyon is 3 hours away on the coach on a good day. When we arrived it took 6 hours to get to the resort - the traffic was terrible - it's always a Saturday to Saturday arrangement so when you arrive at lunchtime as you can imagine everyone and their dog is on the road trying to get to the various resorts for a bit of skiing. Going back was fine as we left at 4:45am so not much traffic. But it was a great holiday thanks to a fantastic chalet team and it is great for couples as an alternative to a hotel because you get to socialise with different age groups between 20 and 60+ and you don't have to cook like you would in self catering. Hope this helps!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aoznavad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton Uk
Level Contributor
122 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2012

Organising a large ski group as I do every year, it helps me when I find a tour operator who is understanding and helpful...... enter SKI VAL.

1. Ski Val - the tour operators who run the Chamois D'Or are without doubt THE most customer friendly and focussed team I have ever worked with. From start to finish, the booking, the payment, the amendments to the booking, the greeting at the airport, the running of the accommodation, the friendliness of staff etc.
1. The Chamois D'Or - Location, cannot be beaten, The way its run and managed - cannot be beaten, accommodation options for a large group - cannot be beaten. All this for a price that is great for Val (and I speak from experience of avoiding Val for that very reason - costs). The accommodation has had a slight bit of a refurb in some common areas and some rooms. I would say they are all comfortable, and the common areas are great - really excellent for what a Chalet is all about, cosy, comfortable and ideal for socialising. It wont be everyones cup of tea if you are used to luxury, but this is our 3rd year in a row for a group of between 40-50, that I think speaks volumes.
The way the accommodation is run is refreshing, previously Dave had managed the Cham, this year Ben managed the Cham - both have a similar outlook and that is 'the customer comes first'. Guest satisfaction and comfort is paramount - they treat us like royalty, we treat them like part of the family.
Each year I write back to Ski Val thanking them for making the week fantastic, this year was no exception, I thought it could not get any better (we were lucky with the snow and weather which does help), but it did, Ben runs this Chalet the way everyone needs to run their Chalets - take note all you big corporate tour operators.....
Food was great, excellent chef, difficult to make such good meals on a low budget but we even had smoked salmon and scrambled eggs for brekky one day !
Last and very important point - They have Peroni on tap in the Chalet bar at UK prices, come on, that alone is a reason to go back.........

Fab-u-lous !

Room Tip: There are a wide selection of rooms from twins, to quads - depends on what you need. We've had r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MikeNorthamptonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2012

Great value all round. No issues whatsoever for the money.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shwicked
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2012

Apparently management have changed recently.... I was left unimpressed.

Main issue was the meagre breakfast... bread is rationed at the Chamois d'Or and sliced into crouton-sized morsels. If you'd like some more you'd better ask several times and wait until the lifts close in the evening. Then when asking doesn't work (and SEVERAL did, SEVERAL times), the only way there was any change was when someone rang head office. Ditto coffee and the dried up cornflakes. God forbid if you want fruit. They don't do it here.

Managerial response was childish and confrontational.

Some of the junior staff were good and trying hard but were undermined by their seniors.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mark h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Val d'Isere hotels

London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2011

Well where do I start.... Having recently returned from our holiday in the Chamois d'Or, I that I must congratulate Ski-Val on the truly excellent team that work in the hotel. Having read earlier reviews I was a little worried about the hotel but the staff, food and general atmosphere definitely make up for any shortfalls in the building. Being able to talk to intelligent staff that are not normal seasonal workers makes such a difference and really added to our stay. SKi-Val have found the right formula in this hotel with the right location, the laid back feel and the right price. Congratulations to Ben, Dave and the team for making our ski holiday worth every penny that we paid for it. THANK YOU!!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Skihobby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2011

I stayed here with as part of a group of 8 people in late March 2011.

The good bits: The hotel is located at the base the the Face run, so great in the morning - just walk to the back of the hotel and pop your skis on, and you're off. To return to the hotel you had to either ski the Face, or you could ski to the other side of the river and walk across, about 300 metres from the hotel. We also did a day's guiding with Ben, which was fun and fast. He took us to a good value lunch stop that we returned to later in the week.

So location was good, about a 15 minute walk (you could do it quicker) along the roads to the centre of Val d'Isere.

The food in the hotel was good, better than expected. The wine was plentiful, and not too bad for chalet hotel wine.

The bad bits: God, the hotel is in a dire state. The carpets are ripped, there is paint and plaster falling off the walls, The baths are stained and mouldy (and really narrow - I'm not fat by any stretch of the imagination, but the bath was cramped). We had hot water 3 days out of 6, lukewarm on the other days.

The furniture in the room is odd, the wood panelling was coming off the ceiling and the walls. Ironically, the heating was on full blast all day and night, to the extent that we kept the bedroom window open all week. If they turned the heating down, they would surely save money quickly enough to do a little tarting up of the building.

My overall advice - don't go here. For a little more money (£50-£100), you can stay somewhere far nicer.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Val d'Isere hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel la Savoyarde
Hotel la Savoyarde
#14 of 39 in Val d'Isere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Restaurant La Toviere
Hotel Restaurant La Toviere
#7 of 39 in Val d'Isere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Bellier
Hotel Bellier
#16 of 39 in Val d'Isere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel le Kern
Hotel le Kern
#17 of 39 in Val d'Isere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
0.0 mi away
Le Samovar Hotel & Chalets
Le Samovar Hotel & Chalets
#22 of 39 in Val d'Isere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Ormelune
Hotel Ormelune
#10 of 39 in Val d'Isere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Restaurant Le Chamois d'Or? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Restaurant Le Chamois d'Or

Property: Hotel Restaurant Le Chamois d'Or
Address: 73150 Val d'Isere, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Val d'Isere
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 39 Hotels in Val d'Isere
Number of rooms: 24
Also Known As:
hôtel Hotel Val d Isère
Hotel Restaurant Le Chamois D'Or France/Savoie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing