We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Stay”
Review of Tsanteleina Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tsanteleina Hotel
Ranked #2 of 39 Hotels in Val d'Isere
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay”
Reviewed April 19, 2014

My son and I had a fantastic time skiing in Val d'Isere during the last week of February. Every aspect of the Le Tsanteleina was great both in relation to the facilities and service. The Hotel is a 3 minute walk to the slopes. Our room worked out very well, and was both modern, clean and roomy. The staff was excellent, very helpful and friendly including at the front desk, dining room, bar, health club and cleaning services. We absolutely recommend this hotel and look forward to returning again at a future time.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    45
    11
    6
    3
See reviews for
90
62
9
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Attiki, Greece
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2014

We have been staying at this Hotel for 10 years now and every time we enjoy it even more. The service is excellent and friendly, the food is of high standard and the decor is contemporary and very warm. The south facing rooms have amazing views of the mountains and the world known La Face Piste. Many rooms have been recently redecorated to very high standards and are worth the extra charge. Even though it is not a ski out hotel the free bus stops right in front and the ski lifts are one stop away, very convenient. We hope to return soon at the best skiing area in Europe!

Room Tip: South facing rooms have better views and are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeggyP71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2014 via mobile

This was our 4th time at this hotel and we keep coming back because it really is that good. The staff were friendly from arrival to check-out, the food was excellent and the bar a tranquil oasis.

The location of the hotel is good, just a short walk to the nursery slopes and the resort bus stopping outside the hotel.

Looking forward to going back next year.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Just stayed here for two weeks and wanted to quickly write to say what a wonderful stay our family had at the Tsanteleina. I did a lot of research on all 5/4 star hotels in Val d'Isere and after speaking on the phone to the owner and experiencing superb customer service BEFORE we got there I knew it was the right decision to stay here. This hotel is simple and charming with spacious rooms (the renovated ones, which actually do include decent storage), hearty breakfast in the morning, amazing spa and pool which we enjoyed immensely after a day's skiing!!! Not a big hotel... Only one restaurant but quite a lovely bar with a groovy ambience. Highly recommend this hotel and thank Mr. Matis and his very professional staff, in all areas of the hotel, for making our two weeks most enjoyable. My few suggestions for them would be to include hair conditioner as part of the toiletries, and to perhaps provide something for the kids to do at night, i.e. ping pong or pool table...

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faringdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Just back from an end of season (3rd - 5th May) long weekend. Despite end of season and imminent closure until Val opens again for summer sports we could not have been looked after better. Due to a flight delay we arrived after 10pm and despite that were given a perfectly delicious meal after the restaurant was supposed to be closed. None of the staff showed any signs of "end of seasonitis" and we were looked after impeccably. This is the 1st time I have ever put something on Trip Advisor or similar and I thought the Tsanteleina deserved it! Food delicious throughout, lovely room (on 1st floor and looking at another review no noise problems). All in all cannot fault the place and will certainly be going back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edward L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Just back from Val D'Isere and this absolutely gem of a hotel. Already rebooked for 2014 - with a request for a room not on the 1st floor which was the only negative as the staff start work in the kitchen on the floor below from around 5am which disturbed my sleep! Location is fabulous. Meals are amazing and cannot believe they are not Michelin starred. Staff and service were exceptional - everyone really helpful and friendly. Will definately use the family hire shop next door for next year as well. Very secure double entry door to boot and locker room on street level. Spa/pool facilities pretty amazing for ski hotel. Whilst not directly on the slope, really not an issue to walk up the road to the piste. Can't wait to return - fabulous little gem.

Room Tip: Try to avoid a 1st floor room - just a wee bit noisy when the kitchen starts work early in the wee h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shazfern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We visited during Feb 2013. The location is great for the town centre and not too bad for the lifts (if you're skiing like we were). We had two of the newly refurbished suites - which are very modern and trendy, but have zero storage. Not great if your there with your kids skiing and there's limited places to put things. Porters and front desk were great. The bar is also very cool, trendy and cosy, but takes a while to get served, so don't be in a rush. The Resturant serves good food on the whole, but two nights it wasn't great. We had a really dreadful service incident in the Resturant on one night - I asked for butter for bread, I had to ask three more times, after 15 mins waiting, I asked a fourth time to be told by the waitress "can't you see I'm just a little busy!" Astonished I replied "I'm just a little customer". The service then became worse and took over 2 1/2 hours to get served. We sadly then had same girl at breakfast and she went out of her way to be awkward, slow and rude.

The spa is ok but very limited and we've certainly had better value in hotels with a better service ethic. By the way we're based in Switzerland, so are used to high prices, but Val d'Isere is a very expensive resort overall

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zycek66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Val d'Isere hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel L'Aigle des Neiges
Hotel L'Aigle des Neiges
#1 of 39 in Val d'Isere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Altitude
Hotel Altitude
#3 of 39 in Val d'Isere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Christiania
Hotel Christiania
#6 of 39 in Val d'Isere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Le Yule
Le Yule
#13 of 39 in Val d'Isere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Les Barmes de l'Ours
Hotel Les Barmes de l'Ours
#11 of 39 in Val d'Isere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Ormelune
Hotel Ormelune
#10 of 39 in Val d'Isere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tsanteleina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tsanteleina Hotel

Property: Tsanteleina Hotel
Address: avenue Olympique, 73150 Val d'Isere, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Val d'Isere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Val d'Isere
#2 Family Hotel in Val d'Isere
#2 Spa Hotel in Val d'Isere
#8 Romantic Hotel in Val d'Isere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tsanteleina Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LE TSANTELEINA, HOTEL & SPA Indulge yourselves in the heart of Val d'Isere! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Tsanteleina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tsanteleina Hotel Val d Isère
Tsanteleina Hotel France/Savoie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing