We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great holiday”
Review of Tsanteleina Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tsanteleina Hotel
Ranked #2 of 39 Hotels in Val d'Isere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 14, 2013

This was our second visit to this lovely resort and great hotel (we have a policy of not returning to a resort as we're always looking for new experiences), yet we made an exception and returned to the Tsanteleina because it was so good the first time round. Sadly, the general manager, Francios had passed away the month before we arrived in a car crash, but the remaning staff were as helpful and charming as the first visit.
It's difficult to find fault with this hotel, however, there are one or two things you should look out for:
There's no bottled water in the rooms which means a trip to the local Spar to stock up.
Trying to get a coffee or tea delivered in the morning via room service is almost impossible and there're no tea or coffee supplies in the room.
Other than those two minor gripes, the rest is superb, in particular the bar area and the spa/steam room/swimming pool/sauna. The restaurant for evening meals is top class and saves one from having to traipse all over the village trying to find somewhere to eat.
There was unanimous agreement from all in our party that this was certainly our best ski holiday so far (out of 8 trips) and it was largely down to the hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GrumpySumpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (219)
There are newer reviews for Tsanteleina Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 219 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2012

Later review - apologies
Stayed January for five days whilst skiing - lovely spa, great bars and bedroom overlooking slopes was fantastic. Great service. Ideally located to ski slopes but you can literally ski to the hotel. Outside hotel are buses to other resorts and also lots of boutiques and shops.

Prices reflect the hotel standard so don't expect groups of skiers.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaisonDeLOrbBeziers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

This hotel has modest size rooms (though not as bad as some comments on this site have suggested). The food was excellent and that makes up for a lot. The boot room was a bit of a mess but they are planning a refurbishment apparently.

It's not particularly close to the lifts, you can ski most of the way back but it's several hundred yards in the morning. The bus (which is really frequent) stops right outside and that;s better particularly with children).

The bar is charming and has a reasonable amount of seating. The prices are high but not as egregious as some French ski resort hotels. If you are drinking alot or on a tight budget the whole town is on your doorstep so you can go out easily enough.

Service is OK as good as one can expect in France, ie..... OK.

There is free WiFI in the Lobby.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GrouchyOldMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

The Tsanteleina is a very good French hotel in the heart of this resort. Rooms are good quality and generally very adequate in terms of size. The restaurant is top quality and the whole experience enormously good value. Very close to the slopes and the centre of local nightlife.
watty

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Watty5657
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2012

We stayed here the first week of February - our first time skiing in the French Alps! It was recommended we stay in the center of the village and the Tsanteleina was in the perfect location. Close to ski shops, bakeries, apres ski activities, and the slopes! One room faced the mountain and one room faced the village. Both exceeded our expectations in comfort and amenities. The food was superb, especially the dessert buffet on Wednesday evening and the seafood buffet Friday. The housekeeping service was excellent. Pool and hot tub area can be very crowded and messy with too many people and towels everywhere on the weekends. Overall we found the Tsanteleina to offer everything we wanted in a skiing vacation!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HighDesertFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2012

We stayed at Tsanteleina Hotel in early March 2012 and enjoyed a comfortable seven nights.

The hotel is centrally located in Val d'Isere and the bus stops right outside, before whisking you off to the lift stations for either Tignes or Solaise area. It is possible to ski back within about 50 metres of the hotel, however you do have to walk in ski boots and carry your skis.

The half baord option is good value and although not the best French half board we have experienced, it is more than adequate in terms of quality and amounts. I must say I thought the breakfast was superb; the usual buffet style, however you coud make toast and have bacon, scrambled egg and sausages for no extra charge. Even when we left at 0600 the night porter prepared hot tea and we were able to have cereals, fruit and toast.

Some of the staff are superb and cannot do enough for you, some are not so helpful, however the good ones make up for the not so good ones!

I used th Spar for a massage as I injured my back mid week and although the one hour treatment was £100, the treatmet was superb and I skied the rest of the week. The rest of the Spar pool etc was very nice indeed and is free.

Overall, if you want a quality hotel, good food and superb sking at a reasonable price, this is the place to go.

Room Tip: A mountain view room is best for sleep quality, as you are not facing the road.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hjohnnacepilot50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2012

Visited this hotel with friends for a skiing trip. The hotel is centrally located, convenient for the slopes and après ski. Rooms are comfortable but not large (as is often the case with hotels in France). The bar area is lovely to relax in and have an aperitif or nightcap. The spa is well set out and good for relaxing in after a hard days skiing. However, the highlight of our trip was the fantastic food served every evening. It was beautifully presented and was of the highest quality. I would definitely recommend the hotel to others.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with mountain view as these are at the back of the hotel and are therefore quieter.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Val d'Isere hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel L'Aigle des Neiges
Hotel L'Aigle des Neiges
#1 of 39 in Val d'Isere
424 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Christiania
Hotel Christiania
#7 of 39 in Val d'Isere
169 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Altitude
Hotel Altitude
#4 of 39 in Val d'Isere
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Le Yule
Le Yule
#11 of 39 in Val d'Isere
120 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Restaurant La Toviere
Hotel Restaurant La Toviere
#5 of 39 in Val d'Isere
151 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Avancher
Hotel Avancher
#8 of 39 in Val d'Isere
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tsanteleina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tsanteleina Hotel

Address: avenue Olympique, 73150 Val d'Isere, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Val d'Isere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Val d'Isere
#2 Luxury Hotel in Val d'Isere
#2 Family Hotel in Val d'Isere
#8 Romantic Hotel in Val d'Isere
Price Range: $256 - $880 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tsanteleina Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LE TSANTELEINA, HOTEL & SPA Indulge yourselves in the heart of Val d'Isere! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Tsanteleina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tsanteleina Hotel Val d Isère
Tsanteleina Hotel France/Savoie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing