We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The RyanAir of the Hotel Trade”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Alpina Lodge - Val d'Isere
Ranked #32 of 39 Hotels in Val d'Isere
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“The RyanAir of the Hotel Trade”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

This place is old, dated and it shows. 7 of us stayed in an 8 bed apartment in January during the ski season.

POOR QUALITY 'expensive' FURNITURE
In the living room space were two bed settees made from 'solid oak'. These were of such poor quality that they buckled when we simply sat on them on 3 separate occasions (yes they replaced one and then that broke!) throughout our stay. We were made to pay in excess of £300 to replace the first one (this astronomical figure itself was reined in from £700 initially banded by the hotel hierarchy) we then refused to pay anything further. At least 1 of the other oak chair also gave way during our stay and so midway through the week we resorted to sitting on the floor to avoid any further calamities.

Noise from each of the rooms is easily heard and disturbingly clear.

WiFi can be accessed from each room or apartment with log on credentials provided by reception however each room is only allocated a code to be used for one device (for a room of 7?!) and additional devices cost 6Euros/ day.

We were provided with 1 towel each for a 7 night stay and told it would cost $7Euro each for a fresh towel. Scandalous.

This place is the RyanAir of the hotel trade and simply would not exist were it not for it's central location. Cheaply furnished accommodation & terrible service.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterCumming1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    18
    18
    5
    7
See reviews for
25
14
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

I'm here now. It's a business trip so I haven't paid for it and I'm glad.
We are two men who are little more than work colleagues being forced to share a one room apartment with a very small single bed and a bed settee.

Unwisely, because it allows me to post this review during my stay, the hotel provides free WiFi to every room or apartment. Log on details are provided by reception but are only available for one device, additional devices are charged at 6 Euros per device per day.

The tiny kitchenette has a small sink, a two ring hob, an oven/microwave combination, kettle and a two slice toaster along with a rather superfluous dishwasher, considering the size of the area the space, in my opinion would be better utilised by the fitting of a sensible oven.
Most kitchen utensils and crockery is provided but there is no can opener
.
The TV has satellite functionality but the only English language channel is BBC News 24 which is repeated on a virtually endless loop and offers no entertainment value whatsoever.
there are various input options available on the TV, including USB, but they are unusable because the very basic remote control which is supplied has only volume and programme change functions.

The bathroom has a washbasin and generous shelving available . Soap, shower gel, towels and tissue are provided and there is a good sized mirror with downlighters.
The shower is over the bath but is mounted too low such that an average sized adult needs to crouch or stoop in order to be below the water flow.
The wc is separate from the bathroom which is very handy.

Electrical outlets are peculiarly located, especially those in the kitchen area which are dangerously located necessitating trailing flexes from the kettle and toaster.

We are at the rear of the building so the noise from the on site nightclub is not intrusive.

As a place to "crash" after a day on the piste this establishment may be suitable for some but for my colleague and I, who don't ski this hotel is totally unsuitable for whiling away a week before the return trip.

Reception is unattended after 20-00 hours.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank exaaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Val d'Isere hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

This place is old, decaying and INCREDIBLY NOISY. There's a club literally on the ground floor and until 3AM you have guaranteed noise! Terrible furniture and very expensive, for what we paid there's obviously much better. Only good thing is the location - really central.

Room Tip: Don't book the rooms facing the main street! You won't sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Global-Francisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poznan, Poland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

When I go to Val d'Isere with the family I usually take Alpina Lodge.
Very well located - close to the slopes and shops in the City center.
Always clean , but some common parts were not refuirbished for the long time.
The Ski Room is very handy but cold so do not leave your ski shoes there!
The worst thing - All the time the same.
Down on the street there is night club called Underground.
Be sure that that at around 2 o'clock in the morning the youg people will be crying and roaring
in such a way that you have impession that they are beeing killed or someyhing like that.
This repeats every time i stay there.
Avoid low floors and try to have sleeping room not giving to the street

Room Tip: Try sleeping room not giving to the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jacekksen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

We always stay at Alpina Lodge. I don't ski, so it is handy to be in the center of the village. Bathrooms are well equipped, lots of towels, warm rooms, hot water and comfy beds. Kitchen is well equipped. Great to have a dish washer. We like to stay overlooking the street because there is lots to see - a bit noisy but we do not mind.

The staff are lovely and the rooms get thoroughly cleaned. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Facing mountains is quieter but I like to watch what is going on on the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

I stayed here with my husband and two teenagers. The teens bunkbed where in the hallway, right in front of you when you entered your apartment. Our teens a used to travelling and staying at odd places but I personally felt it was wired and not what you expect from a 4* lodge. The kitchen was very small but ok since it had a necessary utensils, mind though that you must wash your dishes in the kitchen and then put it away in the living room. We had an early morning checkout to catch a flight in Geneva and we told the reception the night before, but she missed to tell us that the lookers,with our skies, had a time locker so we had a delay for about 45 minutes. We had to search for a emergency number and when we phoned it nobody answered the first couple of times.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christel1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2012

I stayed here for a week with three friends. The location is really good with a five mins walk to the lifts (Solaise and Bellvarde) and 100 meters to the bus that will take you to Fornet or La Daille. It has been said before by former guests - this hotel is located in the center of the village so if you have a room facing the main street you might want to consider earplugs because when people are leaving the bars at 3 a clock in the morning it can be surprisingly noisy..
The rooms were small with a very small kitchen (however with the necessary utensils), the bathroom was clean, the staff was friendly and professional and the average standard (for a ski resort hotel) is ok. I could stay at this hotel again, but in that case I would make sure to get a room not facing the main street.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Omnidude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Val d'Isere hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel L'Aigle des Neiges
Hotel L'Aigle des Neiges
#2 of 39 in Val d'Isere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel le Kern
Hotel le Kern
#17 of 39 in Val d'Isere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Altitude
Hotel Altitude
#3 of 39 in Val d'Isere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Kandahar
Hotel Kandahar
#19 of 39 in Val d'Isere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel la Savoyarde
Hotel la Savoyarde
#11 of 39 in Val d'Isere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Restaurant La Toviere
Hotel Restaurant La Toviere
#7 of 39 in Val d'Isere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpina Lodge - Val d'Isere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpina Lodge - Val d'Isere

Property: Alpina Lodge - Val d'Isere
Address: Rue Principale, 73153 Val d'Isere, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Val d'Isere
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Val d'Isere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Alpina Lodge - Val d'Isere 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Alpina Lodge - Val d'Isere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpina Lodge - Val d`Isere Hotel
Alpina Lodge - Val D'Isere France/Savoie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing