We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Stay!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Val d'Isere
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Le Chardon Mountain Lodges
Taunton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing Stay!”
Reviewed January 30, 2014

I have just returned from a fantastic ski trip in Val D'Isere - I stayed in Lafitenia chalet and it was just superb. We were made so welcome from the moment we arrived. Jane, our chalet manager and her team were great - nothing was too much trouble. We had amazing food, wine and skiing. Thank you to all the staff that made it such a memorable trip - I hope to be back soon! Jess

Room Tip: We stayed in Cloud Break - perfect twin room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jess C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
6
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Witney, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 30, 2014

We have just returned from a wonderful few days in Chalet Lafitenia and had a really amazing time! The chalet is so homely and welcoming and the staff are fantastic. Jane the Chalet Manager made the stay extra special, being so lovely and friendly and the rest of the staff are excellent too. The food was delicious, the Champagne free-flowing and everything was just perfect. It's great having the drivers just at the end of the phone and makes getting around the resort so easy - they were always really quick and helpful too. A total dream! Thank you to Le Chardon Mountain Lodges for such a great time!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harriet T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We came across Le Chardon Mountain Lodges Chalet Lafitenia by chance offers
this is taken our ski holidays to another level, we're not sure how we'll ever going to be able to ski in a different way!
Amazing accommodation/facilities, fabulous staff, friendly guests, top views, great food & drinks
We've been singing praises to many of our friends

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonTown2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

First time in 'Val', good choice to stay at Le Chardon, chauffeur's were top guys for sure, girls in chalet were great fun, food nice, champers better, some really great other guests, dont think i have drank as much on holiday for twenty years! probably needs an older supervisor to oversee the service/maintenance element a little. Really enjoyed the time and had a blast, maybe next time i wont bother at all with the skiing lark!! :)

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank P X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

We stayed in the Lafitenia chalet for a week as very grateful guests in a party of extended family and friends. Of course, we were mainly in Val d'Isere for the skiing, but it was a real pleasure to be staying in such a cosy, well-built, and gorgeously furnished chalet. The staff (under the leadership of our chalet host, Jane) were hard-working, extremely friendly, and helpful: there when you needed them, and unobtrusive at other times. Our bedroom was spotlessly clean, the bed comfortable, the view spectacular, and the chalet benefits from an outdoor hot-tub as well as a sauna. But the highlight for us of staying here was definitely the food (with the exception of the tea-time baking, which needed some improvement). The chef (Jamie) was very talented and his menus were well-balanced, inventive, and intelligently put together. There was plenty of variety (especially the vegetables which can so often be scarce in the Alps!), and everything was beautifully cooked, presented, and served. On Valentine's night there were red roses at each place-setting: a nice touch! The wines were exceptionally good, - all local, and all delicious. This is a slick operation, and one of the most exceptional places we have stayed.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobRoy88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

I cannot praise enough the Staff @ Le Chardon - Amazing - i wish i could name everyone but is a long list
i was a bit worried about the ''chalet sharing concept'' but to be honest it was a lovely experience met really nice people and will surely be back next year
the food was AMAAAZINNNNGGGGGGG

Room Tip: We stayed at lafitenia which sleeps 12 - perfect size
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cecidxb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarah f, Guest Relations Manager at Le Chardon Mountain Lodges, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed the shared chalet experience with Le Chardon Mountain Lodges! Thanks so much for your feedback, we hope to see you again x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

I've just come back from 3 nights staying in one of these wonderful mountain lodges. I simply can't explain the attention to detail that went into every moment of the stay. Our Chalet Manager Jane was just amazing...looked after us in every way ensuring we had everything we needed but managing to combine that with giving us our own space and privacy.
Jamie our Chef was exceptional too....we were never disappointed...and he was more than accommodating to our every whim and tardiness! :-)
Early evenings spent in the hot tubs out doors sipping champagne after a hard day on the slopes, combined with the driver collection service until 2am meant we really were spoilt!
I woke up this morning back home very disappointed there were no eggs Benedict waiting for me!
Our group were in a different chalet but all had the same to say...so it wasn't just a one off!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blondiegirl007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Val d'Isere hotels
1.5 mi away
Hotel Restaurant La Toviere
Hotel Restaurant La Toviere
#7 of 39 in Val d'Isere
143 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Yule
Le Yule
#12 of 39 in Val d'Isere
118 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Les Barmes de l'Ours
Hotel Les Barmes de l'Ours
#11 of 39 in Val d'Isere
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel L'Aigle des Neiges
Hotel L'Aigle des Neiges
#1 of 39 in Val d'Isere
424 reviews
0.6 mi away
Avenue Lodge Hotel
Avenue Lodge Hotel
#16 of 39 in Val d'Isere
135 reviews
0.0 mi away
Les Chalets du Jardin Alpin
Les Chalets du Jardin Alpin
#4 of 61 in Val d'Isere
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Chardon Mountain Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Chardon Mountain Lodges

Property: Le Chardon Mountain Lodges
Address: la Legettaz, Val d'Isere, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Val d'Isere
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 61 Specialty Lodging in Val d'Isere
Number of rooms: 27
Also Known As:
Le Chardon Mountain Lodges France/Savoie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing