We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Like a scene from Kitchen Nightmares”
Review of Chez Nano

Chez Nano
Ranked #66 of 98 Restaurants in Val d'Isere
Cuisines: Italian, French, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
58 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Like a scene from Kitchen Nightmares”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Five adults dropped in for dinner on a busy night -- so busy, in fact, it was clear management was losing control. Too many tables, too few waiters, too much stress. The menu had lots of items but very limited range, as almost everything featured duck, beef and cream. We settled on pizzas and salads, which were all decent but nothing special. Profiteroles for dessert were old and drenched in industrial chocolate sauce. The hostess was efficient and professional but had way too much to do to make it a nice restaurant experience.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EuroDoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    42
    20
    23
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Val d'Isere, France
2 reviews
“Can't believe the other reviews”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

My husband and I are working a ski season in Val d'Isere, we are in our mid 40s and 50s. We went to this restaurant when a friend came to visit us for the week. I am astonished at the other reviews, we found this restaurant excellent! I had the soup for starter, very nice, my main meal was the veal in creamy mushroom sauce, with a baked potato and finely chopped vegetables, it was the best meal I had had for a long time, all topped off with a chocolate moelleux to die for!!! I can highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JackieTite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Stay away”
Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

We ordered 3 meals, lasagne was okay, pizza was small and expensive, confit duck was a joke. Pricing is expensive, especially the drinks. Service did not work perfect eirher.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank them1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santo, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Stay away of here!!”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Like other people already stated, it looks nice from the outside. But wait till you're inside and witness a level of service that matches an episode of Monty Python. If you're a fan of cold pizza: this is the place to be. If not: don't even think about complaining. You got to pay for what you've ordered - no matter if it tastes like absolute [--]. They threaten to call the police if you don't. Before I forget: deserts are absolutely hideous. Place should be burned to the ground. Yuk.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GdeVader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Horrible rude money grabbing owners both of them!!!!”
Reviewed January 15, 2013

They served pizza with olives complete with stones which split my back tooth in two ?when I complained they lifted all the plates from the table of four (I was there with my wife and two kids) including a bottle of wine hardly touched and then presented me with the full bill ! when I refused to pay it they called the gendarme ., terrible attitude from the horrible duo of owners who have no idea how to deal with complaints apart from give us your money and get lost!?

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Philheath7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chez Nano also viewed

Val d'Isere, Savoie
Val d'Isere, Savoie
 
Val d'Isere, Savoie
 

Been to Chez Nano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing