We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”
Review of Hotel Altitude

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Altitude
Ranked #4 of 39 Hotels in Val d'Isere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 28, 2012

Next to the slopes, it is a really nice hotel. I like the decoration. The room was cleaned and quite big. The breakfast great. The staff was also very helpfull... Everything is done for a perfect stay...

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JulesZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (210)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 210 reviews

Reviewed February 15, 2012

I have just spent 4 nights at the hotel altitude at the beginning of february. I have got no faults with this hotel. 3 rooms were booked within our party, 2 being superior doubles and 1 being a standard double. The only difference between the rooms were the size, other than that they were both upto an equal standard. The bedrooms themselves were basic, clean, with a chalet style. We didnt need anything else during our stay. The bathrooms were lovely, i think they must have been recently renovated, very clean and comfortable.

The lobby/lounge area is very comfortable, great selection of local alcoholic beverages (cannot comment on international brands as i cant say i even looked for any) the waitor was very helpful and attentive. All staff we came across were very professional, helpful and friendly.

Breakfast was lovely, a traditional french continental breakfast, with the additions of boiled eggs and toast. We couldnt have asked for anymore really.

The location is ski in ski out and accesible for going up and coming back down from both sides of val d'iseres mountains. You have to walk down a road or across the ski slopes to get to the main town but this is not far at all.

A great value hotel for central val d'isere, we would stay again.

All in all we were very pleased with our hotel, great price

Room Tip: I woudl choose a superior room, 1st floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LauratheExplorer12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2012

Stayed here for three nights with a friend for a ski trip and were very impressed!

The staff were lovely and helpful. There is a nice lounge area with a bar and fire where you can access free wifi (not available in the rooms). They also have a ski room where you can store and lock up all your gear.

The location is fantastic! The view from our balcony literally overlooks the town and ski lifts. There are several ski lifts to cater for all ski levels just out the front of the hotel and is probably one of, if not the, closest hotel to the lifts. There is also a free lift for a short green run just down from the hotel which is great for a warm up!

There is a free shuttle that runs through town and stops just around the corner from the hotel. However when you arrive and depart with luggage in the winter, it is a little difficult through the snow to get from the bus to the hotel. We barely used the bus aside from when we had our luggage as it is such a small town you can easily walk from the hotel.

There is a ski/snow board hire place just where the bus stop is and there is a nice restaurant next door to it too!

The rooms were above what we expected being really comfortable and had plenty of room. They are very clean and serviced daily. The one negative - as I am a light sleeper - is the walls are quite thin and sound from your floor travels (we could hear the couple next door talking). 

Overall it was great, particialy being so close to the lifts it was defiantly fantastic value for money!

Will definately stay here again!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Riddleson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2011

We have stayed in many places in Val D'Isere in the past (of varying degrees of quality and location) but this was the first where we said we would definitely be back.

Booking was simple - a few exchanges of email and that was us booked for the week between Christmas & New Year, Actually the hotel was quite flexibile on dates so we had 5 days/4 nights staying Mon-Fri.

I didnt realise how conveniently located the hotel was - you literally ski right out of the door to the Solaise, Olympic or Rogoney lifts. I dont think there is a hotel in Val D'Isere that could claim to be closer. Finding it was easy and there is a major underground parking opposite.

We booked B&B and the breakfast was the usual varied continental. I judge a good hotel by its coffee & orange juice, and here the juice was fresh and coffee good enough to kick start your day.

The hotel had a really nice chalet / friendly atmosphere with a lounge/bar area in front of a log fire and a restauarant downstairs. We only ate in the restauarant once but the quality was good and the service first class. Very friendly and helpful hotel staff.

The rooms were spacious, warm and well equipped and it was a pleasure to stay there. Not sure if ours had recently been redone but all of the wood, furnishings, tiling etc looked brand new - like a new build - and of very high quality.

We were two adults and two kids and had two adjacent rooms. Will definitely be back. It was recommended to us by word of mouth and we would equally recommend it.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JamesSurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2011

If you want to stay at a place that's super convenient to skiing, this is the place to be. In the morning, you put your skis on outside the front door and can ski to either the Solaise lift or the Olympic gondola. At the end of the day, ski back from the slopes, any of the lifts, or the nearby bus stop.

The hotel itself is lovely. Staff is friendly. Lobby is bright and comfortable. The food is excellent. The morning breakfast buffet includes fresh bread, baguettes, croissants, fruit, yogurt, cereals, meats, cheeses, and hard boiled eggs. Dinner is also excellent. There is always a choice of two appetizers (soup or something else), two entrees, and a variety of desserts. You can also make arrangements for fondue or raclette in lieu of the set menu, but you need to make arrangements for this several days in advance.

The walk into town is easy -- just walk across the base of the mountain and in 5 minutes you're near the shops, restaurants, bakeries, etc.

The rooms are comfortable and have plenty of storage space. The bathrooms are bright and have all been renovated within the past 5 years. Beds are comfortable. The rooms with a village view offer great people watching at the end of the day.

My family has been staying at the Altitude every year for almost 20 years and the complaints some reviewers have made are overblown (I most certainly would not compare it to a hostel!!). While we love this hotel, no place is perfect and there are a few things that could use improvement. The rooms are charming, but they could use a fresh coat of paint and some new furniture. There is free wireless internet available, but it only works in the lobby and even then the signal is quite weak.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lynne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2011

So close to the slopes, easy walk into town, although the evening food was so good we hardly bothered to go elsewhere. Very friendly staff, happy to let our children practise their french ! Food was excellent, very French, but children's meal in the evening for the less adventurous. Breakfast very good. Staff couldn't do enough to help. Very clean - L'Occitane in the bathrooms - lovely ! Would defintely recommend and will be going back.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Barbara2812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2010

We have just returned from a one week stay in Hotel Altitude and felt compelled to write a review as we were so disappointed with our experience.
We wanted to stay somewhere nice over Christmas and thought the bedrooms looked to be of a good standard. Be Warned! We were given a room that does not appear on their website and which was quite frankly a disgrace; very small, with tatty furniture, threadbare carpets, dirty marks running down the walls and rock hard beds. The door wouldnt open as the lock was so old and when we spoke to the owner about it she behaved as if it was our fault and scowled instead of apologising as she moved us to an equally sub standard room next door. Shortly afterwards we received a phonecall from our Inghams rep to say that the owner had said we shouldnt even have that room as we had paid for 2 adults and a child and at 14 our son was considered an adult and therefore we should all be in the bigger more expensive room. As it turned out we had paid for three adults, almost £1000 each and although she accepted this she made no attempt to upgrade us to the room we had clearly paid for. Infact she spent the week avoiding even eye contact with us which was very unprofessional and made us uncomfortable when we hadnt done anything wrong.
There are some things about this hotel that are quite nice such as the lounge area and the bar staff ,the restaurant and the close proximity to the slopes. However the breakfast was very basic and there were several nights when the evening meal was not to our taste( fish soup and veal is one that I can remember) Also now that we have visited Val D'Isere we know that all of the village centre accomodation is very handy to the slopes and we would stay there if we returned. After many different ski holidays I have to say this is the first time our accomodation spoilt our experience and I would never recommend Hotel Altitude to anyone. i would go so far as to say people are being deceived by booking on the basis of what they see on the hotels or Inghams websites.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank skifamily_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Val d'Isere hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel L'Aigle des Neiges
Hotel L'Aigle des Neiges
#1 of 39 in Val d'Isere
425 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Avancher
Hotel Avancher
#9 of 39 in Val d'Isere
177 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tsanteleina Hotel
Tsanteleina Hotel
#2 of 39 in Val d'Isere
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Restaurant La Toviere
Hotel Restaurant La Toviere
#5 of 39 in Val d'Isere
153 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Yule
Le Yule
#12 of 39 in Val d'Isere
120 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Christiania
Hotel Christiania
#6 of 39 in Val d'Isere
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Altitude? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Altitude

Address: Rue de la Face, 73150 Val d'Isere, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Val d'Isere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Val d'Isere
#6 Family Hotel in Val d'Isere
Price Range: $239 - $421 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Altitude 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Altitude reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Altitude France/Savoie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing