We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding service”
Review of Hotel Christiania

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Christiania
Ranked #6 of 39 Hotels in Val d'Isere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 20, 2014

Just returned from a wonderful one-week family ski vacation at the Hotel Christiania in Val d'Isere and warmly recommend this hotel. Situated very close to the ski slopes, the Christiania has a cosy, Alpine atmosphere yet fully deserves its five stars. Our rooms were clean and comfortable, with balconies overlooking the mountains, and the lobby was large and inviting. As for the food, breakfast was excellent and dinner was truly outstanding - with a delicious salad and hors d'oeuvre buffet that we all looked forward to all day long. However, what truly makes this hotel special is the exceptional service and professional, friendly staff. It is unusual to encounter such a high level of service and we were particularly impressed by the wait staff and the front desk, all of whom went out of their way to ensure that we feel welcomed.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rebecca K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (169)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 169 reviews

Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

From the very beginning to the end of our stay the service was truly exceptional, the personal touches given by the staff are over and above what you would normally expect from a 5 star hotel.
Our room was very spacious and suited all of our needs, the bed was really comfortable! We had an amazing view of the slopes from our balcony.
The food was really fantastic. We opted for the set menu which offered a soup starter or an extensive buffet. It included fabulous seafood, my favourite being the tuna carpaccio, and a range of charcuterie. The main course offered a choice of meat or fish which was always meticulously prepared and delicious. I was very impressed with the knowledge the waiting staff had of all the cheeses they offered, some of which are from the local area. When it comes to the wide selection of desserts I suggest the chocolate mousse, it was a real delight!
Another real plus of this of the hotel is the proximity to the ski slopes, it's a short walk from the ski room where lockers are provided. The spa has a great sauna and steam room, we used this to relax after a hard days skiing!
We had a wonderful stay at the Hotel Christiania, we will certainly be booking to stay again next year.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cazapike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2014

This is my families 3rd trip to Val d'Isere and my 4th, previously having always stayed in chalets. We would definitely consider returning here. The hotel is fantastic; the staff could not do enough for us; nothing was too much trouble. The food was of a very high standard and the chef extremely accommodating; happy to make something for my son off the menu if he didn't fancy what was on offer. The rooms were very comfortable with plenty of storage space and offered a bath and shower. The swimming pool is small but adequate especially bearing in mind that the sports centre with a lanes pool is only a stones throw away for serious swimmers. The location was excellent; a short stroll to the lifts and ski school meeting place. We travelled here with Scott Dunn who were superb. A great holiday!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tania C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2014

This hotel is just fabulous and what makes it so are the staff, every single one of them was polite, courteous helpful and just seemed intent on you having the best possible holiday.
From the moment we were rather unceremoniously dumped outside the hotel by our tour company to the morning that we left our stay was just about perfect.
So what is so good:
1) The people - just entering the hotel on our first day we were made to feel like we were returning old friends. Everything is made as easy as possible the staff from the receptionists to the porters, barmen, concierge, waiters and Maitre D are incredibly preofessional but in a relaxed way such that you can have a laugh and a joke with them without feeling like you are compromising their professinalism.
2) The rooms - when we checked in we were told that we had been upgraded (C to C* I recall) which was a pleasant surprise, as was our room. There was plenty of space in the room, penty of hanging space and hangers. The bathroom was large with a bath and a great shower. We found the lights tricky to get the hang of but that might have been us!
We had been concerned about the noise and the heat. We had a small balcony with double doors, which seemed to block out any noise from Dick's Tea Bar even though we on the corner of the hotel overlooking it and the room was not overly hot at all.
3) The food - the breakfast buffet is excellent, plenty of choice for everybody and from cereals, juices, yoghurts, fruits, breads and pastries, hams, cheese, eggs and we certainly saw others requesting and receiving things that weren't on the menu.
Evenings are a 4 course meal (if you take advantage of the cheese board) starters are either soup of the extensive buffet. Some have suggested that the buffet is teh same every night and to an extent that is true but there is variation from night to night and there are so many choices that you don't need to eat the same every night. Two main course choices, a fish or red meat, were in the main excellent and then dessert is also a buffet. There are many of the same things here every night but there is certainly plenty of variety if you feel like indulging after a long days skiing.
Little chocolates and biscuits are serverd if you wish to have them with an after dinner tea or coffee or just on their own.
4) The bar - another area that some have suggested is over quiet, it is quiet with a lovely open fire and plenty of places to sit and have a drink (served with a selection of appetisers) and relax and just take up the ambience. The barmen are more than happy to discuss how your day has been and recommend a drink for you. They actually are great characters!
5) The skiing - there are individual ski lockers on which means that you don't have to fight with everybody elses kit every morning and afternoon. Everything dries out nicely over night.
There is a short walk (5 mins) to the lifts but it's all pretty flat, from there you can head up the Solaise or Bellevarde areas. Coming back in the afternoon you can ski to within a couple of minutes walk to the hotel.

Overall we had a brilliant week at the Christiania and would have no hestitation in returning in the future.

The only slight downside is the spa, its perfectly functional, there is a pool (small), a poolside area with loungers, and a sauna and steam room but it does feel a little bit of an afterthought. We didn't have any treatments so can't comment on those.

Room Tip: Our room was a C* and had a double door to the balcony but we had no noise from Dick's Tea Bar a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank psheen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2014

I have been going to Val D Isere for over 40 years and have stayed in other hotels in the village from two stars to five stars and the Christiana has the style, service, and amenities befitting the best of five star hotels . It's location and ambiance are worth the trip. The staff is fantastic, the rooms are comfortable and quite. The management has done everything to make your stay as relaxing as possible

Room Tip: B rooms are good A rooms are quieter and have better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2014

The hotel itself is nice, but two things make it really special: service and location (very close to the ski lifts and almost in the middle of the village). The hotel staff is the most helpful I have ever seen. The room I stayed (B superior) was nice, quiet and spacious. Bathroom (maybe in the entire hotel) was renovated. Breakfast was very good. We stayed on a B&B basis, but had dinner there once and it was surprisingly good (the daily menu included a great buffet and a choice of entree and it was very reasonably priced for hotel guests - the a la carte was really expensive and we did not try it). We did not use the spa: there is no hot tub and the gym (a couple of cardio machines by the pool) is not really inviting; the pool is set at 29 C (84 F), so not really inviting for me - the massages seem to be very good though.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank STIM_Brazil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

There is a great deal to rave about with the Christiania. The staff are outstanding, so friendly, they cannot do enough for you, they really make the hotel special. I will pick out the Concierge and the bar teams for a special mention but really, all the staff were very good. The hotel is spotless, bedrooms are cleaned and finished to a very high standard and inspected by a supervisor after cleaning to make sure everything is ship shape. The bedrooms themselves initially appear a bit small. We had an upgraded room with a view of the ice rink and the Solaise piste which I had expected to be a bit larger with more storage space, but this is the French way and we soon settled in to the space that we had. The style of the rooms is the traditional Savoyard décor which is in keeping with the atmosphere I always think. The beds were supremely comfortable and the bathroom was fantastic with a separate bath and shower. The bathroom décor and finish was brilliant. Our room was very quiet and didn't suffer any noise from inside or outside the hotel. It is always good to have a door which closes off the corridor to the bathroom and your main bedroom door in to the rest of the hotel, as I find that this keeps other guests' noise in the main corridors to a minimum, so I was pleased to find this in our room. This is the first hotel I've been in where the turn down service arrives when you are at dinner. It is so nice to return to your room later in the evening to find it all prepared for bed rather than be disturbed whilst you are getting ready for dinner - which happens almost everywhere else. The hotel location is excellent, just a few metres to the bottom of the lifts and yet off the main street so a bit quieter than other hotels. So, why a four star and not a five star review? Two issues for us; firstly the spa isn't up to standard for a five star hotel. This isn't about the staff who are very capable, it is about the design of the spa area. It really does feel like they've done the minimum necessary to tick a box. The pool is too small really to swim in although it works fine as a place to splash with the kids and there is no Jacuzzi which I think I would expect in a spa of a five star snow resort hotel. The spa is kind of 'open plan' which means there are four cardio machines located in the space between the reception desk and the pool. I did a run on the treadmill in 24.5 degrees centigrade. It just doesn't work. Gym equipment needs to be in a separate air conditioned room. The spa area is closed between 12.30pm and 3.30pm, so if you want to have a relaxing time in the pool whilst everyone is out on the slopes and before they come back, forget it. There are a few loungers around the pool edge but the wholedesign is lacklustre. The other issue for us was the meals. We were staying on a half board basis and we found the table d'hote menu to be average at best. Perhaps the a la carte is better. Too many soups and main courses were lacking in flavour. I would say that the meals are hearty and for some people this will be fine especially in a skiing holiday hotel. When we book a five star hotel in France we expect gourmet dining, meals that are exquisite and delightful, that is what fine French dining is about. This isn't what you get here. You get huge portions of simply cooked fare and it left us disappointed. There is a good salad buffet however. Dessert every evening is a buffet too, and after a number of nights, it seems ungrateful to say it, but you just get sick of the same things on offer. So dessert was also a triumph of quantity over finesse. A final thing - there is an enormous sun terrace at the Christiania which could be made to look and feel so much better. It is such a good space but so little is made of it. In summary then, if you want a well located hotel with great rooms, fantastic staff and hearty food, you can't go wrong here. If dining and spa are also high on your priority list, I think there are better places to go In Val which is such a shame.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank feedbackmatters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Val d'Isere hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel L'Aigle des Neiges
Hotel L'Aigle des Neiges
#1 of 39 in Val d'Isere
425 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Yule
Le Yule
#11 of 39 in Val d'Isere
120 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tsanteleina Hotel
Tsanteleina Hotel
#2 of 39 in Val d'Isere
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Les Barmes de l'Ours
Hotel Les Barmes de l'Ours
#12 of 39 in Val d'Isere
120 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Avancher
Hotel Avancher
#8 of 39 in Val d'Isere
177 reviews
1.1 mi away
Le Samovar Hotel & Chalets
Le Samovar Hotel & Chalets
#22 of 39 in Val d'Isere
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Christiania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Christiania

Address: rue du Parc des Sports | Bp 48, 73152 Val d'Isere, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Val d'Isere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Val d'Isere
#1 Romantic Hotel in Val d'Isere
#4 Luxury Hotel in Val d'Isere
Price Range: $398 - $1,002 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Christiania 5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Christiania Hotel is a Hotel located at 100 meters from the slops departure and also 100 meters from the Village Center.The Christiania has 69 rooms and Suite. There is a spa, which is composed by a indoor swimming pool, a sauna and a hammam. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Christiania reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Christiania Hotel Val d Isère
Hotel Christiania France/Savoie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing