We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great 3* stay.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Val d'Isere
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chalet Hotel Le Fjord
Ranked #5 of 18 Val d'Isere B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great 3* stay.”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Went there over the mid term break 2 Adults and 4 children aged 4-9 year of age.
The chalet is walking distant to Val Ski lifts if you wish.
There is a series of buses that stop about 100 metres from the chalet to take you to Val or Tigne.
The chalet has a lounge at one end ( with UK TV playing ) there is free wifi pretty much through the chalet 4 stories in today. There are meal servings on the ground floor for all guests. Alpine Elements run the chalet the food staff and feel of the chalet are AOK. This is not a 5* Chalet but if you want a pleasant stay in Val and don't mind being in a shared chalet ( Max 41 guests ) its very good. There is a sauna in he lower ground, a ski store on the lower ground. There are a bunch of ski shops over the road ( 50 metres away Precesion Skis ) there were 2 medium size supermarkets about 100 metres away. I did not think road noise was an issue.

Room Tip: Some rooms on the top floor were nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KiwiStevefromSW15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    23
    9
    8
    0
See reviews for
11
4
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I have to assume that I was actually staying at the same place as the other reviewers were, as I can't find a reference to more than one Chalet Le Fjords in Val d'Isere. Maybe their expectations were lower than mine?

This Ski chalet is very tired. It reminds me of student accommodation 20 years ago or a hostel for backpackers. Tatty floor coverings everywhere. Bed held together with gaffer tape. The radiator valve in our bathroom didn't work which made it like a sauna. No ventilation in the bathroom or loo. I could go on.

The breakfast choice wasn't very extensive, disgusting sausages, badly cooked in general, often cold, and mean portions. The evening meals were variable with some good and others rather school dinner-ish. I got the feeling that the (evening) chef was doing his best on a limited budget.The only nod in the direction of France, home of arguably the finest cuisine in the world, were baguettes.

This sort of standard may have been OK once, but it's not as if it was a bargain price, and I for one expect much better for the money. I stayed in Val d'Isere in a similar chalet 20 years ago which was cheaper and better.

On the plus side, the unlimited wine was OK and helped us be more mellow about about how poor everything else was. I forgot some good points. It's in a convenient location. The skiing and weather were excellent, but I don't think that Alpine Elements had much to do with that.

Room Tip: The rooms varied in size. The ones on the left of the building have balconies and are much bigger th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlpineElementsTeam, Manager at Chalet Hotel Le Fjord, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Hi chasdesigner

Thank you for your comments however we are saddened to hear that you had such a negative experience as all of our feedback this season regarding the Fjord has been positive and we need to find out where we went wrong in meeting your expectations.

I would appreciate the opportunity of discussing the problems that you had during your stay.
Please contact me at your earliest convenience so that we can listen to your comments and possibly find a way to restore your confidence in Alpine Elements.

My email address is:
csmith@alpineelements.co.uk

Clare Smith
Head of UK Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

we went in a group of 6 and the chalet was fantastic. i was very impressed with alpine elements and the organistaion was great. The rooms are basic but very comfortable, the location is very central to the slopes, vars and reastaurants and a few meters away from the free bus. Breakfast and dinner were both excellent, especially the evening meals, much better than i had experienced in other ski accomodation and would have been happy to pay for it in a restaurant. The staff were good, and created a laid back atmosphere. i couldnt fault anything about chalet fjord and would definatly stay there again.

Room Tip: ask for a room with en suite as not all are.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twilo83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here at the start of January with 21 of my friends and it was great! It's not got all the mod cons but its warm, comfortable and spacious. The staff from Alpine Elements who run the chalet were amazing, we were a large group and quite rowdy at times but the staff took it all in there stride and helped us with anything we asked. The chef is some sort of magician as every night the food that was served was unbelievably good! He catered for the fussier eaters in our group as well. Breakfast was simple but did the job. The chalet is right in the centre of the town and just a 5 minute walk to the lift or 2 minutes to the bus stop. I would recommend this place to anyone going in large groups but I don't think it's very suitable for families. Great place!

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jojo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 20, 2013

The accommodation is not the most up market, but there is a decent amount of space in each room and the chalet is well presented and tidy. The dinner room and lounge provide excellent socialising areas and there is a welcoming fire in the lounge as well.

The food was excellent and they catered for everyone's tastes. Previous reviews mentioned issues with the hot water supply, but as far as I could tell these have been resolved as there were no issues during our stay.

Generally the chalet was excellent and the staff were friendly and helpful. Good for a group of friends but not so for families. would definitively return/ recommend

Room Tip: make sure you book a room with a full en suite to ensure your own toilet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clarky152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Clean, good food and free wine at meal times, Short walk to lifts or bus stop.In the hart of the town Not all rooms have a toilet. Beds are good but the street noise can get a bit lound (snow cleaning) If your looking for French food and other people who are not British this is not the place to go!! Great staff and there happy to help you!! ENJOY

Room Tip: Happy Hour Vspot 4-6pm 2 beer $10 (Pool and Darts)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank laskolane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2012

39 of us travelled to Val in late December 2011. Age of group 18-30, students and young professionals. We found the chalet to be exactly what we needed for a fantastic week of skiing and apres ski partying.

All in all the Chalet is basic, but if you have done your research before travelling it is clear that this is the case. Alpine Elements clearly advertise this as an entry level chalet so don't expect swan folded fresh towels every day, ample bottles of shampoo or dehumidified warmed boot driers. You dont get these. You get a functional base to explore L'Espace Killy with friendly staff who were attentive and pleasant throughout.

Pros:

Good location in the centre of the town. 400m walk to lift or 100m to bus stop.
Clean functional rooms, the majority of which are ensuite (actual contents of bathrooms vary eg some only have a bath, some dont have a loo).
Excellent food throughout the week, tasty, reasonable portions, all with starters and unlimited wine.
Hassle free nights out organised. The mountain meal/tobogganing was fun.

Cons:

Basic chalet.
Hot water problems, but we have experienced this in multiple places when 39 people hit the showers all at once.
Young crew of Chalet staff (if its luxury and silver service you are after this place is not for you but we thought the staff were great).

Its likely we will be travelling with Alpine Elements again this season.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank robcollin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Val d'Isere
0.5 mi away
Hotel L'Aigle des Neiges
Hotel L'Aigle des Neiges
#2 of 39 in Val d'Isere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Restaurant La Toviere
Hotel Restaurant La Toviere
#8 of 39 in Val d'Isere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Ormelune
Hotel Ormelune
#10 of 39 in Val d'Isere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Tsanteleina Hotel
Tsanteleina Hotel
#1 of 39 in Val d'Isere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Christiania
Hotel Christiania
#6 of 39 in Val d'Isere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
18.4 mi away
Hotel Le Montana
Hotel Le Montana
#1 of 2 in La Tania
4.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Hotel Le Fjord? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Hotel Le Fjord

Property: Chalet Hotel Le Fjord
Address: avenue Olympique, 73150 Val d'Isere, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Val d'Isere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Val d'Isere
Number of rooms: 19
Also Known As:
Chalet Hotel Le Fjord France/Savoie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing