We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional chalet experience”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Val d'Isere
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chalet Bonjour-Bivouac
Ranked #1 of 18 Val d'Isere B&B and Inns
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Exceptional chalet experience”
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Tracey and Gary, supported by Steph, are a dream team. Tracey's culinary skills exceeded all expectations (fabulous cakes for afternoon tea but do make sure you leave room for dinner!) and Gary was a star in providing great ski hosting for boarders and skiers of all abilities. They really made our New Year skiing break special.
The chalet was cosy and homely with a sociable seating area leading off the dining room. As a family of five booking independently from the other guests there's always the risk that the whole group might not mix well, but in this case we hit the jackpot. The atmosphere every mealtime was fantastic - we all ate out together on the staff night off and had some great experiences on the slopes.
One suggestion though: please increase lighting in Room 1, which was rather compact and a little dark.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skitlbHarrogate, Owner at Chalet Bonjour-Bivouac, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
glad you had such a good yime
Your coments on the lighting have been noted and we will look at that for next year.
john
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    1
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
7
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014

After a super stay in December 2012 (see previous review), we returned again for the Christmas week in 2013. Hosted again by Tracy and Gary who were as exemplary as ever. Thanks also to Steph. Fantastic attention to detail in terms of looking after the guests and keeping them fed and watered. Very tasty meals prepared by the hard working Tracy!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skitlbHarrogate, Manager at Chalet Bonjour-Bivouac, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments and feedback, the staff work ever so hard and it is always great to hear back from guests. We hope we can welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2013

First week of the season and got a last minute offer from Ski Bonjour (who I have traveled with before). There were 4 of us and we stayed at Chalet Bivouac in Val d'Sere. We were looked after by Gary, Tracey and Natalia, they were fantastic hosts from showing us round the resort/mountain to the food, even the porridge (Gary's specialty) was great, but your feet would not move after a bowl of it!! Ha ha. Very comfortable chalet and very comfy bed. Real benefit is the chalet is only 20 meters from the slopes about 100 mtrs from the main lift. Only criticism would be the lighting in the bedroom is a little too bright and in the wrong place. Highly recommended stay. Dave

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skitlbHarrogate, Manager at Chalet Bonjour-Bivouac, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Hi Dave glad you had a good trip.
Please remember us again next year
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 19, 2013

Arrived at the Bivouac late Sunday the 8th Dec the first week of business, this didn't stop Tracy serving up a Sunday lunch style meal for all the guests! Much appreciated after the normal toils of a day getting to the mountains.
Gary’s porridge exceeded expectations in the morning and certainly sets you up for the day. Which you'll need if he is also going to be guiding you, he is great at catering for abilities and pushing the important info at you to help get your bearings. Also tips like scoot to that canon (being a boarder) and you'll be able to ride out from there or keep your speed up if there is a flat round the corner.
A great trip, the Chalet couldn't be closer to the slopes and although no fresh snow, the soft piste and bluebird days along with great company\food made it one to remember and hopefully experience again one day!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheez3y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skitlbHarrogate, Manager at Chalet Bonjour-Bivouac, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Your comments are much appreciated, the staff work so hard to produce high quality food and it is lovely to hear back from you. We are pleased that you have had an enjoyable holiday and have been looked after so well. Best wishes from the Ski Bonjour team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We had a great stay. We were a party of 6 and the hosts were considerate and hospitable at all times to us all. The food was delicious and we had great advice regarding the local area. Gary even accompanied us skiing and was able to give good advice regarding the ski slopes suitability for a beginner skier.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skitlbHarrogate, Owner at Chalet Bonjour-Bivouac, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thanks for your review
We are glad you enjoyed your holiday. We are very proud of all our staff who do such a great job, Garry and Tracey are back again this coming season but you will have to be quick as the chalet is already sold out for a lot of weeks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We have just returned from a week in Val d'Isere staying at Chalet Bonjour-Bivouac.

We went with another family - 4 adults, 3 children, 2 young adults. It was our first chalet holiday and it was absolutely fantastic. I didn't know quite what to expect but was not in any way disappointed on any level. The chalet itself was delightful, cosy, clean and comfortable. It was a very short walk to the slopes every morning and we could ski back in the afternoon to within 100m of the front door. Our hosts, Gary, Tracey and Tarah were exceptional and I was genuinely sad to say goodbye to them at the end of the week! They were warm, friendly and welcoming. Tracey's cooking was superb and she was always thoughtful of our likes and dislikes, particularly the children's. Gary was helpful and full of invaluable information. My husband went skiing with him every morning and had some of his best skiing experiences ever. Gary's knowledge and guidance was particularly useful as we had never been to the area before and are not particularly accomplished skiers! I loved the fact that our hosts were sociable and friendly without being intrusive.We love to laugh and they laughed with us. We found them very accommodating and found there was a good balance with feeling at home while still feeling very relaxed and being on holiday. Tarah kept the chalet in immaculate condition and looked after us well in the evening.

The most significant memory of the holiday was the way the lovely staff interacted with our children. Gary and Tracey accepted them and embraced their personalities. Our youngest was still in tears the night we got home saying how much she missed the chalet and Gary and Tracey and Tarah because they were so kind and loving! She was very sad that she might not go back there again! I would love to go back, particularly if this team was hosting again! Val d'Isere offers great skiing and the chalet is superbly positioned.

Ski Bonjour were easy to deal with. Apart from a small hiccup when they couldn't trace our payment the information and service we received from them was good. John gave a good and accurate description of the chalet when I called him to make an enquiry and it lived up to its billing.

We caught the train to Maurice St Bourg from Paris and that makes for a much quicker transfer than from Geneva airport.

All in all a great first chalet experience for us!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnBManager, Owner at Chalet Bonjour-Bivouac, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Angela,
Thank you for writting such a nice and detailed review of our chalet. Please tell Ellen that Gary and Tracey were sad to see her leave and that they would love to see her again next year.
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed in this chalet from the 24th March and had a fantastic time. From the moment we turned up and were greeted by host Gary in shorts (!!!) we were made to feel at home and nothing was too much trouble for the team.

The chalet is in a great posiition with just a minutes walk to the piste and the rooms were clean, comfortable and well furnished. Ski hire and lift passes were well organised and the whole holiday ran very smoothly.

IThe food and service was brilliant - Tracey was a star in the kitchen and it was with genuine
excitement we'd await the menu being revealed each morning, Tara and Gary were brilliant hosts - both in the chalet and on the mountain with Gary. His enthusiasm for boarding was infectious and personally I will remeber hooning down the Face with him on a powder morning for a long time.

I would definietly recomend the chalet to anyone heading to Val d'Isere and thanks to the guys at Ski Bonjour for making it a great week.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnBManager, Owner at Chalet Bonjour-Bivouac, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
so pleased that you enjoyed your holiday with us and that you had such great powder that week. Hope to see you at one of our chalets in the future.
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Val d'Isere hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel L'Aigle des Neiges
Hotel L'Aigle des Neiges
#2 of 39 in Val d'Isere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Altitude
Hotel Altitude
#3 of 39 in Val d'Isere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel le Kern
Hotel le Kern
#17 of 39 in Val d'Isere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ormelune
Hotel Ormelune
#10 of 39 in Val d'Isere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel L'Avancher
Hotel L'Avancher
#9 of 39 in Val d'Isere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Yule
Le Yule
#11 of 39 in Val d'Isere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Bonjour-Bivouac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Bonjour-Bivouac

Property: Chalet Bonjour-Bivouac
Address: Rue des Leissieres, 73105 Val d'Isere, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Val d'Isere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Val d'Isere
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chalet Bonjour-Bivouac offers the high standard of catered accommodation expected from a Ski Bonjour Chalet. It is ideally situated on a quiet side road, adjacent to the nursery slopes, only 250 metres from the centre of Val d'Isere and even closer to the ski school meeting points. Five superior en-suite bedrooms, three with mezzanines, accommodate up to 15 guests (12 adults) comfortably. Enjoy the luxury of your surroundings and high standards of service in this traditional chalet. Relax after a hard day's skiing in the apres-ski sauna, open every day from 4-7pm, before retreating to the sitting room. Every room is en-suite, with a bath and shower, and each contains a flat screen TV with English Freeview. All of our guests benefit from free Wifi in this chalet. You will enjoy excellent food on 6 nights of your stay with us, prepared by a private chalet chef. Meals are served with wine in the dining room each evening and you can relax afterwards with a hot drink in the lounge. Every day, afternoon tea is served with homemade cakes and biscuits. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chalet Bonjour-Bivouac France/Savoie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing