We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Chalet Bonjour-Bivouac
Nearby Hotels
Hotel la Savoyarde(Val d'Isere)
$301
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$163
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Kandahar(Val d'Isere)
$270
$262
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Altitude(Val d'Isere)(Great Value!)
$290
$224
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$250
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel le Kern(Val d'Isere)(Great Value!)
$156
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Le Yule(Val d'Isere)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Bellier(Val d'Isere)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (71)
Filter reviews
71 results
Traveler rating
66
3
2
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
66
3
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfantastic hostsmezzanine levelski homesame weeklocation was perfectgreat companygreat chefafternoon teaduckshort breakfabulous foodfamily groupnursery slopesdining tableevery morningother guestsliving room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
48 - 53 of 71 reviews
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed in this chalet from the 24th March and had a fantastic time. From the moment we turned up and were greeted by host Gary in shorts (!!!) we were made to feel at home and nothing was too much trouble for the team.

The chalet is in a great posiition with just a minutes walk to the piste and the rooms were clean, comfortable and well furnished. Ski hire and lift passes were well organised and the whole holiday ran very smoothly.

IThe food and service was brilliant - Tracey was a star in the kitchen and it was with genuine
excitement we'd await the menu being revealed each morning, Tara and Gary were brilliant hosts - both in the chalet and on the mountain with Gary. His enthusiasm for boarding was infectious and personally I will remeber hooning down the Face with him on a powder morning for a long time.

I would definietly recomend the chalet to anyone heading to Val d'Isere and thanks to the guys at Ski Bonjour for making it a great week.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnBManager, Owner at Chalet Bonjour-Bivouac, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

so pleased that you enjoyed your holiday with us and that you had such great powder that week. Hope to see you at one of our chalets in the future.
John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Just got back from a week in Val D'isere at Bonjour-Bivouac with 7 friends all staying in this fully catered chalet......

Rooms were cosy, clean & tidy, even for 3 guys staying in one of the triple rooms. Always worried about the amount of hot water for showers on skiing holidays and it never ran out which was a bonus.

Tracy's food was amazing and there was always more than enough to go around, so much so we didn't eat out once, apart from on the host's day off. Gary's hosting was a great experience, he showed us the resort, and took us to the best off piste areas at no cost at all. Tara made sure everyone felt absolutely at home. I haven't stayed in a chalet for a while skiing but this experience has really made me want to spend the skiing trip like this every time as the whole trip was made so much more complete with the warm and relaxed atmosphere. Gary also makes a mean porridge in the mornings which will set you up for the day and there is also a hot option in the morning which is just the right portion. Tea time is also a highlight with Tracy's amazing cakes, tasty french bread and an assortment of drinks. For anyone who is unsure I would definitely recommend this chalet as it made the trip-all 7 of us would agree!!

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor are the best as they have balconies.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rory K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnBManager, Owner at Chalet Bonjour-Bivouac, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

So pleased that your group loved our chalet experience. Thank you Rory for taking the time to share your memories with us. It is nice to know that you had such a good time. Tracey wand her cakes will be back again next year.
John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

I read the Trip Advisor reviews before our trip (24 Feb) .... they were so good I actually thought the hosts must have written them themselves! Now having stayed at the Chalet I realise that they are all fully deserved, this chalet was a brilliant find!

The location must be one of the best in Val D'isere being close to both the slopes and town. The rooms are clean, well furnished, spacious (certainly if only 2 in a room) and with a high standard of bathroom fittings etc. The lounge is comfortable and there's a small but more than adequate sauna.

Adding to this our hosts Gary, Tracey and Tarah were exceptional! They not only know exactly how to look after people but really seem to enjoy making sure their guests have a good time! Tracey's cooking was excellent, we all enjoyed every meal plus lots of personal touches (like ensuring I had regular carrot cake!!)..... Gary also chipped in with his specialty's like the paella night..... Gary's hosting on the slopes was excellent....loved his local knowledge of both the pistes and the eating / drink establishments, we all felt we'd really got the most out of the week and above all he made it fun! Tarah kept the chalet running like clock-work, looking after us at meal times and making sure our rooms were clean and tidy.... Thank you!

All in all cannot fault the chalet or our hosts... if the team were hosting next year we'd certainly look to follow them....

Some constructive feedback for Ski Bonjour.....

Ski hire from Tignes Spirit was disappointing... 2 of us had skis that simply wouldn't turn on day 1... they said it was the conditions although I've never had the problem before in 13 years of ski-ing & the replacement pair turned fine (even though they said they were a lower price category than the pair I'd paid for)....if staying at the Bivouac again I'd use a local Val D'Isere Ski shop so that its easier to return and swap equipment...

Airport Transfers.... we'd paid extra for the private minibus service....we're all experienced travelers and fully accept that things go wrong with international travel.... so when they do we'd appreciate honesty... the minibus / Swiss border situation was nobodies fault, almost comical.... so would prefer not to have stories of the minibus breaking down with no idea where it was... wasn't a brilliant start....

So in summary, exceptional hosts and chalet.... wouldn't recommend the ski shop.....and Ski Bonjour have something to learn re airport transfer customer service....

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnBManager, Manager at Chalet Bonjour-Bivouac, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Hi Paul
Thanks for writting a review of the chalet. Sorry about the mix up on your transfer. I too do not know anything about the bus breaking down. That day the Swiss authorities decided to stop all English mini buses picking up from Geneva and we had to cancel all such transfers for the rest of the season.
I always advise guests unless experts not to go for top end skis as you have to really work them and may find them difficult to control and turn. I am pleased that Tignes Spirit changed your skis so quickly.
On a good note Tracey and Gary have agreed to return for 2013/14 Season.
John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We had a great week at Chalet Bonjour-Bivouac. The rooms were cosy but had enough space for the family with the mezzanine floor being a great solution for the kids, the bathroom was fresh, and the cleaning was perfect.

We really appreciated the friendly staff that was very accomodating with our food requests (food allergy). The food was very well cooked and the wine served was excellent. But the menu was slightly too English. Not a lot of vegetables and other healthy components. Breakfast didn't include any vegetables, cheese or ham to mention one example but egg, bacon and croissant. But everything served tasted great so that made up for the menu. The paella was superb!

Location was perfect close to the slopes but still close to the restaurants and shops. We would definitely recommend this place and wouldn't hesitate to come back here again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CatharinaPaulcen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnBManager, Owner at Chalet Bonjour-Bivouac, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Dear Catharina
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We can organise the meals to suit you but only if you book exclusive use of the chalet. We could then give you ham and cheese etc for breakfast..
john

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

This is a lovely chalet located close to the lifts and to the village. We like the chalet and have stayed there many times in the last 10 years, but this was our first Ski Bonjour holiday. We were very impressed by the pre-holiday arrangements, with good communications and attention to detail by the Ski Bonjour team. They couldn't have been more helpful. And once we arrived, the team running the chalet this year did a fantastic job - Tracey produces wonderful meals and great cakes (amazing shortbread), Tarah keeps the chalet spotless and makes sure meal times run smoothly, and Gary provides constant cheerful enthusiasm - in the chalet, on the mountain, on skis and on his snowboard. Typically for Val d'Isere, Wi-Fi can be intermittent in the Bivouac, but for us it's not that important - in a chalet it's the people who make the holiday. We had such a good time we've already booked for next year...

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GnGDerby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnBManager, Owner at Chalet Bonjour-Bivouac, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Dear Gaynor
Great to see that you are returning to visit us next year .
Godd news is that Tracey and Gary have agreed to work another season for us nd will be there to greet you in 2013/14.
John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews