We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great staff”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Val d'Isere
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chalet Bonjour-Bivouac
Ranked #1 of 18 Val d'Isere B&B and Inns
boston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great staff”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Val d'isere Ski Bonjour - bonviac chalet was nicely decorated and food was greatttt !!!! and in a good location.
The staff was greatttt, Gary was very helpfull, Tracey is a great chef, really good talent .
Tarah service and help extraordinary

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank talita02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skitlbHarrogate, Owner at Chalet Bonjour-Bivouac, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Great to read you review.
I will pass your comments on to the chalet
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    1
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
7
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 26, 2013

If you are looking for the perfect chalet couple you will find them here! How refreshing to meet a couple who actually understand the meaning of customer service and actually derive pleasure from making your holiday so enjoyable! I'd like some of Gary's boundless energy! And a ski host who knows the mountain better than me despite having done a season in Val myself! The smart money should book in here!

Big hugs & keep in touch... My next chalet holiday will be wherever these lovely people are!

Karen x

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank KarenMHealy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skitlbHarrogate, Owner at Chalet Bonjour-Bivouac, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Hope to see you again.
Keep up the good work Gary and Tracy!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Holiday with two other friends 9/1-20/1/13.Had stayed in the chalet on several previous occasions over the years when under different management.Knew that the location could not be better i.e. literally 2 minutes walk from the slopes.Arrived at the chalet having learned two days previously that there had been a cockup in the booking by one of our party,as a result of which for one week of the holiday the three of us would be in one room, not two.Despite this major disappointment, our fault not management, a great holiday was had by one and all.The chalet staff, Gary, his wife Tracy( the real boss) and their delightful surrogate daughter Tara, are outstanding.They all have a very high work ethic, in Gary and Tracy's case because they are a more mature couple who take all their responsibilities seriously, and Tara because she has grown up in countries that believe in 'a fair days work for a fair days pay' i.e. Australia and New Zealand.
Tracy is a tremendous cook with a lovely, relaxed manner, and the portions of food were just right.
Gary is full of boundless enthusiasm and energy, as befits a man who has been a PE Instructor in the Royal Navy for -- years.
Tara was a lovely hostess at dinner in the evening, enquiring as to how everyones day had been.She also did a great job in cleaning the rooms every second day.
The rooms are all wood panelled in an attractive style.

Room Tip: Rooms 4/5 are the largest, with good balcony, and south facing.Ideal if holidaying in April.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IMCL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skitlbHarrogate, Manager at Chalet Bonjour-Bivouac, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Glad you had a good time. I will pass your thanks on to the staff.
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

The hosts (Gary and Tracy) are first class and food is plentiful and good quality. A couple of things to keep in mind - the wifi is ordinary, be prepared to get going early, don't use the recommended ski hire company (Tignes Spirit) as they are too far away and the service and equipment is poor quality, don't count on a double bed, John and Steven (the owners of the business) are rude, pompous and generally a poor reflection of the qualities you discover in the Chalet and finally the location is good.

Room Tip: Rooms 4 and 5 are the best in the chalet
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adrian255100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skitlbHarrogate, Owner at Chalet Bonjour-Bivouac, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Adrian and his wife booked one week at another of our chalets and then a second week here. When they arrived at the Bonjour-Bivouac I had very forceful phone call in which his wife said that as they were the first to book a room in the chalet, they had reserved a double room (not the twin which they had been allocated), and demanded to be moved to the only double room in the chalet. After a long conversation I apologised if I had made a mistake but I told her they could not be moved otherwise the other guests who were booked into the double room would be upset, but I would investigate and get back to them.
On investigation that day I found that the other couple who were allocated the double room had booked several weeks before them so that when they booked they would have been told that there was no double room available. I emailed them immediately but I have had no reply or apology. We try and please all our guests and are sorry that we did not manage the impossible this time.
Similarly I know that Tignes Spirit are disappointed that you did not find there service good especially after a phone call from you they disrupted their deliveries to other clients to bring you your skis early, and later in the week delivered a snowboard which you kept for only one day before having it changed back for the skis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed here from the 16th December 2012 for a week, an all age family holiday for 13 including 4 from Australia. This chalet is the best in Val d'Isere for position, comfort and charm. This years staff in the persons of Gary, Tracey and Tara are fantastic and if there are any spaces left for this season BOOK now! Tracey's cooking is 5* - the best you could ever dream of in a catered chalet. Her white chocolate brownies, confit of duck and eggs benedict deserve special mention. Gary is a very knowledgeable ski host and was happy to cover easy runs with the beginners as well as challenge a very competitive 20 year old. We could not fault it!

Room Tip: All the rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RidgHeps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skitlbHarrogate, Owner at Chalet Bonjour-Bivouac, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Thanks for your nice comments.
I know Gary and tracy told me what a pleasure it was to have such a nice family to start there season.
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2012

We stayed here in Jan 2011 and had an amazing ski holiday. As always we were very well looked after by Team Bonjour. Food and wine super. Warm, comfy chalet. Ski in and very short walk to nearest lift. Have also stayed at Chalet Bonjour Bonjour in Tignes les Brev and can highly recommend this too. Just booked the Bivouac again for 2013.

Ski Bonjour is a small but growing ski company that obviously values customer service and must take good care of its staff too - they're always happy and nothing is too much trouble.

One word of warning if driving to Chalet Bivouac - no parking by Chalet. We had to pay about £60 for the week in a public car park.

Room Tip: They're all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sideshowsusie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2012

val d'isere is one of if not the best ski resort i have been to. The village itself has everything you could wish for from pubs to sweet shops. The BnB it self was excellent the quality of rooms and services were exceptional. I Cannot say much more really!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sponge91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Val d'Isere hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel L'Aigle des Neiges
Hotel L'Aigle des Neiges
#2 of 39 in Val d'Isere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Altitude
Hotel Altitude
#3 of 39 in Val d'Isere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel le Kern
Hotel le Kern
#17 of 39 in Val d'Isere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ormelune
Hotel Ormelune
#10 of 39 in Val d'Isere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel L'Avancher
Hotel L'Avancher
#9 of 39 in Val d'Isere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Yule
Le Yule
#11 of 39 in Val d'Isere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Bonjour-Bivouac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Bonjour-Bivouac

Property: Chalet Bonjour-Bivouac
Address: Rue des Leissieres, 73105 Val d'Isere, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Val d'Isere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Val d'Isere
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chalet Bonjour-Bivouac offers the high standard of catered accommodation expected from a Ski Bonjour Chalet. It is ideally situated on a quiet side road, adjacent to the nursery slopes, only 250 metres from the centre of Val d'Isere and even closer to the ski school meeting points. Five superior en-suite bedrooms, three with mezzanines, accommodate up to 15 guests (12 adults) comfortably. Enjoy the luxury of your surroundings and high standards of service in this traditional chalet. Relax after a hard day's skiing in the apres-ski sauna, open every day from 4-7pm, before retreating to the sitting room. Every room is en-suite, with a bath and shower, and each contains a flat screen TV with English Freeview. All of our guests benefit from free Wifi in this chalet. You will enjoy excellent food on 6 nights of your stay with us, prepared by a private chalet chef. Meals are served with wine in the dining room each evening and you can relax afterwards with a hot drink in the lounge. Every day, afternoon tea is served with homemade cakes and biscuits. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chalet Bonjour-Bivouac France/Savoie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing