We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Take a Seat, This One Was A Doozy.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Bellevue

Hotel Bellevue
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Bellevue
Ranked #15 of 18 Val d'Isere B&B and Inns
Arusha
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Take a Seat, This One Was A Doozy.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

Wow, where do I start?!

I travel a lot including more basic parts of Africa and Asia but this place had so many 'issues' I really am compelled to share some of them. I spent 13 days here and it was an exercise in developing a zen mentality!
Issues include -

-Staff using the entrance area as their smoking area
-The foul smell down the bottom of the hotel outside the kitchen where the clothing racks are
-Smell from plumbing in room - absolutely vile, smelt like a pub toilet at midnight.
-Some staff indifferent bordering on rude.
-State of the breakfast area - walk in after 8.30 and it looks like a bomb has gone off. The staff have no interest in clearing till the last moment which means clearing rubbish of tables yourself to create a place to eat.
-It's directly across the road from the Moris Pub, the main pub for young Brits - say no more.
-Paper thin doors
-Noise echoing through every floor and room, especially from the banging of the swinging doors into the kitchen. This is heard clear as day on all three floors, I had quite a few discussions with other guests about this. The manager/s were asked on at least three occasions by different guests if they could simply chock the doors open but to no avail!
Hence, you definitely don't need an alarm in the morning.
-I counted 37 (!!) cigarette butts on the terrace outside my room. They were their for my entire stay.
-Neither of the two rooms I stayed in had a shower head which could be mounted on the wall. The answer? Juggle it.
As for water pressure, an incontinent old man could piddle with more pressure.
-The bathroom sink had no cold water.

So the question is this - does a 'hotel' where the staff culture is so bad, deserve to get away with so many problems, most of them totally fixable if the staff gave a crap?
Fortunately (or unfortunately) it's a relatively cheap place in a great position near the centre of town and near the ski lifts.
Make your choice.......

Room Tip: Avoid a room facing the main road - the drunks are very noisy at all hours.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    3
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
1
1
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

I stayed for 4 nights on a ski vacation. It's small and basic. Hotel is clean. Location is fantastic in the center of town. Can walk to everything. Skiing was spectacular. Val d'isere is expensive and this hotel is one of the few reasonable options.

Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
4 Thank OldPee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Godalming, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

We stayed here at the end of our second day in the Alps - good comfortable hotel - dinner was good and breakfast was a continental help yourself with a good spread. Hotel needs a facelift as a little 50s throw back in style and presentation. Kitchens had a nasty odour coming from them as I went in to fill a 25 gallon water container - maybe a visit from the hygiene inspector would sort things out could have been a lot cleaner.
I would return simply on the budget and ease of booking.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barcelona
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2012

If you are looking for something basic and cheap, but still pleasant in Val d'Isère, you might as well try out this small hotel. I slept here for one night only and found it nice, especially considering how expensive everything is in Val. It is located at the beginning of the old village, I'd say 150 metres from the Tourist Office; you can easily walk to the slopes or take the frequent shuttle to Rond Point des Pistes (passes every 4 minutes, 1 stop only!).

Rooms are quite clean and cozy enough (apart from the bad spring mattress, but I've always found bad mattresses on the French Alps). I stayed in a single room with basin, shower and bidet, with a toilet on the same floor to be shared with three more rooms. The lady at the reception is very nice and helpful, which is definitely a plus! There is also a restaurant in the hotel; I had a fondue there, which honestly wasn't too good, but not too bad either.

Keep in mind that if you book through the Val d'Isère official website, rates will be quite higher; the Tourist Office proposed me the same room for 70€, but I went directly to the hotel and got a much cheaper price, 50€ per night incl. breakfast (a small and simple sweet buffet) in low season, while double rooms are 70€.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tipsology
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Val d'Isere hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel le Kern
Hotel le Kern
#11 of 39 in Val d'Isere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel L'Avancher
Hotel L'Avancher
#8 of 39 in Val d'Isere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel L'Aigle des Neiges
Hotel L'Aigle des Neiges
#2 of 39 in Val d'Isere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ormelune
Hotel Ormelune
#10 of 39 in Val d'Isere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel la Galise
Hotel la Galise
#13 of 39 in Val d'Isere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Restaurant La Toviere
Hotel Restaurant La Toviere
#7 of 39 in Val d'Isere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bellevue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bellevue

Property: Hotel Bellevue
Address: rue Nicolas Bazile | BP 247, 73155 Val d'Isere, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Val d'Isere
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Val d'Isere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Bellevue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bellevue France/Savoie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing