We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel,great location, friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Le Samovar Hotel & Chalets
Ranked #22 of 39 Hotels in Val d'Isere
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel,great location, friendly staff”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed at the hotel in February 2013. The location is excellent, virtually door to door skiing, with a funicular,cable car and chair lift opposite the hotel and the bus stop for the free shuttle service. The hotel is in a quiet area, the rooms are well appointed and everywhere is clean and cared for. The staff were friendly and helpful.The restaurant is average ( there are other, better places nearby) but the breakfasts are good. There is secure covered car parking available.We would certainly stay there again but on a B&B basis.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front have a very nice view of the slopes
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cliveden09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    31
    9
    4
    5
See reviews for
45
50
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We spent a week at Le Samovar and were very impressed. Location is great - bus to Val d'Isere (5mins away) and ski lift are on the other side of the road. The hotel itself is very clean and the rooms are sufficiently big. Food is great and portions are generous.

While on the trip, I hurt my leg and the staff did their best to make me as comfortable as possible.

Would definitely recommend to friends.

Many thanks for the great holiday.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kraaaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 15, 2013

We, as a family of 4, stayed at Le Samovar for a week and really enjoyed the overall atmosphere of hotel and the service we received throughout our stay.
The hospitality of all personnel, incl. the owner was superb and all of inquiries were met fairly quickly.
Though the hotel was not at the heart of city center, reaching there was easy and fast as the bus stop was right accross the street from the hotel. Buses were free of charge!!!
The food at the hotel 's restaurant was better than most of the city 's highly-preached restaurants. We experienced most as we dined out every single night.
Therefore, we strongly recommend Le Samovar if one searches for a friendly, comfortable and down-to-earth 4* hotel to lodge.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LukeHaluk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardff
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

We have been regular guests at the Samovar over the last 12 years or so & have always thoroughly enjoyed our stay, with Sylvie & all of the staff being attentive to the smallest detail.
The rooms, food & drink at the hotel are always 1st class. This year we stayed at the Chalet St Michel as an alternative. This too was excellent, the location perfect with plenty of room for our family - and we were able to visit the hotel bar in the evenings!
The hotel is a real gem in a perfect position for skiing in Val d'Isere.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Le Samovar is very fiendly and cosy hotel with perfect location just outside Val dÌsere. The train up in the skiarea is right outside the hotel and there is a skibus (free of charge) between La Daile and Val dÌsere all day and evening. Hotel Samovar has a bar with cosy furniture for after ski and a very good restaurant with a very fiendly staff. We can really recommend this nice chalet for skiers.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katarina339
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Stayed for a week in early Feb 2013, the hotel was perfect and our room was lovely and very comfortable especially after a long day snowboarding on the pristine slopes. The food was simply divine and the half board menu was not restrictive providing a delicious breakfast and a evening meal that exceeded our expectations. We would definitely recommend this hotel to any one and the location for access to the slopes cant be beaten. The free bus service throughout Val stops just across the road making getting in and out of the main town easy and effortless.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hazelc7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

The Samovar manages to combine alpine charm with modern comfort. We stayed half board and the food was varied and excellent. Even my 13 year old son enjoyed the food!
The bar is nice, but the drinks are not cheap!
The hotel has free wifi, which worked well.
The location of the hotel was excellent, with a very short walk across the road to the funival. Skiing back to the hotel is very easy, down one of the three slopes into La Daille.
The location of the hotel is very quiet. If you are looking for lots of nightlife this isn't the location for you - a hotel nearer the centre of Val d'isere would be better located for nightlife.
Our bedroom was a standard room, it was warm, modern and clean, but a bit on the small side. We had a shower (no bath). The shower room was modern, with no shortage of hot water.

Room Tip: Ask if the room has a shower or bath and the size of the room. Also ask if the room is on the front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Val d'Isere hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel L'Aigle des Neiges
Hotel L'Aigle des Neiges
#1 of 39 in Val d'Isere
424 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Kandahar
Hotel Kandahar
#17 of 39 in Val d'Isere
89 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Restaurant La Toviere
Hotel Restaurant La Toviere
#7 of 39 in Val d'Isere
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel L'Avancher
Hotel L'Avancher
#9 of 39 in Val d'Isere
176 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Ormelune
Hotel Ormelune
#10 of 39 in Val d'Isere
136 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel la Savoyarde
Hotel la Savoyarde
#15 of 39 in Val d'Isere
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Samovar Hotel & Chalets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Samovar Hotel & Chalets

Property: Le Samovar Hotel & Chalets
Address: la Daille, 73150 Val d'Isere, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Val d'Isere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Val d'Isere
#7 Spa Hotel in Val d'Isere
#11 Luxury Hotel in Val d'Isere
#12 Family Hotel in Val d'Isere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Samovar Hotel & Chalets 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Samovar is located at the foot of the slopes in la Daille, Val d'Isere, and just opposite the funicular Funival. Traditional mountain decor and modern alpine style furniture. Comfy lounge aria, fire place, restaurant, bar. Free 5 minutes bus service to the centre of Val d'Isere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Le Samovar Hotel & Chalets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Samovar Hotel And Chalets
Le Samovar Hotel & Chalets France/Savoie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing