We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Val d'Isère's hidden gem ...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Le Samovar Hotel & Chalets
Ranked #22 of 39 Hotels in Val d'Isere
Cheshire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Val d'Isère's hidden gem ...”
Reviewed July 17, 2011

My wife and I had an absolutely fantastic holiday at the Hotel La Samovar.
Our room was excellent with beautiful views across the piste. The food was lovely and the restaurant staff where polite and very friendly.
The hotel itself has an authentic feel to it with a relaxed and friendly atmosphere. It’s location was perfect for us, just outside the town with direct access to and from the piste.
The hotel owner, Sylvie, made us feel most welcome and we look forward to seeing her again. Special thanks also to her team, including Celine, Nina and Elodie.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Crashbandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    31
    9
    4
    5
See reviews for
45
50
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2011

My partner and I booked our holiday through Inghams (we've used them for years) and spent about £2.2k on the whole holiday (meals/drinks, ski hire, lift pass, accommodation, flights, transfers) which is more than we usually spend, but wanted to push the boat out this year. We are so glad we did!
The hotel was in the perfect location for us: at the foot of the Coupe de Monde piste, opposite 3 lifts to take you to the Espace Killy ski area (comprising of Val d'Isere and Tignes). The hotel is in La Daille, a 5 or 10 minute stroll from Val town centre, or there is a free bus every 10 mins or so from La Daille to the town centre and other ski areas. It takes about 15 minutes to travel from La Daille to Le Fornet, the village on the other side of Val d'Isere.
Ski hire is available at SkiSet behind the hotel (2 min walk) - which we pre-booked via Inghams and there's a boot room attached to the hotel with pin code entry.
The hotel has great staff, who are very helpful and they speak good English, although I was desperately trying to practice my French! We arrived in time for dinner on our first day and had 5 courses to devour (1. Soup of the Day 2. a salad/starter 3. main 4. mini-dessert (!) 5. dessert). You choose your evening meal in the morning. There is no dinner served on a Tuesday night (we went to Les Tufs, across the road which I would highly recommend) but they serve lunch on Friday to compensate. The food is fantastic and I cannot rate it highly enough. On Thursday you were offered either Raclette or Fondue. The restaurant also serves passers-by and was quite busy on Friday night, but were still looked after very well and there was no dip in the quality of the food. Service in the restaurant was always efficient and friendly. My partner and I don't drink alcohol and water was provided free of charge.
Our room was on the second floor and had a great view of the pistes opposite. Wifi access was free (you obtain a code from reception). We had a twin room which was a very good size (we've stayed in some tiny rooms before!) and the bathroom was well-equipped with a hairdryer and powerful shower, with a separate loo.
We walked into Val d'Isere on most days and sampled the gaufres and crepes in a few of the cafes in town. The ski area of Espace Killy is fantastic and the snow was great. Weather unfortunately was pretty cloudy and cold on two of our skiing days but otherwise brilliant. We had a whole area pass (rather than just Val or just Tignes) and discovered the X-Games were going on in Tignes during our stay which was free to attend - bonus!
If you go to Val d'Isere please do give this hotel a try - our holiday was expensive, but I'm sure cheaper deals are available depending on the time of your stay. If you can't manage the hotel then do make the effort to go for dinner there during your stay - highly recommended!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank clarabellaboxer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2011

This hotel is directly opposite the funicular, chair lift, telecabine . The free ski bus running to Val D'Isere and Le Fornet stops outside the hotel/. Ski hire shop is behind the hotel, and across the road there is a supermarket, ski shop. The hotel location is the nearest you will get to ski in / ski out, and also is the probably the easiest route down from the mountain via a green run. Located with easy access to Val D'Isere and Tignes..
Good breakfast, usual cheese/ham, croissants, bread etc, Tropicana fruit juice, and a hot choice. The evening meal, which you chose in the morning.was of a very good standard, in fact 5 courses in total, soup, starters , main dishes, cheese or yogurt dessert. Wine is expensive, but they will cork the wine for you to have the following night. Nice communal area, sofas, tv, very cosy. Boot room is attached to the hotel via outside, but it is dry and there are boot warmers. Free wi-fi throughout. Friendly staff. The room was recently re-furbished, usual cream and red materials, nice modern bathroom, tea and coffee making facilities in room, safe, hairdryer. For a 3 star hotel, I think this is one the best we have stayed in, better than some 4 star hotels. I would definately recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WirralLady_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 14, 2011

Located opposite three lifts at the top of which you turn right for Tignes or left for Val d'lsere. The hotel was comfortable and very friendly with good service. A free bus ran into Val every 7 minutes up to 8pm and every 30 minutes till 2am

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikecorbett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2011

The family owned Hotel Samovar is ideally positioned directly opposite and 100 metres from the funicular, chair lift, telecabine and ski pass office in La Daille. The free ski bus which runs between La Daille and Le Fornet stops outside the hotel door. For your ski hire there is a Skiset shop in the block directly behind the hotel and there is a supermarket in a block 150 metres away. Unfortunately, it is not a ski in, ski out hotel positioned on the slopes but given a good dump of snow it may be possible to ski to the bus stop across the road!

At breakfast each morning we made a selection from the evening dinner menu; in addition to soup there was a choice between two starters and three main dishes, there was cheese and a choice of deserts. In our opinion the food was of reasonable quality, well cooked and presented. The chef was happy to accommodate our request for changes to the menu for dietary reasons etc. Although their wine selection was quite good we thought it tended to be expensive. The majority tended to be more than 30 euros and only a few less than 20 euros a bottle. We suggested that there be a better selection of wines around 20 euros. The dining room service was very good and the waitresses were pleasant and efficient.

There are about 18 bedrooms and ours looked out to the slopes opposite. We were pleasantly surprised at the size of our room having had far smaller rooms in more expensive hotels in the past. Also, it was the first ski hotel room which provided tea and coffee making facilities.

One cannot access the ski room from inside the hotel but has to go outside. The room is a bit small and there are no lockers in which to secure skis or boots. We find it useful to have a ski lock to prevent people taking them by mistake.

The hotel restaurant and bar is closed on Tuesday evenings but one can instead have a full lunch on Fridays. We were not aware of this when we booked for 7-days half board and this is our only complaint which really is with the tour operator for not informing us. Seemingly, many smaller hotels close their restaurant for one day per week but we have never experienced it. There are two restaurants nearby. We chose to eat at Le Barillo across the road. Two mains, one desert and 500ml of house wine cost 62 euros. The restaurant next door to Le Samovar is similarly priced.

On our last night at the hotel the owner personally thanked us for staying and asked if everything had been OK. That's a rarity these days and left us quite impressed, someone who appreciated our custom. Yes, we would go back and yes we would recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dennis472016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Malo
2 reviews
Reviewed March 30, 2010

I have stayed in a few hotels over the years in Val d'Isère & this is my favourite (so far)! It's charming and cosy with plenty of interior design decoration details. The staff are friendly and helpful and the management/owners discrete yet approachable. Easy access to skiing with the Funival close by and free regular buses to the other areas of town.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexandraSaintMalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Val d'Isere hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel L'Aigle des Neiges
Hotel L'Aigle des Neiges
#1 of 39 in Val d'Isere
424 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Restaurant La Toviere
Hotel Restaurant La Toviere
#7 of 39 in Val d'Isere
143 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Kandahar
Hotel Kandahar
#18 of 39 in Val d'Isere
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Tsanteleina Hotel
Tsanteleina Hotel
#2 of 39 in Val d'Isere
219 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Ormelune
Hotel Ormelune
#10 of 39 in Val d'Isere
136 reviews
1.1 mi away
Alpina Lodge - Val d'Isere
Alpina Lodge - Val d'Isere
#31 of 39 in Val d'Isere
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Samovar Hotel & Chalets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Samovar Hotel & Chalets

Property: Le Samovar Hotel & Chalets
Address: la Daille, 73150 Val d'Isere, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Val d'Isere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Val d'Isere
#7 Spa Hotel in Val d'Isere
#11 Luxury Hotel in Val d'Isere
#12 Family Hotel in Val d'Isere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Samovar Hotel & Chalets 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Samovar is located at the foot of the slopes in la Daille, Val d'Isere, and just opposite the funicular Funival. Traditional mountain decor and modern alpine style furniture. Comfy lounge aria, fire place, restaurant, bar. Free 5 minutes bus service to the centre of Val d'Isere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Le Samovar Hotel & Chalets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Samovar Hotel And Chalets
Le Samovar Hotel & Chalets France/Savoie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing