We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location - wonderful hotel”
Review of Hotel Ormelune

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Ormelune
Ranked #11 of 39 Hotels in Val d'Isere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 3, 2011

We are a group of friends who have skied together for 11 years. We have never stayed in such a great place as this hotel. It is unbelievably well placed for the skiing. The staff could not have been more accomodating and the place itself was terrific. The rooms are clean and warm. The food was good. It is modern with a tongue in cheek decor and very relaxed. We will be back.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jolib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (136)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 136 reviews

Reviewed January 22, 2011

We stayed there for 15 nights, for Christmas and New Year's Eve. We were very well taking care of, we felt like being guests to someone's home, really! I would say this is mainly due to the owner of the hotel, who was there every day till late in the evening to make sure everything goes well. She is genuinely nice and caring, and this makes a big difference in hospitality business... In fact, such personal involvement is so rare these days... The staff at Ormelune was very friendly and relaxed, sometimes you could have forgotten they are working there, seemed they are spending holiday there with us :-) The food was great, fine and delicious! I wonder what could have gone wrong that could have upset someone in this restaurant... it was one of the finest in Val D'Isere! Therefore, of course I highly recommend Ormelune!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YCW_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2010

Your experience starts when you are greeted by the charming staff (even at 7:30 in the morning) and it keeps getting better

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barry66a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2010

I could not fault our stay at Ormelune at all. Firstly the staff make every effort to exceed your expectations and make sure you are happy. I felt the service was every bit on par with some of the very expensive 5-star hotels I've stayed in, except at Ormelune they seem genuinely happy at work and therefore happy to serve. Secondly the decor and vibe was cosy and unique. Third, the location is fantastic in Val D"Isere, shall we say its Ski-In and short walk out. Lastly, the rooms were bigger than I expected for the price, and for a ski hotel. Overall, we were very happy, fantastic value for money, by the lovely people of Ormelune.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yz2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2010

My boyfriend and I were upgraded to Ormelune Hotel as our original Hotel was fully booked (thankfully). Had a fantastic stay at the Ormelune... The hotel has recently been renovated and the reception, bar, resto, breakie area and our room were nicely done and very welcoming. We had a "piste view" which was even nicer.... The breakfast was very generous and lovely... Dinner at the resto was simply fabulous - my boyfriend claims he had the best steak at Ormelune - even better than Gauchos Grill - so you know what to expect ;) ... Service was impeccable..... I did my knee 2 days in over our week stay and the staff were so caring and very attentive to my needs and requirements. The personnel/staff were very helpful with their tips of resto, things to do in the area and lil advices of getting around.... Ormelune is situation in the village centre so it was easy to get everywhere from the hotel.... Many Thanks to everyone working @ Ormelune for a very lovely stay......

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angel2010London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2010

First impressions were great, the staff uber friendly. The whole week at this hotel has been fantastic. We couldn't pick a fault. We stayed half board and the food was fantastic. If you didn't like something on the set menu they were more than happy to let you change. During our stay We had pork, rabbit, salmon, duck etc all cooked to perfection so you're in for some good food and you need it after boarding all day. They have all the facilities for boot drying and secure board storage. The other plus point Is you walk out the front door and you are in the center of the village. The slopes are just round the corner and ski school is directly opposite. The decor is very contemporary but very warm. You could sit by the open fire all night eat in the restaurant or just sit and drink at the bar. The staff can't do enough for you. The only downside and it's a little one is the room we were in was a little small. However we did book 3 days before
travelling. Altogether a really memorable holiday and by far the best snow resort period. We will definately come back to this hotel again. (soon)

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Snowboardmayhem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2009

This place is unusual ... to say the least. The design is ultra modern & retro (yes..) - but in a good way. Hard to explain, you have to see it.
The room was great - large enough to feel spacious, which you don't always get even in four star hotels in Europe. We had a slope side view (at an angle) and a balcony - I was surprised, I didn't realize this hotel could see the slopes.
The staff was very friendly - helped us willingly with anything we needed.
But most importantly - location! - this hotel is in the very center of the village, and literally steps from the slopes. It is VERY convenient.
The price at over $330 a night (for 2 people) seems high - but I gather is a about right for val d'isere (we came just before high-season).

Bottom line - I highly recommend. Often times you pay top $ just to be disappointed with one thing or another - here we paid top $ but had no reason to regret it.
And the skiing was heavenly.

oh - parking is extra at 15E a day but only a few meters away.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gsideman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Val d'Isere hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel L'Aigle des Neiges
Hotel L'Aigle des Neiges
#1 of 39 in Val d'Isere
432 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Christiania
Hotel Christiania
#6 of 39 in Val d'Isere
169 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Yule
Le Yule
#10 of 39 in Val d'Isere
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Tsanteleina Hotel
Tsanteleina Hotel
#2 of 39 in Val d'Isere
220 reviews
1.1 mi away
Le Samovar Hotel & Chalets
Le Samovar Hotel & Chalets
#22 of 39 in Val d'Isere
126 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Altitude
Hotel Altitude
#4 of 39 in Val d'Isere
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ormelune? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ormelune

Address: rue Noel Machet | Bp 45, 73150 Val d'Isere, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Val d'Isere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Val d'Isere
#7 Luxury Hotel in Val d'Isere
#9 Romantic Hotel in Val d'Isere
Price Range: $235 - $643 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ormelune 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine yourself with us here at 1850 metres, in the resort of Val d’Isère, at the heart of the Espace Killy, the most exceptional ski area of the Savoie’s Northern Alpes. From its central location the Ormelune looks out to the North over the convivial village centre with its cheerful boutiques, bars and restaurants and on the southern side gazes out towards the Face de Bellevarde. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Ormelune reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ormelune France/Savoie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing