We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Ormelune
Reviews (151)
Filter reviews
151 results
Traveler rating
108
34
4
4
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
108
34
4
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsterrific valueslopes liftsthe location is perfectski seasonyour luggagefamily roomsauna and steam roomcomfortable roomsbunk bedsbars and restaurantscentre of townski hotelshort walklovely hotelski tripboot roompiste
Filter
Updating list...
47 - 52 of 151 reviews
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Reasonable hotel with good staff (all speaking english) especially helpful on unloading and loading car. Prepaid card for covered car park available. Resto reasonable but uninspiring and rather expensive. Bar silly prices but in line with the town in general. Large room with bath was reasonable size and the bathroom was a good size with a decent bath - bed was super comfortable. Noise insulation leaves something to be desired and we did complain one night but couldn't trace the source. Breakfast included was with a good choice including bacon and sausages.

Room Tip: South facing and high
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank besidec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Stayed here for a week in half term with the kids. We chose a suite which had a seperate living area for the kids in a wooden bunk format, a sitting area with TV and a seperate bedroom for ourselves. In addition we had a seperate bathroom and toilet - so plenty of space.

The room was excellent, perhaps we were lucky being high up as noise carries (in all ski resorts) late at night and we were woken a few times by people coming home late outside. The room was cleaned expertly every day.

The location is perfect, right in the centre of town near the ski lifts, the ski schools and the main restaurant run.

Breakfast was excellent and available from 7-10 which was handy when those lie ins were needed. In addition downstairs they had an old video arcade game avalable that the kids loved near the bar and eating area, sometimes a welcome diversion.

Perhaps my only crisicism is that the boot room is downstairs so you either need to take the lift down or walk down the stairs which can be a bit tiring at the end of a day.

Service at the front desk was excellent with the staff very happy to book any restaurants you may require (this is worth doing as they fill up fast).

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Concernedmonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

This is a lovely hotel close to the town and only a very short (<5min) walk to the lifts. It's happily located just off the main road, so it's a bit quieter than those on the main road.

I'm in a small room which is actually fine for 1 or 2 people who are mainly using it as a place to sleep and recuperate after a hard day on the slopes! The room is modern and clean and includes a separate shower room and toilet which is also modern and stylish.

The staff are helpful and friendly and were always warm and welcoming.

My rate included breakfast which was of a high quality and was served in their smart little restaurant area. They also have a little bar and lounge area which is a great place to meet your group for a little apres ski before going out to dinner!

As I was also here for a conference the free wifi was a great help and was fast and reliable.

Room Tip: perhaps mountain facing as I was village facing and could hear bit of the noise
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank london_sun_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Spent 5 days at Hotel Ormalune with wife and 3 children. Rooms (we took a suite for 4 of us and a singled for a teenager) were extremely comfortable and well appointed. Excellent bathrooms, beds and linen. Staff were best we've experienced in France and there really wasn't anything they wouldn't do for us. Lovely little bar and very good food for dinner. Breakfast all that you could ask for and staff very attentive to guests' needs. A small walk to the slopes was no problem and it was nice being in town as well (so no catching of busses). I'd recommend this hotel to all and sundry...and we'll be back next year!

Room Tip: For families of 4, choose the corner suite facing La Face...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Devil1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

We've stayed at this hotel twice, as recommended by friends. It really is a fantastic place, from the beautiful, quirky interior to the great service. The exterior isn't as great, but don't let that put you off as this is one of the nicest and charming hotels we have ever stayed in. As well as a perfect location in the centre of val d'isere (and near the best slopes in the resort), the hotel also offers splendid dinners that are really exquisite. We stayed in the family suite with separate rooms for the kids and adults. The children loved their fun room, with the beds sunk into the wall and televisions at their feet. We had plenty of space in the double bed with massive wardrobe space to hang the bulky ski jackets and trousers. There was even enough space in the room for a large living area with a corner sofa and tv. The bathrooms are clean and pleasant, with a large shower and bath. We really had a fantastic time at hotel ormelune, and we hope to stay there again soon.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the higher floors of the hotel as the centre of the town can prove quite noisy.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Alicedelanoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews