We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor service”
Review of Hotel Le Blizzard

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Val d'Isere
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Le Blizzard
Ranked #21 of 39 Hotels in Val d'Isere
Certificate of Excellence
Bayonne, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Poor service”
Reviewed January 4, 2012

Family & friends, we didn't stay at the hotel but had dinner in the restaurant.
We were very disappointed of this moment spent there.

Indeed, after the order taking (starters and main-courses), we have been waiting for 45 min for the starters! As we were asking to the waiters passing around about our starters, all of them said 'it's on the way'. Quite irritating as we kept waiting for a while. None of the person in charge of the restaurant came to explain us or make us feel better. The food was tasteless and very expensive for what is was. Same comments for the main-courses which arrived long time after the starters were removed from the table. I don't know if it was a problem from kitchen or service, but at least someone should have came talk to us. Bad experience.

Except that, the bar where we had a drink before was very nice, the service great and the ambiance as well.

Very charming place if you don't go to the restaurant.

Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank bonvivant22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    19
    10
    6
    4
See reviews for
37
24
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London,
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2011

If the bar area ambience and standard of service are anything to go by this must be a fantastic place to stay!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank davidsw11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2011

I just can't figure out understand how Trip Advisor works. This hotel is lovely and despite being in a modern building has a Megeve lodge feel with a pleasant staff, a great spa and pool (one of the few decent ones in Val d'Isere it seems), crisp clean sheets, a pleasant staff, great common rooms. And yet this great hotel is only 16th on the recommended list (while it is best to steer clear of some of the 'top recommendations.'

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank skier198021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2011

We have traveled to the alps several times and stayed in a lot of different hotels. Val d'isere and Le blizzard wins by far! The rooms, the staff, the breakfast, the central location a 2 min walk from the mountains, the spa, the atmosphere, the decoration and all of that put together makes for a perfect and almost magic ski retreat!

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2011

We have just arrived home from 11 days at Le Blizzard - it was recommended by friends who had stayed their previously (prior to renovation) and also another friend who had stayed elsewhere, but popped his head in for a look and WISHED he was staying there!!!
Very well positioned - it is not ski in/out, but not too far to walk to lifts - streets very icy and dangerous, but that is an issue of the village. Although it is on the main street, our room was street side and it was not noisy at all. The hotel is beautifully appointed, looking just the way a ski chalet should look. The bedrooms were lovely. We were on the top floor, so had very high loft like ceilings, but I don't know what the rooms below us would be like. Our two adjoining rooms and a living area inbetween - all three rooms had large plazma tvs, so no fighting over tvs (not that we had much time for tv). 1 bedroom to share for the family which was a bit of a pain when everyone is trying to get out quickly to ski, but 2 separate toilets (1 in each bedroom) which helped. The bathroom was however very spacious, with a basin and bench at either side, so we weren't on top of each other. Just another shower would have been handy. The mini bar was on the house. My only annoyance was that water was not provided by the bedside table every day - there was water in the fridge (1 bottle per day) but they did not take into account that we were 4 in the room, not 2. The breakfasts were lovely - a really good selection of fresh fruit in the mornings, such as raspberries, blackberries, strawbs, mountain berries along with more mundane fruits. The bar at Le Blizzard is a popular meeting spot for locals as well as guests, so it always had a really good buzz and lounge area was large, with lovely groupings of sofa's so all guests could easily be accommodated. The staff (particularly a young man by the name of Alex) were very helpful and welcoming. We did not choose half board and we are glad for that. We ate in the restaurant on our first night and the food was fairly average for the price - there were so many good restaurants nearby, that it was good to have variety. A separate restaurant downstairs which belongs to the hotel had much better food and a better atmosphere. Also - the outdoor pool and spa were a great hit with the kids!! Anyway, all in all, we had a great time in Val d'Isere and would definitely stay at Le Blizzard again.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank katstrov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermosa Beach
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 27, 2011

We didn’t know what to expect having previously being disappointed in the standard of hotels in Val disere . We regularly stay in 5 star hotels across the globe and have to congratulate the Blizzard in finding an exceptional balance of delivering an extremely high class s of service whilst maintaining the family friendly welcoming feel We had the best time ever….our only regret is that it is fully booked for when we want to return! It’s so stylish and comfortable and all the staff are wonderful . The bar is a great scene as well! I am very critical as I work in a company that measures customer service and we travelled all the way from LA so had high expectations! If you get the opportunity then don’t hesitate book it now!! Normally I complain!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RetailEyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2011

Although I've not stayed at Le Blizzard, we visit Val D'Isere regularly and often go for dinner. IN the past we've had great experiences but our most recent visit in Jan'11 was so bad I wouldn't risk going again as you can have such a nice experience elsewhere in the resort. The main issue was how rude the staff were when we said we were unhappy - every restaurant can have a bad day and an apology and bottle of wine would have fixed it (there were 12 of us) but instead the middle aged lady running the restaurant couldn't care less. We felt redeemed when one of our group went to talk to the hotel manager the next day and received a free round of cocktails in the bar for all of us - more than we expected and a nice gesture.

Basically food was cold, some dishes were fairly unpleasant to taste, we received only 11 amuse bouche for 12 of us, wine wasn't poured for us, we had to ask several times for cutlery etc - not too bad but for a restaurant of this price it amounted to a meal full of 'please may I have' and 'can you heat this up' etc.

Having said that, we spent 4 hours in the spa and had a wonderful time so there are some things I'd return for! and hopefully most people have better luck than us - this was a one off in my experience but due to their attitude I won't rush back.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ilovetravel16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Val d'Isere hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel L'Aigle des Neiges
Hotel L'Aigle des Neiges
#1 of 39 in Val d'Isere
424 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Les Barmes de l'Ours
Hotel Les Barmes de l'Ours
#14 of 39 in Val d'Isere
119 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Yule
Le Yule
#11 of 39 in Val d'Isere
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Altitude
Hotel Altitude
#4 of 39 in Val d'Isere
209 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Christiania
Hotel Christiania
#6 of 39 in Val d'Isere
169 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Restaurant La Toviere
Hotel Restaurant La Toviere
#7 of 39 in Val d'Isere
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Blizzard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Blizzard

Property: Hotel Le Blizzard
Address: BP 64, 73150 Val d'Isere, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Val d'Isere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Val d'Isere
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Le Blizzard 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Also Known As:
Hotel Le Blizzard France/Savoie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing